We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Switzerland!”
Review of Schmid und Alfa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schmid und Alfa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brunnen
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised at how great Hotel Scmid und Alfa is! Everything in Switerland is expensive, except for this hotel where you actually get what you pay for. The location is wonderful (right on the main street overlooking Lake Lucerne; our room even had a view!) The staff was very friendly, pleasant and accomdating even when Expedia made a mistake and messed up our reservations. The hotel has free parking (albeit a 2 minute walk away from the property) and free wi-fi. The breakfast was outstanding with lots of choice, and fresh bread and fruit. The rooms are quite modern and spectacularly clean. The one downside was the noise. As this is on the high street and it was quite warm out, we slept with our windows open however the hotel is near a couple of bars which were hopping until 2am. Even with that, this hotel was great value, especially for Switzerland!

Room Tip: We stayed in 212 which has a great view, but is kind of noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelsoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

I'm probably in the minority, in staying in Brunnen for business. This hotel is very reasonably priced (for Switzerland). The rooms all overlook the lake - the key tourist attraction to view; and the hotel is in the middle of town, making walking around the town very easy indeed.
Rooms are clean and of a good size with an unstocked fridge (no minibar, but you can put your own stuff in it). There is a TV, with loads of tv channels, including normal BBC and ITV - not just BBC World.
Apparently there is free wi-fi, though I've never got it to work.
Breakfast is a simple buffet, but very fresh and more than adequate (and better than the Waldstatterhof down the road)
Service is very friendly and helpful.
I make repeat visits here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Brunnen is gorgeous and a great place to explore the lake lucern area. I am delighted we chose hotel schmid und alfa. Staff were extremely nice, always smiling and helpful. breakfast was good too. i first book a room at the alfa hotel but got upgraded to the schmid hotel in a room with great view on the lake. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nico_versailles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel. Our 2 bedroom family apartment had a full kitchen (usage extra) and a balcony off the living room with a magnificent view of Lake Lucerne and the mountains. Excellent breakfast and choices.
Very clean rooms, wonderful and helpful staff.
We were made to feel very welcome despite our only speaking English.
Ready to go back......

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodToGo541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We booked this hotel through Swiss Holiday Company, and had a room with a balcony and lake view - and what a view!! The room had two windows, and we could see Lake Lucerne and the surrounding mountains through each window. There was space on the balcony for 2 chairs, and we could sit watching the beautiful scenery, and the activity on the lake and the street below. The room was very clean, and well equipped. The hotel is positioned on the lakesore promenade, literally a few seconds walk to the lake, and the landing stage from which you can take a boat trip. The meals were very good, delicious and plentiful, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We happened to be in Brunnen on 1st August which is a Swiss National Festival, and so we enjoyed seeing the festivities in the small town, including Alpine Horns, a choir, and live bands in the square. But the highlight was the firework display on the lake - which we saw from our balcony. If you are looking for a small, friendly hotel in a good position, this is definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KobiSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Marylin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunnen
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brunnen
46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swiss Holiday Park
Swiss Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Morschach
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Post Hotel Weggis
Post Hotel Weggis
#11 of 16 in Weggis
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#3 of 3 in Brunnen
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weisses Roessli
Hotel Weisses Roessli
#1 of 3 in Brunnen
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schmid und Alfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schmid und Alfa

Address: Axenstrasse 5-7, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Brunnen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brunnen
Price Range: $128 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schmid und Alfa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schmid und Alfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing