We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a sleepover”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brunnen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just a sleepover”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wifi is only available in the lobby only.

Lift is small and can only take up to 2 pax and 2 luggages at a time.

Toilet is small and the sink is outside of the toilet right beside the bed.

Breakfast has limited food and serves the same thing everyday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
14
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Came in to the small lobby, great customer service, the keys were victorinox knives (might be because the official valley and museum id nearby.)

The rooms were clean, the tv had an amazing selection of channels all BBCs, cnn were available. Note that wifi is chargeable at 6 SF per 24 hrs.

Its a good place, recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It was ok, nothing more nothing less. A good place to stay for a rest when driving. Friendly staff that could speak a bit english. Rooms are ok but nothing special. The breakfast was good. Strangely enough this was the hotel with the best tv package on my trip in switzerland, this hotel had international channels and not only german speaking programs. Hotels are not for tv watching but its ok to watch news in english before going to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christoffer_Fiuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Rooms are nice but a bit small.
Very good enviroment, only 5 mins walk to Lake Lucerne.
Receptionist is very friendly and polite.
A quite little town and only 25 mins from Lucerne.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlotteChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

It was unforgettable holiday with my friends. City hotel was bigger than the other hotels in brunnen. But since we know brunnen is a small town, the hotel is not far from the great lake, it's beautiful. U know the view? very quiet lake with a big green mountain and a white ice on the top of it. Very rare.. Unfortunately we have to pay few expensive for the internet to keep in touch w/ family. But a great dinner pays it with music live and great food. Standard food actually. But it's great than the other small hotel I saw

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiaadwiseptia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunnen
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
0.2 mi away
Schmid und Alfa
Schmid und Alfa
#2 of 4 in Brunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swiss Holiday Park
Swiss Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Morschach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Rigi
Hotel Rigi
#3 of 6 in Vitznau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Fluelerhof
Hotel Fluelerhof
#3 of 3 in Fluelen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Gersauerstrasse 21 | Brunnen am Vierwaldstattersee, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Brunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing