We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it!”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We were quite overwhelmed by the space and facilities in the apartment. All the rooms were spacious and well designed. Each having plenty of wardrobe space and a TV. The kitchen was extremely well equipped - we wanted for nothing. The phone even had pre-dial numbers to the best restaurants in town (free).

Lighting the fire (with wood supplied) was a wonderful ritual, although not really necessary as the apartment was lovely and warm.

I couldn't rate the staff more highly (Mrs Miggins) and they went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and easy as possible, including delivering fresh bread to our door every morning (although this was quite expensive).

Location wise - The lodge is next door to a leisure centre (with a great pool) and very accessible to the main gondola. It really takes no more than 5 minutes flat walking. The town is also a very short stroll away.

We however, were used to ski in, ski out, and hadn't really appreciated how long it took to actually get onto the slopes. You are obviously dictated to by the operations personal of the gondola - and we found that it took about 45 minutes door to slope, in January (short queues). Not great if you have small children, who need a rest a lunchtime, but perfect if you stay out all day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithfamilyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 30 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

We discovered The Lodge at Champèry in 2009 in our search for a summer mountain getaway with our young children. We fell in love with both the home and the Portes du Soleil region and have returned every summer since. A week at The Lodge feels like a visit to our family chalet where we easily relax and tune into nature. There are countless simple and wonderful ways to spend time together…. magnificent hikes, a dip in the hottub, a fireplace snuggle or wrapped in a blanket staring up at the starry night sky. For city dwellers like us, the beautiful yard that invites hours of silly playtime together with our children makes the place even more ideal. As our kids get older, we play tennis, swim in the pool, swing from the trees at the Acrobranche park and spend time at the thermal baths at Val-d’Illiez. We also like to invite friends to come spend time with us. The warm, luxurious and spacious home is perfect for hosting a dinner party or a patio BBQ. Our week at The Lodge in Champèry is something we talk about all year, look forward to every summer and plan to repeat for a long time to come. For us, it really is a one of a kind place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mom_of_two_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We recently stayed at The Lodge for a few days during the summer for our annual hiking trip and thought the accommodation was superb! We spoke to a couple of ladies when booking the apartment who were both professional and polite, they also really knew their stuff, we have never been to Champery before so asked them for various recommendations and everything they recommended was brilliant! The accommodation itself was fabulous, we stayed in an apartment with a hot tub, so after a long day climbing hills it was such a treat to come back and soak our aching muscles with a chilled glass of wine. We enjoyed our stay so much they we have booked to go back in the winter!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonFoodie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I have just had the most amazing stay at The Lodge in Champéry for two weeks this Summer.
The standard of accommodation compared to previous stays in Verbier was superb, so I have now decided to book my winter ski holiday in this resort, having experienced the most beautiful scenery and realised that Champéry has the largest ski slopes in Europe (600 kilometres).
The service experienced by the Mrs Miggins staff was extremely professional and personable.
I highly recommend The Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed at The Lodge, Champery, having booked a week skiing in Champery. The accommodation is spacious and luxurious, if not minimalistic, with a lack of bedroom furniture on which to place clothes, or surfaces within the bedrooms to place objects such as watches, cameras etc.

The kitchen was like being at home with extensive cooking facilities and utensils. The fridge was large. The concierge staff were friendly and extremely helpful, letting us know where to eat and advising us about local attractions.

The hot tub was a real bonus at the end of a long day skiing making for prolonged hot relaxation with breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains. Sensibly, the house rules stated that no-one should use the hot tubs after 10pm to avoid disturbing neighbours. This is where the problems lay, as our neighbours, also on the ground floor ignored these rules using the hot tub with lots of noise and exuberance between 11.20 to past midnight on one night. This was mild in comparison with their noisy exuberance in the hot tub at 4.10am for 45 minutes. On both occasions, because of the proximity of their hot tub to our bedrooms, they woke us all, including the young children, and were reluctant to vacate the hot tub when we politely pointed out the 10pm rule.

Apart from this nuisance, which Mrs Miggins, the rental agents should be made aware of, we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

My family and I stayed for 3 nights in The Lodge - Champery. In hindsight, I wish we could have stayed for weeks! The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We were very impressed with the quality of the 4 star apartments and of the services there were on offer: daily morning bread deliveries; meal deliveries; ski hire; babysitting; personal supermarket shoppers and many more. We had a fabulous time staying so close to the centre of Champery and also the ski lifts, the perfect location. We were completely at home in our apartment, complete with a hot tub, minibar and even our very own christmas tree! The partner restaurant of The Lodge, 'Le Centre', provided us with excellent dining on christmas eve and was also a highlight of our stay. To anyone who is looking for relaxing and luzurious holiday for reasonable prices, I would highly recommend staying at The Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnertyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Mrs Miggins' luxury apartments are the ideal place to stay in the winter. My family spent one amazing week there, and we cannot wait to return next year. Whether it was the friendly staff, luxurious accomodation, long hours in the hottub, and incredible services, everything was done to the highest standards - higher than can be expected of a 4 star establishment!
Every morning we had a patisserie delivery, so we could start of the day immediately by skiing. The ski passes and ski lessons for the children were organised by The Lodge staff. Upon our return, the apartement was clean and stocked for the next day, thanks to the shopping delivery service and mid week cleans. The evenings were spent cuddled around the fire with the children, or a babysitter could care for them as my husband and I dined out at the fantastic michelin star restaurant 'Le Centre', located a short distance away, where we experienced truly amazing food by the Swiss chef Denis Martin.
It is an incredible holiday destination, ideal for all, and brilliant for families.
We cannot wait to return, and would encourage anyone thinking of a holiday in Champéry to do the same.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSimonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champery hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel National Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Art.Boutique.Hotel Beau-Sejour
0.4 mi away
Le White Hotel
Le White Hotel
#3 of 9 in Champery
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#5 of 9 in Champery
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Baroudeur
Le Petit Baroudeur
#1 of 7 in Champery
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Plein Ciel
Hotel Plein Ciel
#4 of 9 in Champery
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: route des Tavys 8, Champery 1874, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Portes du Soleil > Champery
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Champery
Price Range: $307 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge-Champéry is a luxury 4 star self-catered residence with hotel style services, comprising of 10 apartments (5 x 2 bedrooms and 5 x 3 bedrooms). Champéry is a Swiss Mountain holiday resort located in the worlds largest linked ski area, Les Portes du Soleil, offering winter and summer holidays. Conveniently located only 300m from the main mountain lift and 4 minutes from village centre, The Lodge is all about ease and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Champery, Switzerland - Portes Du Soleil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing