We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss trip - night 1&2”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Two night stop. Very welcoming hotel, an easy walk from train station with our wheelie cases. Front steps are a minor Eiger, but if we looked I think we'd have found the easy route round the back. Very good breakfasts. Our room was clean and tidy.

Overall - a good, simple no-nonsense hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 371 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in July 2012 with Treyn Holidays. Rooms could do with a little updating but would not put me off returning. Food was superb and the staff couldn't be more friendly. Will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.
David Roberts UK

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador last year and found it clean, quiet and safe. The staff was helpful both in and out.
Close to the rail station.
I'm sorry this is one year late, but they earned a good memory.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We enjoyed 2 nights stay here at the Ambassador. Check in was easy and quick. Our room was small as was the bathroom which could be testing for the fuller figure especially the shower! The upside was we had lovely mountain views.Breakfast was excellent. Lots to choose from even some cooked items! We were concerned that being near a train station would be noisy but we hardly noticed it was there being in a quiet street. The hotel's car park is a bit small but mostly used by diners using the hotel restaurant. We would happily come back here next time we go to Brig.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randjworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a Tryen Rail Holiday package.
Our room was small but cosy. It had a bit of a damp smell on arrival but that went after a while.
Close to the station and about a 5 to 10 min walk to a little square that has a couple of restaurants and shops.
Breakfast was nice and simple.
We had a meal included in our package, which was very good.
Howeve the night we ate in the restuarant it had been a very warm day so the room we ate in was hot, it wouldve been nice if a fan couldve been provided some where in the room to cool things down. the windows were open a little but couldnt feel a breeze coming through.

Room Tip: ok for a couple of nights / some where to put your head down while exlporing near by towns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is close to the station.
The room I had was a double for the price of a single room and had everything I wanted including quite nights.
The staff all spoke English and were very friendly and helpful, the owner even found time to talk to me on a night when the restaurant was very busy.
The restaurant was very good and the Chef was happy to modify the menu to suit my more plain English tasts despite being very busy.
Switzerland is an expensive country but The Ambassador was what I expected to pay in that country.
I can recommend this hotel with no reservations

Room Tip: My room was on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We booked into another hotel in Brig and discovered on arrival that it backed onto the main road over the Simplon. We went to the tourist office, explained we wanted something quiet (at least); that we didn't expect a Swiss-themed hotel. There was a brochure for the Ambassador there and we asked about it. The called and the hotel had room and we went to look at it. The owner greeted us and showed us one of the rooms they had available––which turned out to be the model room for the renovation that will be undertaken this year (from November for two months). Clean, modern, well-equipped, and with sound-isolating windows and doors it was perfect for us. Although one is in town we had views of the mountains and geraniums on the balcony! The couple that run the hotel were terrific––she is Italian, he is Swiss. They seem to speak all languages (we speak Italian) and really make an effort to make one feel at home. He saw me reading a newspaper in the hall and encouraged me to take it wherever I wanted; she always greeted us warmly and answered questions easily, naturally, and frankly. As a courtesy (they had rescued us from a worse fate) we had dinner that night in the hotel and then did so again on the night before we left: it was really good. We particularly admired a dish called "La Pocheuse" made from local, fresh-water fish––but the French-style beef stew was also great. There is clearly a gifted chef in the kitchen. Be aware: this is a three-star hotel (not deluxe international) in a small border town but it is a rare pleasure to be in a place where the owners live upstairs and care about their hotel and its guests. This is not a chain. It has its limitations if you think you want something that looks like a chalet in the forest––but remember, Brig owes its place to being a transit center and this is the kind of travelers' hotel from another period: run efficiently and affectionately by its owners. If the rooms are restored to the level of the room we stayed in, we think it will be highly desirable. (It may even punch up a level?) Brig is an interesting town, too. It is not a tourist town like Zermatt or St. Moritz. It has a fascinating monument in the Stockalper Palace and it is a good base for visiting other parts of the Valais minutes by foot from the station.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor (36) with a balcony. When the hotel is renovated they will (or so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 16 in Brig
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Good Night Inn
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Art Furrer
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Pont
Hotel Du Pont
#4 of 16 in Brig
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Saflischstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range: $134 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and immediately feel at home. The rooms are individually designed, Spacious and Bright. Exclusive boxspringbeds provide you with restful sleep. The hotel Ambassador has a quiet central location 200 metres away from the train station in Brigue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Brig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing