We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Suisse
Nearby Hotels
Art.Boutique.Hotel Beau-Sejour(Champery)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel National Resort & Spa(Champery)(Great Value!)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helvetia Hotel Residence(Morgins)(Great Value!)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le White Hotel(Champery)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel des Alpes(Champery)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Jan(Morgins)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
25
21
5
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
21
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslively barski tripcakeswonderful family run hotelrooms are smallcentral locationwide selectionnothing is too much troublecharming villagetvteaskiinghostsgondolaloungeportessummer
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 54 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Hotel Suisse is located just up the hill from the Champery train station and gondola, along the main street for shopping and restaurants. My husband and I arrived along with two other couples for a late-ski season weekend. The views from the back of the hotel are beautiful (see photo). The rooms are small, but not overly cramped. Our room on the 4th floor had a very large bathroom. The decor was ho-hum, typical alpine wood paneling, but not hideous. We heard quite a bit of noise at night, but our window wasn't closed all the way. The terrace and first floor dining room are nice in the afternoon for tea and cakes (offered free). In the evening a small hotel bar makes a great place to settle in for drinks if you can grab one of the few tables. Across the street is a fancy molecular gastronomy restaurant, that we tried with some trepidation. The food was good, the wine list great, but the service was very cold and the prices were high. Breakfast in the morning is your regular muesli and toast selection. Overall the service was excellent and the hotel adequate. No major complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medorand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

The Hotel Suisse is a pretty little hotel, located in a stunning village. The staff were very friendly, the rooms very comfortable with enormous baths and the buffet breakfast was exceptional (continental, done properly). I'd definitely recommend it.

We had a small problem when we arrived late at night, in that the hotel seemed to be all locked up, but they had left a note with a phone number and left our keys out on reception for us.

It was interesting to read that another reviewer had his car damaged at night, because our hire car also suffered a nasty knock to its rear overnight when parked in front of the hotel. Needless to say, there was no note, it was a hit-and-run. I'd definitely tuck my car into a corner well out the way if you can do.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Went skiing here for 4 days Jan 08. Very relaxed friendly staff, rooms comfortable with good quality clean bathroom / shower room ( not all rooms have a bath). Rooms vary a bit some bigger than others, some with balcony, some with flat screen TVs. Breakfast was very good and consists of cold buffet of cereals, breads, hams, cheeses. We had a late flight so hotel happy to let us check out at 1pm allowing us to ski in the morning. Quality ski shop next door ( Berra sports). They were closed when we finished skiing but they were happy for us to leave our skiis in the hotel ski room for them to collect later. Bar smokey ( no smoking ban in Switzerland). Good local restaurants usually need to book, medium priced. Ski lift 10 minutes walk tricky in ski boots as a steep hill but kit can be left in locker at top of lift 5 Fr / day.
Pretty typical Swiss ski village with friendly locals.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Damo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Stayed at Hotel Suisse for two weeks at end of Jan. through beginning of Feb. in 2007.

Room was comfortable, though nothing special. Did actually have two balconies, one off the bedroom, one off the bathroom. Great view across village to mountains. Bathroom was large and spotless.

One unfortunate incident in parking lot where rental car was damaged overnight. Staff was helpful contacting rental agency and Police for report.

Cannot comment on the restaurant for anything other than the included breakfast buffet, which was adequate with plenty of variety. There are plenty of great restaurants in town. The Cafe du Centre was a favorite, and is literally across the street. Mitchell's was cold, unfriendly and badly overpriced.

After returning from my trip I contacted Hotel Suisse to get a rate quote for this year (2008). Was disappointed when price quoted was "rack" rate. Will be booking elsewhere in Champery this year as a result.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JohnBoatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We stayed at Hotel Suisse in Champery for a few days in late July. We were an English family of four - two small children included. The hotel was clean, tidy, and welcoming. All the staff we dealt with were perfectly charming and helpful and spoke excellent English. Our family sized room was spacious and comfortable, and it met our every need. The hotel does not provide meals (unless you are travelling as part of a tour group) apart from breakfast, which was simple but more than sufficient.

There are some drawbacks. It is a 3-star hotel and does not provide some things visitors might expect of a higher grade hotel - eg bathroom toiletries are quite downmarket, and the single lift is very small and might be annoying if you stay there during a busy season (Champery is really designed as a ski resort and was very quiet when we were there, which was part of its attraction for us). But overall we found it extremely comfortable and a perfect spot - calm, honest, very trusting and really nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank reluctantvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews