We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Champery
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The staff was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was good. Liked the chalet-look of the hotel.
The sound isolation is not very good. In the room you can clearly hear if people are talking in the hall in a normal tone. The stairs and the beds were squeaking. But that all can be fixed with earplugs. :-)
On the main floor there is a dedicated space for the boots inside the hotel, so they are warm when you put them on in the morning. There is also a storage room for the skis right beside the entrance.
There is free parking for the guests beside the hotel which I find very rare nowadays.
Across the street (15 meters) is a bus stop which takes you right to the main skilift. It runs every 20 minutes and saves you the walking and / or parking.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly. On booking sites they might not have the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2011

As this was the only hotel available in Champery for the week we wished to travel I was somewhat concerned that it might not be up to much. However, I was very pleasantly surprised.
The hotel was very clean and the service very friendly. It was a lovely cosy place just a few minutes from the telecabin and the free bus stopped just outside the door to run you along with your skis throughout the morning.
We dined in the hotel one night and it was good quality, home cooked food.
Although our room was not huge, it was perfectly adequate. It was warm & clean with a good sized wardrobe and a modern bathroom.
This hotel was perfect for a ski break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Booked this hotel for a week's ski trip - offered the best value half board package we could find in Champery. Extremely convenient for the Champery Village train station - less than 3 minutes walk. Also has free car park if you drive.

The hotel is old - wooden and creaky and full of character. Not plush but full of interesting furniture, pictures and objects. Our room was on the corner at the back - great mountain view, with balconies on two sides and very comfortable with bath robes, mini bar and a big TV with video and DVD player. They have a selection of videos, DVDs and books you can borrow for free from the comfortable little lounge downstairs. The bathroom was small and quite dated but clean and with loads of hot water - plus a bath which is an unusual bonus for our ski trips!

Breakfast is a fairly standard continental buffet with yoghurt, cereal, fruit, breads, croissants, cheese, meats etc. Served in a lovely room with a great view of the mountains. The first few days we were a bit disappointed with the evening meal, which was quite simple - but I think the chef was having a few days off, when she was back we enjoyed good home cooking - meats with tasty sauce, grilled fish and then fondue one night. Nothing elaborate but enjoyable. The bar was fun, with a crackling log fire.

The infrastructure in Champery is very efficient - easy to get to by train from Geneva and the ski bus stops three times an hour just 20m from the front door of the hotel. The hotel has somewhat inadequate ski and boot rooms but they don't mind if you take your boots upstairs to the room.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes something a bit different - it isn't the plushest place we've stayed but a very enjoyable good value and characterful place with friendly staff and well located in the quiet part of Champery, which is a lovely Alpine village with access to extensive skiing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London NW5
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Very welcoming and friendly hotel. The owners Therese and Gustave have succeeded in making guests feel thoroughly at home. My bedroom was small and basic. - but had all essentials apart from a bedside table or shelf. The heating thermostat was turned down for the evening so I was given a portable heater. Generally the hotel was very warm.The bed was comfortable. Shower water hot. Downstairs the bar lounge is very cosy. There is a log fire where I read a book, drank pinot noir and had a snack supper. The bar staff, Marc and Dani were ultra friendly yet professional. Breakfast in the dining room with a mountain view included cheese, fruit, some sort of meat(didn't notice as I"m vegetarian) boiled eggs, yoghurt, wonderful bread,little jams and butters, coffee and tea. I didn't book an evening meal as I don't like eating on my own but diners seemed happy. When I left with rather a heavy suitcase Gustave offered me a lift to the station which is about one minutes walk away. This hotel would not be suitable for people who have difficulty with stairs. Ask for a mountain view if possible. the ski bus stops opposite the hotel and is free.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anousia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Hotel des Alpes is a lovely Alpine hotel run by a very friendly husband and wife with very good, attentive staff. The bar and dining rooms are lovely areas to relax and enjoy the good home cooked food after a day on the slopes. Bedrooms are comfortable, clean and roomy. The owners speak excellent English so there is never a communication problem.

We were a large party of 16, four adults and 12 children, mainly teenagers, but this was never a problem for the friendly team who always had time to have a chat and there was always a friendly smile, making us feel welcome and comfortable.

The hotel is a short walk away from the main cable car, but we were able to leave our hired skis and boots at the ski hire shop by the cable car, so this was never a problem.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would return myself.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Great little hotel.right by train stop-don't worry about that thought as you neither see,hear or feel the smaill train passing.lovely little bar with log fire.Our room on the third floor was small but comfortable.Good breakfast continental style.
3 minute walk into centre of village and 10 mins to cable car (or get the ski bus right outside the hotel-every 20 mins).no complaints and a good price too.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank toonie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wookey, Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Stayed here for a week over new year 2006/07 with my wife and 3 sons. Excellent simple hotel with lots of character - the hotel must date back over 100 years. It is in the quiet end of Champéry.

Ground floor consisted of Reception, small, well stocked, Bar with separate small TV room, a la carte Restaurant, standard Restaurant (for those taking breakfast or "half pension". Three further floors of bedrooms. The ski room consisted of a very small "cupboard" just outside the main door - this was overflowing when the hotel was full! But at least they allowed you to take boots back to the rooms for drying overnight.

The rooms were very clean, basic with modern en-suite shower room, television (limited English channels - but who cares!) and comfy beds.

We took the half pension package; continental breakfast was really good with a choice of breads, croissants, jams, hams, cheese & cereals washed down with good coffee/ tea. The set dinner was excellent with 4/5 courses of local and international cuisine, they put on an authentic cheese fondue dish one night. The wine list contained good wines at modest prices.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and not minding when we tried to speak to them in our limited French!

We travelled from Gevena Airport by train - changing at Aigle, this was easy, because if you are near the front of the train, platform 1 is adjacent to platform 11/12, from where the local train departs. This is the civilised way to travel, although taking an hour longer. Get off the train at "Champéry Village" stop, which is nearer to the hotel.

Champéry is a very pretty alpine village – it had all of the charm I expected from a Swiss ski resort. Although it was very quiet, our sons found a couple of livelier bars that stayed open into the early hours – but don’t expect a wild time.

There is a free bus to/from the cable car, stopping outside the hotel, which is better than the 15 minute walk.

There was almost no snow when we were there, only two runs open in Champery sector, but at least the connection to France was open and the ski passes were discounted. Avoriaz had man-made snow but was very crowded with a 30 minute wait at a popular lift. We also ventured towards Châtel, where there was at least a reasonably long shaded red open and the best mountain restaurant for lunch I’ve been to in France – Le Vieux Chalet – highly recommended we went back twice!

  • Liked — 1) Friendliness of staff 2) Typical Swiss Chalet-Style Hotel
  • Disliked — Not directly in village centre - but only 300 m away
  • Tips/Secrets — 1) Alight train at "Champéry Village" - its nearer to the hotel. 2) check times of ski bus they only come every 20 minutes
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champery hotels
0.5 mi away
Art.Boutique.Hotel Beau-Sejour
0.2 mi away
Hotel National Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#5 of 9 in Champery
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le White Hotel
Le White Hotel
#3 of 9 in Champery
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palladium de Champery
Palladium de Champery
#3 of 5 in Champery
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Atelier Gourmand
L'Atelier Gourmand
#3 of 7 in Champery
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Property: Hotel des Alpes
Address: Village, rue du 9, Champery 1874, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Portes du Soleil > Champery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Champery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from the sports center and the heart of the town, you will find a true valais style, to welcome you for an agreablestay and a memorable holiday. Being a family hotel, warm and cosy, very comfortable rooms with bathroom, mostly with balcony facing south, safe-deposit box, telephone, radio, cable TV, iphone docking station and Wi-Fi, salon bar, TV room, restaurant "Le Jean Mairet", bar "Crocodile" and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Alpes Champery, Switzerland - Portes Du Soleil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing