We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlosshotel Art Furrer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schlosshotel Art Furrer
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Brig
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

I was a bit disappointed by this hotel, perhaps because my expectations were unrealistically high having stayed in excellent hotels in Switzerland previously. The location is good, right next to the Castle in Brig. Saying that, Brig is a small place so nowhere is that far from anywhere. Brig itself is centrally located with good transport links and nice views of surrounding mountains, and the castle adds a bit of interest.

The room I had was small and really bare with white walls and a hard floor. I found it quite depressing. Perhaps it wouldn't have mattered if I was with a group or partner, but as a lone traveller I rather dreaded going back to it. I suspect that it had probably gone unused for some time before my stay. It was adquately clean but there were several spiders and when I used the shower a huge millipede fell on me! I was seriously unimpressed by that.

My room had a sink and shower but no toilet, the toilet was located in the corridor just outside. I'm not sure if it was shared or not. It was a bit inconvenient. Annoyingly there was no soap in the toilet sink or the sink in my room - there was liquid soap in the shower but again it was inconvenient when trying to wash the hands.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the super warm duvet meant I was comfortable all night. The staff were pleasant. The breakfast was adequate, a cold buffet, though nothing special.

Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again myself as I did find the room a bit depressing and didn't like all the insect life. But probably in higher season and in a group or with a partner it would be just fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FearfulFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
9
33
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, MN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We had a family room , suitable for four people. Balcony, free wifi, good breakfast. Short walk to downtown restaurants and shops. Cool castle next to hotel, along with nice little park. Free parking. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

On their website it looks like a luxury hotel but it isn't. To our opinion this is a budget hotel. So we give it only two stars. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was a little outdated. But for a few nights in Brig this is a perfect place to stay when you are not looking for luxury.

We booked a basic room and that was a perfect description. The room was small and very basic. The bathroom was also quite small and just enough. We had a small balcony which we had to share with an other room. It was just enough to sit on with the two of us but the view on the castle and the city centre was perfect.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It’s about five minutes walk to the city centre of Brig where you find plenty of restaurants and terraces to drink am wine, beer or coffee..

The staff is very friendly and helpful. At breakfast it was hard to get things refreshed because there was only one girl there. We liked the opportunity to have breakfast in the garden.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemskerk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

We visited the Schlosshotel twice, once in 2008 and once in 2009, both for a few days. In our opinion it is one of the best places from where you can visit Wallis. For trips Brig is a good start. The Riederalp, Bettmeralp, Belalp, Zermatt, Saas Fee etc. lie within 45 minutes. The rooms are very clean with good beds. Breakfast is also pretty good, with fresh bread, eggs, cuttlery and jams. Within 2 minutes walk you are in the centre of Brig with a lot of places where one can eat dinner or have a beer on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ftunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

I had intended to stop at this hotel at Christmas, however when I turned up they had given my room to someone else, despite the fact I had booked some 7 months earlier, so I was moved to another hotel.
I returned in February, and was given a nice room with a great view of the Schloss building. This is the best aspect of this hotel. At night all the corridors are pitch black, there are switches to turn the lights on but they dont stay on very long. There is a nice lounge on the top floor with a free internet connection. However in the evening, the lights are also on a timer, so when on the internet all the lights go out after a few minutes, the only way to acivate them is to walk across the lounge to the sensor so the lights will then light up again. There are no staff on duty during the evening, so the hotel feels like it is shut, especially with every corridor and room in dark.
The breakfast is average, nothing special, the lady working in the breakfast room does not speak much English.
The hotel also offers a free minibus service to pick you up and take you to the main railway station. On our last day we had arranged to be taken from the Hotel to the railway station. We waited at the hotel with our suitcases but the minibus never appeared, we used the telephone on the reception desk to phone a member of staff who told us abruptly that the minibus was not available, so we had a last minute dash to the station in order to catch the train, not a very nice way to end our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

The best thing about Schlosshotel is its fantastic view of the Stockapler Palace which is just 3 minutes away on foot ~ do request for a room with a view when making your rsvn.

The Palace lights up beautifully @ night, you can go up to the Lounge on the top floor to get a wonderful view of it. The Lounge is also where you can get free internet access & complimentary drinks (coffee & tea).

The quaint Old Town of Brig is also easily accessible from Schlosshotel, just go through the courtyards of Stockalper Palace. If travelling with heavy luggage, you may want to consider taking a taxi from the train station as the hotel is quite a distance away (about 10 mins on foot).

The double room we had was clean & very spacious with a balcony that looks out onto the garden. The bed was comfortable enough & the daily breakfast buffet was adequate. The Reception Staff are competent & professional though the lady on duty provided much warmer service than the young man...

The hotel may not have on-site laundry service but you can ask the Reception to arrange for it to be done elsewhere. It cost us CHF20 for a load of laundry & we got back our clothes all nice & clean by the next morning.

When in Brig, make time to visit the magnificent Matterhorn. Zermatt is just a 1.5-hr train ride away, well worth making it a day trip if you're staying for a few days in Brig.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Though a 10 minute walk from the train station, Schloss Hotel does seem to be the best spot in lovely Brig. We got a third floor room with a picture-perfect castle and mountain view from the small balcony. Our clean room was a "double"--two twins fit together with a dip in the middle--and came with a writing desk but no toiletry amenities, just a dove liquid soap dispenser, but was otherwise quite comfortable.

The staff were very friendly though keep in mind not always english-speaking, and breakfast was very good with tasty coffee, croissants, yogurt and muesli, hardboiled eggs, cheese and ham.

Our impression of this hotel was great until we had to come back unexpectedly to stay another night and got a fourth floor room off the hotel "lounge" which was old, dark, and oddly put together, with a view of the apartment building behind the hotel--so definitely request a castle-view room. If I couldn't get that, I might stay a bit down the street at the Hotel du Pont.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayfinderHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#1 of 16 in Brig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 16 in Brig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#10 of 16 in Brig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Art Furrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Art Furrer

Property: Schlosshotel Art Furrer
Address: Spittelweg 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schlosshotel Art Furrer 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Schlosshotel Art Furrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing