We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, quaint and enjoyable”
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel des Alpes
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Champery
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Booked this hotel for a week's ski trip - offered the best value half board package we could find in Champery. Extremely convenient for the Champery Village train station - less than 3 minutes walk. Also has free car park if you drive.

The hotel is old - wooden and creaky and full of character. Not plush but full of interesting furniture, pictures and objects. Our room was on the corner at the back - great mountain view, with balconies on two sides and very comfortable with bath robes, mini bar and a big TV with video and DVD player. They have a selection of videos, DVDs and books you can borrow for free from the comfortable little lounge downstairs. The bathroom was small and quite dated but clean and with loads of hot water - plus a bath which is an unusual bonus for our ski trips!

Breakfast is a fairly standard continental buffet with yoghurt, cereal, fruit, breads, croissants, cheese, meats etc. Served in a lovely room with a great view of the mountains. The first few days we were a bit disappointed with the evening meal, which was quite simple - but I think the chef was having a few days off, when she was back we enjoyed good home cooking - meats with tasty sauce, grilled fish and then fondue one night. Nothing elaborate but enjoyable. The bar was fun, with a crackling log fire.

The infrastructure in Champery is very efficient - easy to get to by train from Geneva and the ski bus stops three times an hour just 20m from the front door of the hotel. The hotel has somewhat inadequate ski and boot rooms but they don't mind if you take your boots upstairs to the room.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes something a bit different - it isn't the plushest place we've stayed but a very enjoyable good value and characterful place with friendly staff and well located in the quiet part of Champery, which is a lovely Alpine village with access to extensive skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Alpes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

Very welcoming and friendly hotel. The owners Therese and Gustave have succeeded in making guests feel thoroughly at home. My bedroom was small and basic. - but had all essentials apart from a bedside table or shelf. The heating thermostat was turned down for the evening so I was given a portable heater. Generally the hotel was very warm.The bed was comfortable. Shower water hot. Downstairs the bar lounge is very cosy. There is a log fire where I read a book, drank pinot noir and had a snack supper. The bar staff, Marc and Dani were ultra friendly yet professional. Breakfast in the dining room with a mountain view included cheese, fruit, some sort of meat(didn't notice as I"m vegetarian) boiled eggs, yoghurt, wonderful bread,little jams and butters, coffee and tea. I didn't book an evening meal as I don't like eating on my own but diners seemed happy. When I left with rather a heavy suitcase Gustave offered me a lift to the station which is about one minutes walk away. This hotel would not be suitable for people who have difficulty with stairs. Ask for a mountain view if possible. the ski bus stops opposite the hotel and is free.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anousia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Hotel des Alpes is a lovely Alpine hotel run by a very friendly husband and wife with very good, attentive staff. The bar and dining rooms are lovely areas to relax and enjoy the good home cooked food after a day on the slopes. Bedrooms are comfortable, clean and roomy. The owners speak excellent English so there is never a communication problem.

We were a large party of 16, four adults and 12 children, mainly teenagers, but this was never a problem for the friendly team who always had time to have a chat and there was always a friendly smile, making us feel welcome and comfortable.

The hotel is a short walk away from the main cable car, but we were able to leave our hired skis and boots at the ski hire shop by the cable car, so this was never a problem.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would return myself.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShrewsburySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Great little hotel.right by train stop-don't worry about that thought as you neither see,hear or feel the smaill train passing.lovely little bar with log fire.Our room on the third floor was small but comfortable.Good breakfast continental style.
3 minute walk into centre of village and 10 mins to cable car (or get the ski bus right outside the hotel-every 20 mins).no complaints and a good price too.

Stayed: January 2009
4  Thank toonie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Stayed here for a week over new year 2006/07 with my wife and 3 sons. Excellent simple hotel with lots of character - the hotel must date back over 100 years. It is in the quiet end of Champéry.

Ground floor consisted of Reception, small, well stocked, Bar with separate small TV room, a la carte Restaurant, standard Restaurant (for those taking breakfast or "half pension". Three further floors of bedrooms. The ski room consisted of a very small "cupboard" just outside the main door - this was overflowing when the hotel was full! But at least they allowed you to take boots back to the rooms for drying overnight.

The rooms were very clean, basic with modern en-suite shower room, television (limited English channels - but who cares!) and comfy beds.

We took the half pension package; continental breakfast was really good with a choice of breads, croissants, jams, hams, cheese & cereals washed down with good coffee/ tea. The set dinner was excellent with 4/5 courses of local and international cuisine, they put on an authentic cheese fondue dish one night. The wine list contained good wines at modest prices.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and not minding when we tried to speak to them in our limited French!

We travelled from Gevena Airport by train - changing at Aigle, this was easy, because if you are near the front of the train, platform 1 is adjacent to platform 11/12, from where the local train departs. This is the civilised way to travel, although taking an hour longer. Get off the train at "Champéry Village" stop, which is nearer to the hotel.

Champéry is a very pretty alpine village – it had all of the charm I expected from a Swiss ski resort. Although it was very quiet, our sons found a couple of livelier bars that stayed open into the early hours – but don’t expect a wild time.

There is a free bus to/from the cable car, stopping outside the hotel, which is better than the 15 minute walk.

There was almost no snow when we were there, only two runs open in Champery sector, but at least the connection to France was open and the ski passes were discounted. Avoriaz had man-made snow but was very crowded with a 30 minute wait at a popular lift. We also ventured towards Châtel, where there was at least a reasonably long shaded red open and the best mountain restaurant for lunch I’ve been to in France – Le Vieux Chalet – highly recommended we went back twice!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We spent a week at this, small charming hotel in Champery. The staff was very helpful to us, and most speak good English. (My French leaves something to be desired.) We were on the third floor (no elevator). The room was clean but very modest. We had a lovely view of the mountain. The windows do not have shades, just sheer curtains. There is a bar in the hotel that is quite happening at night. The contintental breakfast (included in our rate) was nice with excellent coffee and rolls. We ate a few dinners at the hotel. There is a choice between a 5-course chef's choice dinner, or an a la carte menu. We tried both, and they were both good. We decided not to include dinners in our rate, because we wanted to try local restaurants. There was no snow while we were there, but if you are going to ski, the hotel can arrange for lift tickets, too. There is onsite, free parking. The hotel is located at the one end of the small, quaint town, with the cable car up the mountain at the other end. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to the cable car, which takes you to the top of the mountain (to ski or hike, etc.) We rented a car in Geneva, and that turned out to be a good move (given the lack of snow). We drove to the natural mineral baths in a nearby town, and also to Verbier to ski, because the altitude is much higher. Overall, the hotel met our needs and was quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Westportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Hotel des Alpes is wonderful! All of the employees there were extremely friendly and many knew quite a bit of English if we ever had any questions. We ate at the hotel restaurant almost every night, and the food was always cooked to perfection - some of the best in Europe! Ask for a room with a view of the mountains - it costs a little extra but it is definitely worth it to wake up to the Alps every morning. There is much to do in Champery if you're there in the summertime: horseback rides through the trails, gondola rides to the top of the closest mountain, small shops and eateries, and the beautiful city of Montreux is not far from Champery - a great place to spend the day seeing castles, shops, great restaurants, and breathtaking views of the Lac Leman and the Alps! One of the greatest experiences of my life, and I was only there for four days!

  • Stayed: July 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank HeathBar126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champery
0.2 mi away
Hotel National Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Art.Boutique.Hotel Beau-Sejour
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#6 of 9 in Champery
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Plein Ciel
Hotel Plein Ciel
#4 of 9 in Champery
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le White Hotel
Le White Hotel
#3 of 9 in Champery
49 reviews
4.0 mi away
Helvetia Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Village, rue du 9, Champery 1874, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Portes du Soleil > Champery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Champery
Price Range: $154 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from the sports center and the heart of the town, you will find a true valais style, to welcome you for an agreablestay and a memorable holiday. Being a family hotel, warm and cosy, very comfortable rooms with bathroom, mostly with balcony facing south, safe-deposit box, telephone, radio, cable TV, iphone docking station and Wi-Fi, salon bar, TV room, restaurant "Le Jean Mairet", bar "Crocodile" and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Alpes Champery, Switzerland - Portes Du Soleil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing