We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel National Restaurant - CLOSED

Hotel National Restaurant
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The hotel itself is listed on tripadvisor but I'd like to review the restaurant separately.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

PatricK & Sandrine sold their beautiful Le Vieux Chalet restaurant at one end of the village & bought this restaurant/café/hotel at the entrance to the village, by the church. It is up & running & it will be a two year project for them. Bearing in mind how well they organised the last place, it's bound to be a huge success. Good wines, nice atmosphere, lots of terrace area with the rear overlooking the mountains. I didn't have to time to eat though on this visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FentonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3rd night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

best lobster Bisque soup ever, atmospheric old style hotel with enormous character. Typical outgoing chef, on the detail lady owner. Well worth a visit

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unassuming Swiss Restaurant with Remarkable Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Upon entering, it looks like this is a stereotypical Swiss hotel restaurant that will serve rosti, fondue, and maybe some grilled cervelas. Nothing could be further from the truth. The food is top quality fine dining, equal to what you might find in the best restaurants of London or New York. And it's not just "ordinary fancy" food. The chef has a remarkable ability to twist classical dishes so that they're fresh, exciting, but still familiar. A must visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tedstevens42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This restaurant is on my "regular return" list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent food at a very reasonable price. The chef obviously put a lot of effort in every course. We had both 'menus de jour' at CHF 33 & CHF 66 and the quality of the food was outstanding and the service impeccable. A pleasure to dine there and definitely added to our list of restaurants to return to in Champery.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ross g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We dined here for one night during our ski trip this past December. The food is similar to what you would expect in a grandma's kitchen - simple home dishes but rather tasty. The place is not fancy by design but does offer good value for money. The food is quite tasty and the service is good and attentive. We enjoyed our dinner and would happily return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank standardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel National Restaurant also viewed

Champery, Portes du Soleil
Champery, Portes du Soleil
 
Champery, Portes du Soleil
Champery, Portes du Soleil
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing