We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated....”
Review of Hotel Valaisia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valaisia
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dated....”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this hotel (my father & I) as it looked like it was the closest to the lifts. I agree with all other reviews that it is in need of a facelift. Rooms are tiny for the price. My father and I were here on a family vacation - I'm early 30s. Most people here seemed to be retirement age and stared at us the entire time.... at dinner, when I tried to use the pool. I was very uncomfortable.
I did enjoy the vegetarian option they made for me every night and the staff were VERY friendly. I filled out a comment card before leaving- the manager had to disagree with me on the price of the room for the size and the dated appearance. He seemed very angry that I would say negative things. But I was not impressed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadaleineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    55
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
35
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having stayed for two days/nights only I couldn't really take to this hotel. The charm of a formerly sanatorium somehow remains in its walls. Anyway, the room was clean and spacious and the bed comfortable (I had booked a single room with panaroma view and got a double). The ensuite bathroom with its dusky pink ceramic tiles contained a shower only. However, one of the advantages of the hotel is its own saltwater spa including steam room and sauna (free for hotel guests). The other advantage is its location close to the cable car. Perfect for skiing!
At the first glance breakfast buffet looks pretty good but actually offers a small variety of food only (except for several very good and fresh breads) and nothing like full English breakfast either (well, we're in Switzerland...). WiFi is free in all hotel areas but needs a login code that can be used on one device only at the time. My overall impression: Good if you don't expect too much, average if you look for the details.

Room Tip: Always book a room with panaromic view (makes up for other things not that perfect!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissGuyWinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We (family of 4 adults) stayed here the first week of February 2013. Knowing Crans Montana for many years we’ve chosen this hotel because of it’s location opposite the ski lift. We had booked adjoining rooms, but by mistake the first night we had to stay at different floors, the North room being very small, the other facing South was OK. But the staff did it’s best to make things OK for us. We could move the next day to another building. Both connected rooms had balconies and were spacey, one even has a small fridge in a kitchenette. All rooms are furnished as most apartments in this area are; a basic standard but clean. Breakfast buffet was good. Diner the first evening was very basic, but the following days became much better and enjoyable. Sometimes buffets were served, once Swiss raclette was served by friendly restaurant staff. The hotel has also a very good underground car park and we enjoyed the excellent free wellness “Solbad” after skiing everyday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South are more spacey, rooms on the north small..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djuanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We travelled back in time to the 1950s when we stayed here for one night during August 2012. The hotel was very busy and seemed very popular with families and senior citizens. Hotel has a good underground car park. Rooms are very small but those on the south side do have a very good view. Rooms are furnished to a very basic standard more in line with a no-frills budget French chain however, we found the room to very clean. All rooms have a shower and there is no TV or telephone in the room this does seem a bit strange for 2012! We opted for demi pension and ate in the restaurant. The meal is set and there is no choice however there was a comprehensive wine list. The food was ok just very boring in both style and presentation. The restaurant staff were very efficient and did a good job during a very busy service. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the centre of Montana. To get to Crans which is the better town you need to take the bus - just don't ask the girl on reception as she didn't have a clue about times etc. On reflection we could have done better!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wolvescyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#9 of 41 in Crans-Montana
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#11 of 41 in Crans-Montana
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#10 of 41 in Crans-Montana
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valaisia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valaisia

Property: Hotel Valaisia
Address: Vermala, route de 10 - 12, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valaisia 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Valaisia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing