We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastro pub with rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Champery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Auberge du Grand Paradis
Ranked #5 of 5 Champery B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Well that's what you would call it if it was in England. Absolutely loved it. Can appreciate why others have niggles about it but for us it was perfect. We had room 2 which had an ensuite bathroom. And the real plus was it was only 11 steps from the lovely heated boot room to the bedroom! Rooms are very warm and cosy. If you are looking for a hotel which has 5-star service and a soul-less atmosphere then this is not it. If you want something small, friendly with open fires and where you can feel at home then this is it. Chuck, Juliet and the staff are there whenever you need them and you just have to ask for anything you need. Some guests complained about the noise from other rooms but it is an old auberge with lovely wooden walls and floors so, really, what do you expect. Anyway, everyone tends to get up around the same time and go to bed around the same time so it really isn't an issue.

The restaurant deserves a special mention. I can honestly say it is the best food I have had anywhere in the world in a long, long time. If you are staying, make sure you let them know if you want dinner as it got full every night. It is about 1 mile from Champery town centre, we had a car so it wasn't a problem but you would need to get a taxi if you wanted to spend an evening there. During the day isn't a problem as you can get the ski bus. This is ski in/ski out with the slope coming right past the hotel which takes you down to the main lift which is great. As far as we could see this is the only ski-in/ski-out hotel in Champery. We spent New Year's Eve there and had a great time; superb meal followed by champagne and fireworks. It's not particularly cheap but when you consider everything it has and its position it's well worth it.

Chuck can recommend a ski hire shop in town which I have to say is the best I have come across in over 20 years of skiing. They will also deliver your equipment to the auberge and pick it up again at the end of your stay.

We drove from Kent and I think it took about the same time as a flight but much less stressful and meant we could just chuck everything into the car and go. Would I go back? Definitely!

Room Tip: Room 2 on ground floor has ensuite bathroom and is only 11 steps from the boot room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AR&RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

The auberge is located close to the Grand Paradis lift in Champery and provides great ski in/ski out access to the portes du soleil ski area. Stayed for a long weekend in the top floor apartment with three other friends on a ski break in March. The Auberge is immaculately clean and the food as part of our half board package was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKtravelMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our visit was 6th to 10th Feb 2013. Really easy to book. Chuck (proprietor) collected my business colleague/pal and me from the station (no charge) and returned us there for our return. Ignore the old reviews of this hotel - it has all changed - but people have not realised yet. Prices are sure to rise as the word spreads....

The new management are absolutely brilliant. They are from England and have entirely refurbished the building. They are really driven people, who will go to any lengths to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are lovely - rustic, spacious and comfy.

Access to the ski area is very easy. If you are blessed with good snow, as we were, you ski 2 mins to the main lift and you are up high in the Portes du Soleil within a few minutes. If the snow is thin or if you are not a confident skier, the main lift is only a few minutes walk and you can get back down on that lift. Chuck and Juliette can sort out your ski hire too - no mucking about queuing up or trying to get to the shop and back. The hire shop proprietor collected us, fitted us and then returned us to the hotel - really easy.

The free wifi was extremely useful. We were able to run our business with ease after we had finished skiing each day.

But then the best bit - the food. Really spectacular. A fantastic chef and all very reasonably priced.

To summarise: imagine an atmospheric mountainside gourmet restaurant, with amazing food, excellent service and nice bedrooms, positioned near a ski lift run by people who want you to have a great time - then you've got it! - Simon Pitchers

Room Tip: Room 5 is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon-Pitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The auberge is located just above the Grand Paradis lift at the end of a long red run down the mountain. It attracts a very busy apres-ski clientèle with many Brits and friends of the house. The chalet has a stylish and quite funky decor, with a large restaurant/bar and a cosy snug with open fire and leather sofas. One of the sofas is regularly occupied by a huge and very calm natured St Bernard and there is another elderly Labrador wandering around to add to the homely feel.

The food and service in the restaurant are great with a nice seasonal menu including local dishes and more varied dishes. The lamb tagine was a particular favourite. The wine list had quite a few Swiss options of which the local whites were the best choice available

The accommodation consists of about eight rooms on two floors. These all have private bathrooms, but only some are en-suite. We did not know this in advance so were unprepared to have to dash across the corridor to reach the bathroom. One easy improvement could be to provide bathrobes for guests. The rooms themselves were nicely decorated in a simple style and the beds were comfortable. However the traditional wooden chalet construction with thin panel walls meant that there was a lot of noise heard from neighbouring rooms, the staircase and other guests returning late at night. So it was not the most peaceful night's sleep.

Breakfast was quite basic (just orange juice, cereal, yoghurt, uninspiring bread and croissants) and thus disappointing compared to the high standard of the dinner.

Generally we enjoyed the lively atmosphere, but at times it felt that things on the accommodation side were less well organised than they should be for the rates being charged.

Room Tip: Check if your room is en-suite or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Located at the end of the road in Grand Paradis, the Auberge has a great location for "apres-ski" at the bottom of the run. Fun sunny terrace great for apero after the last run or divine for lunch. With new owners Juliet and Chuck the buzz is here not only for the cuisine which is tops now, but also for the warm welcome by all the staff, top wine selection, and fun events from wine tastings to New Years Eve. Summer dining delightful under the stars... Only eight rooms so book ahead. The two rooms on the top with ensuite bath are my pick. Easy for skiing the Portes du Soleil's many lifts by using the chair to get up- two minutes walk. Summer hiking, mountain biking, tennis and more.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with baths great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed as a family in feb last year- obviously there has been a change of ownership from earlier poor reviews. We had a lovely time. Cool, tasteful decor in boutique style environment. Great food. Chuck and Juliet were lovely. Chef was amazing. Our 3 boys loved the pasta dishes cooked especially for them because they mentioned they liked pasta. Evening meals were super. Breakfast is basic but pleasant. Cooked option would be nice start to day. Location at the end of a red run is good for intermediates And above. Not great resort for beginners due to absence of accessible nursery slopes or blues. Great for intermediate and advanced. Think poor reviews should be removed as they do not relate to current owners.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this newly renovated Auberge (opened Dec 2011). Having read the terrible review by someone in 2010 I realised the property has changed ownership, and felt obliged to write in case somebody has read it recently!
The owners Juliette and Chuck have spent time and effort restoring it to a Swiss Chalet with open fire, wooden period features and updated with chic cow hide chairs mixed with leather. The best recommendation is the food - fab-u-lous. Lunch is typical Swiss norm - wild mushroom tagliatelle, croque monsieur etc, but come the evening their Al la Carte is to die for. Currently it has an Autumn menu of various game options - the pigeon salad and chèvre salad are to be recommended.
Definitely returning in the ski season with a lift almost at your door.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ketchupfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champery hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#6 of 9 in Champery
52 reviews
1 mi away
Art.Boutique.Hotel Beau-Sejour
1.3 mi away
Hotel National Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le White Hotel
Le White Hotel
#3 of 9 in Champery
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Petit Baroudeur
Le Petit Baroudeur
#1 of 7 in Champery
66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#7 of 9 in Champery
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auberge du Grand Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auberge du Grand Paradis

Address: Grand-Paradis, route du 33, Champery 1874, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Portes du Soleil > Champery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Champery
Price Range: $49 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a fantastic venue summer or winter, we are situated on the only ski run back to the beautiful village of Champery a ski-in ski-out hotel with a large restaurant/bar area as well a sunny terrace. During the summer Champery is a charming biking and walking haven. In the winter we are ideal for large groups for three, four or seven days we can arrange for pick-ups from Geneva airport. We have ten cosy rooms with five bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Auberge Du Grand Paradis Champery, Switzerland - Portes Du Soleil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing