We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Auberge du Grand Paradis
Nearby Hotels
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Suisse(Champery)(Great Value!)
$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le White Hotel(Champery)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel des Alpes(Champery)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
18
8
3
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
8
3
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bedswiss chaletchuckpisterunsnowsummer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 37 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Had a superb mountain biking weekend. Arrived very late but owners made a super fondue at 11 pm and were very generous and accomodating. Great for summer and will definitely come in the winter as location at the bottom of piste is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clamcontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Our group rent the WHOLE hotel during 2 nights.

All of us around 30 year old people, responsible, trusty and polite, from Switzerland, Spain and France.
Our friend the 30th birthday we were celebrating, had arranged half board + special conditions for drinks during the night (paying a fee per bottle, we could bring our bottles).

Food was ok. But staff very stressed and stressing also.
You have there most obligations than rights.
Owners were always discussing regarding the bills and suspecting us to drink more than paid (even when it was under the full control of their own waiver!!).

The owner (Paul?), couldn't stop talking about himself and money money and money, interfering in our private conversations. But worst, showing clear agressivity when the least thing was not going as per his wishes. He asked us how we could come to a hotel without cash, because we only had Credit Cards (that they supposely accept, by the way)...

Once more, we are very respectfull but we also are customers and the owners did not show, at any moment, ABILITIES to run a customer-oriented business.

In a restaurant we had the opportunity to talk about this hotel and the way we were being treated there, with the staff.
After a while, they told us that indeed, all the feedback they had received for this hotel was the same: unpleasant and complaints since this people from UK had taken the business over.

So: Avoid this hotel that seems to be a good deal.

At end they do not respect
- their committments (remember the "we accept your bottles against a fee? Well, not accepted the day of check-in...good, isn't it?),
- your privacy by always interfering in the group

and they care only about their personal interests Vs. those of the customers thinking that all we want is to steal them when our only objective is to spend good time and bring them business.

We even invited them to a cup of Champagne, but in return we got nothing.
We were only trying to relax and also get them more relax.
But nothing improved...

All of us agreed on the fact that the experience was nefast, even older people ... and all of us use to travel a lot...

Our Friend who was celebrating her 30th birthday even cried so stressed she was because of the organisation and the owners' behaviour.

At end, we decided to boycot the hotel's drinks.

They lost at least 60% of their potential benefits during those 2 days, and we were having our our drinks on the parking :-)

Regarding the rooms ... fine. I would rate 1*/2** out of 5.
Shared Bathrooms cleaniless 2/5.
Breakfast: 2.5/5 not so bad...but once more, at 09h35 you are charged for 1 cafe + 1 croissant cause at 09h30 sharp, the service stops, Other good point / customer focused when you are 30 people ....

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivier_MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

The accommodation itself is quite nice, clean and spacious....but...it is too far from the village of Champery and if the Grand Paradis lift is closed ( which it is, if windy)you are reliant on the buses which are unpredictable.The hotel owners do not offer to help you get in and out of the village...even when buses arent running.Too quiet for families.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SkiierEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

More a piste side restaurant than a hotel Grand Pardis is wonderful. English hosts Paul and Rhonda make you feel very welcome, and also speek fluent French and can help with any local arrangements.

The hotel is on the piste at the bottom of the long red run called "Grand Paris" and just a 300m walk or short ski from the Grand Pardis chairlift (covered). This is all at the top end of Champery, about 10mins walk through the woods from the main village.

The hotel has 10 rooms and 5 shared bathrooms. Our family stayted in the two top floor rooms, which meant in effect that we had a suit all to ourselves. Great for groups or families.

Being more a resturant than the hotel meant that the food was just fantastic. Very veried, well presented, and very tasty. Just what you need after a day's sking or Mountain Biking. Every Thursday is Swiss night, when they offer a fantastic fondu or a Raclet done in the traditional way in front of the log fire.

Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2008
Thank FamilyBlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews