We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel in Brig”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Europe
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in Brig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a weeks Eurostar "ski-train" holiday. It is a great litle hotel, everything you need and run in the traditional efficient Swiss style. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Choose a room at the back, you can get a balcony and has views to the mountains.

Room Tip: Room 46 is really good, but did not see others to compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    48
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
35
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

A family run 3-star close to the railway station. Clean and tidy and the staff were most helpful. Breakfast buffet had a good range for a hotel in that grade. Room was spacious and ideal for my stay. Road traffic and railway noise may be an issue for some, so request a room not at the front of the building if that is the case. Would use again.

Room Tip: Road and rail traffic noise at the front of the building may be an issue to consider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff,clean,good breakfast. Single room is like a prison cell. Ridiculously small and for CHF 150 for two nights VERY overpriced. Hostel quality accommodation. Rooms facing the station are very noisy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Azam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brig hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after arriving in Brig on the Glacier Express. It is ideally located near the train station. When you exit the station, look to your right and you will see the hotel about 100 metres away on the opposite side of the street.

We had a large corner room overlooking the railway line. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. We would have liked to have had coffee/tea making facilities, but I suppose you can't have everything.

The best thing about the hotel were the day and night managers, Cornelia and Yannick. In all my travels I have never encountered hotel staff as friendly or helpful as these two. Nothing was too much trouble for them. When we first checked into our room, we were unable to completely close one of the windows which meant we were able to hear noise from passing cars and trains. We called Yannick and after unsuccessfully trying to fix it he immediately transferred us to an identical room at the other end of the building. We were unable to hear any outside noise from this room. Yannick also gave us some very good advice on places to eat. All this was done in a very friendly and cheerful manner.

Cornelia greeted us at breakfast the next morning as though we were long lost friends. She also gave us some valuable advice on things to do and see in the Valais area, together with a great map of the area. On weekends, breakfast starts at 7.30am. As we were due to check out on a Sunday and had to catch a train at 7.50am, we asked her if we could take some fruit or something from the breakfast room to eat on the train. She said she would come in early and set up breakfast for us at 7am. We arrived at the breakfast room just before 7am to find that Cornelia had everything prepared. Even the tea and coffee was made.

My advice for anyone who is intending to visit Brig is to not even think about staying anywhere else. The Hotel Europe is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We arrived from Venice to Brig on the New New Year's eve. Location is excellent - 3 mins walk from the EuroStar railway platform, even less from where the local Swiss rails stop. It is a family-run business and the staff was very warm and helpful. Facilities are very basic. We just stayed there for one night to catch the Glacier Express the next morning. It was a nice and comfortable stay.

Beacuse it was the New Year's eve, almost all the shops and restaurants closed early. We had to struggle a bit to find a good place to have dinner. The wi-fi signal was weak in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel as part of our visit to Zermatt and for our trip in Glacier Express from Brig to St. Moritz. The most impressive part of this hotel was its staff. All the staff we met in this hotel appeared to be taking care of the hotel like a family member and they were treating guests as guests at home, by providing very valuable suggestions for the trip (For example, when we told the lady staff about our plan to go to Zermatt, she was even recommending the better side to sit on the train while travelling to Zermatt, without us asking for it!) It is very difficult to find such dedicated and caring staff in most big hotels and hence we were really impressed by them. The location was also very good, as it is just opposite to Brig train station (from where you can catch the Glacier express or go to many other locations in Switzerland). The room was also very spacious and it was very clean. The breakfast was really good (but not exemplary!). The price we got was also reasonable for the Swiss price standards. The only negative thing I can report is about the transperancy of the curtain in the toilet window. The curtain and glass of the windows were transparent. Since we were staying in the first floor and since the hotel was just opposite to the train station, it was a bit embarassing to put on the lights in the toilet (at night)! May be the hotel should rectify that too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhruthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My companion and I arrived in Brig and walked easily to Hotel Europe from the train station. A nice clean entry and a clerk who was helpful and courteous. Our room was very nice and very clean, with good water pressure and no shortage of hot water. After spending the afternoon exploring around town we came back and set in the bar for a cold beer. The night manager, Cornelia served us and offered up an invite to the morning's complimentary breakfast and then asked us what we were doing the next day. When we sort of admitted that we were not sure she gave us the best advice we got our entire trip. Take the morning train to Zermatt, then grab the Matterhorn railway up to see the mountains. It was a terrific idea and we did just that. Back for our second night we enjoyed the bar with some fellow travelers and another comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast both mornings was great with a variety of choices. Good coffee made fresh by the ever present and helpful Cornelia. I felt this to hotel be a very good value and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room faced away from the main road and we were not disturbed by vehicles or trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exracer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#1 of 16 in Brig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Art Furrer
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Pont
Hotel Du Pont
#4 of 16 in Brig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Property: Hotel Europe
Address: Viktoriastrasse 9, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Brig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing