We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spa Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bad Ragaz
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Spa Resort”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

we had gone for 1st time to Swiss and that too for our Honeymoon. Bad ragaz was the first place in our itinerary and the 1st impression was super. Right at the train station we find a S class waiting to receive us.

the next 3 days were one of the best days of our trip. we had a been provided with a private butler. since we being HM couple, special arrangements like Champagne, swiss chocs, cake, bouquets etc were arranged for us in room.

The Tamina (Healing) water pool was a new experience. The food was nice and with special attention given to us for pure veg arrangements was icing on cake


Also there were couple of Harley Davidson available for the hotel guest to use for roaming in the village.

all in all this hotel has left a special mark in our hearts

Room Tip: select the new hotel building as the rooms are with new automation and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hardikgudhka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
76
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the location and did not really come for the spa which is beautiful and we would return for that purpose in the future. This hotel is definitely top notch. Although I did not see the rooms at the Quellenhof, I would choose this hotel over the sister property again. The rooms are beautiful and huge. We had a Grand Deluxe room, not a suite, and it was unbelievably spacious. It is actually bigger than it appears on their website. It is beautifully furnished and the bathroom is large with a separate tub and shower and a large vanity. Very important to me, not at all to my husband, is the lighted, magnified mirror for makeup. I dislike having to packing a magnifying mirror just to put on makeup when I travel and I think this should be a staple in every hotel! The bedding was very nice and we both had a great sleep.

There are extensive closets and dressers without making the room feel cramped and every detail has been thought of and provided for. There is also a Nespresso machine in the room for which I am always grateful!! The balcony on this room type was also large with two sun loungers and two deck chairs with a small table and it was still not cramped. The sliding windows opened up almost the whole wall which we could not take advantage of due to an excessive number of wasps. This was not specific to the hotel - everywhere we went in Switzerland was like this. The view was of the mountain behind the resort and the bar terrace below and it was beautiful. At night you could see the headlights from cars winding their way up the impossible road to the top of the mountain.

We ate dinner at Zollstube and at Olives d'or. The service at both was excellent. Zollstube serves a traditional Swiss menu and is decorated like a mountain chalet. It is quite a departure from the decor in the rest of the resort but lends to a very comfortable laid back feel. Olives d'or is billed as a Mediterranean restaurant but I really didn't get that vibe from the menu. The food was good but not as you would expect from the decor and service level. We also had breakfast at Olives d,or one morning and again, not up to what you would expect. We had breakfast in our room on the morning we were checking out and that was outstanding!! You are literally less than a five minute walk to the main street of Bad Ragaz and there are lots of restaurants there if you chose to eat outside the resort.

The service in this hotel is at least as good as any hotel I have ever stayed in and it is clear that staff training is a very high priority. They are so very helpful with absolutely any request big or small. A special mention of Jennifer, a server in the bar, who remembered after one visit what each of us drank and was so friendly. So was so good at her job. She seemed to be able to read people and give them the exact type of service they expected.

While this is not specific to this hotel, it is common to many European hotels, I really dislike the practise of putting two twin beds together instead of a real king-size bed. When you spend the money on this caliber of hotel and everything else is perfect, why can't we have a big bed or at least make up the two twins as if they were a king? How can there be so many "little Europeans" running around if this is normal;)?

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel but would definitely take advantage of the spa service the next time!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Excaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

How can you have two 5 stars hotels next to each other with such a price difference. Square meters are not all. The Hof was turned into a 5 stars but can't compete with neighboring (same hotel group) Quellenhof.
If you got the money go to Quellenhof rooms, feel etc is real 5 stars. The Hof feels small (narrow common areas etc) Rooms are refurbished but already feel old, bed are super soft, in complete contradiction with most world class 5 stars, they are spacious but bathroom are covered in boring mat beige tiles and make you feel in a business hotel.
But would still recommend if your main objective are the fabulous Hot Spring pools and saunas (naked and not)
Good breakfast (à la German with lots of choice) but at 7:30 not much staff and no one at the egg cooking station so had to go with buffet eggs. The best personnel was at the bar and the valet service. Very knowledgeable and friendly in both cases.
15:00 check in was enforced despite attempt to sneak in earlier...probably showing shortages of housekeeping staff or simply savings...
Prices of course in line with overpriced CH market.
But nevertheless if you can afford it go for it, the Spa areas are simply amazing...

Room Tip: Ask for front view (ie view over entrance) the back view is quieter but you face a mountain whereas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Arriving at the Grand Resort Bad Ragaz is a treat in itself as the magnificent gardens come into view. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz on the recommendation of friends who had previously stayed at the Grand Hotel Quellenhof. Quellenhof is attached but run as a separate hotel though you can use the facilities at both.
The Quellenhof is not air conditioned and since it was very hot during our stay we were happy to be in air conditioned rooms at the Hof. If this is important to you, then you must specify this as rooms in the Palais are also not air conditioned.

Breakfast was very good: fresh orange juice, eggs to order and pretty good coffee (you also have a Nespresso machine in your room). What was particularly nice was being able to eat outside and enjoy the gardens and morning sun.

Service was generally excellent. We always ordered coffee with hot milk on the side and every second time we were served cold milk and had to ask again.

Everyone greets you, staff as well as guests, something that rarely happens in other hotels.
There are bowls of fruit on each floor and at Reception, though only the Reception bowl gets topped up during the day.

Access to the private and public spa and fitness area are included in the room rate though treatments (which are very expensive) are extra.

I found the concierge to be particularly helpful when I had some documents to print and scan.

The hotel includes free transport from/to the station on arrival and departure, a distance of 1150 metres.
We asked for a lift to the station for a day trip and called to be picked up on our return.
I was surprised to find a charge of CHF17 each way for this on the bill at check-out.
It would have nice to have been informed of this at the time of booking the transport. When I made this comment to the receptionist she apologised. I think the correct action would have been to remove the charges from the bill.

This is not a cheap hotel but you really have the feeling of being in the lap of luxury. The hotel is immaculately maintained and spotlessly clean.
The scenery really is Swiss postcard stuff and I would happily return any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pointyendpreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
510 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz is a wonderful place to escape from the everday life and stress. The staff is friendly, efficient and extremely helpful. Just very well trained. The rooms are decorated in style (modern classic), clean and big (there is a lot of cupboard space). There is even free Nespresso coffee and tea at your disposal in the room. You will sleep well as the bed is huge and comfortable and there is absolutely no noise.

The breakfast buffet includes everything for a perfect start into the day. At dinner the restaurant offers reliable food and a perfect choice of wine from all over the world. Not exciting, but OK, very OK.

The hotel is not extremly cheap .... but worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURGWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent is all one can say in one word for this wonderful spa hotel .this is true luxury in every which way from the stay point of view, spa point of view , food point of view and of course very important from service point of view.
We had a wonderful room on the second floor which looked out on to the Gardens and while we were there a very important wedding was going on, but believe you me this in any which way did not come in the way of enjoyment and luxury for the guests in the hotel.
In fact one could not even make out the wedding was on.
Every point was a focal point in the sense the room was very well appointed .the common areas of the hotel were really nice including the lobby lounge etc.
The main highlight of course is the SPA...really really good.
This spa is an experience of a kind which cannot be that easily replicated anywhere in the world.Even the public spa which anyone can use is fantastic and specially the outdoor part of the public spa ,the pool area is superb...really a lot of fun.The water is of course warm so very comfortable to use in the open and the real experience being the thermal water everywhere.
The restaurants are absolutely first grade.The view from the large windows of the Mediterranean restaurant is excellent the greenery and landscaped gardens are excellent.
One word for this resort EXCELLENT and will definitely try and go back in a hurry .

Room Tip: Try to get a junior suite in quellenhof facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passiontravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz is a great place to escape from the stressful weekdays. The staff is extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and big (there is a lot of cupboard space). There is even free Nespresso coffee and tea at your disposal in the room. You will sleep incredibly well as the bed is huge and comfortable and there is absolutely no noise. The garden of the hotel is well looked after.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic and includes everything for a perfect start into the day. At lunch the restaurant offers an Italian antipasti buffet as well as dishes from the menu. Really delicious!

The spa has all you need with its thermal pool and sport pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath as well as its fitness room. You can go for long walks in the valley, the mountains or to the Tamina gorge.

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz for a wedding but will definitely come back as it is just the perfect escape from the daily life. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoiseLaPrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Ragaz
0.0 mi away
Grand Resort Bad Ragaz
Grand Resort Bad Ragaz
#2 of 11 in Bad Ragaz
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Tamina
Sorell Hotel Tamina
#1 of 11 in Bad Ragaz
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Ragaz
Hotel Schloss Ragaz
#3 of 11 in Bad Ragaz
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Roessli
Hotel Restaurant Roessli
#5 of 11 in Bad Ragaz
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swiss Heidi Hotel
Swiss Heidi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Maienfeld
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Torkelbundte Hotel Garni
Torkelbundte Hotel Garni
#8 of 11 in Bad Ragaz
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz

Property: Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz
Address: Bernhard-Simon-Strasse 20, Bad Ragaz 7310, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Bad Ragaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bad Ragaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From historic Palais to Grand Hotel of world renown: the Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz is a witness to a splendid era and a symbol for the sparkling future of Bad Ragaz. The Hof Ragaz is a part of the Grand Resort Bad Ragaz. Grand Resort Bad Ragaz is situated in eastern Switzerland, surrounded by mountains in the "Heidiland" holiday region, about an hour's drive from Zurich, and is considered Europe's leading wellbeing and medical health resort. It offers two luxury hotels - Grand Hotel Quellenhof & Spa Suites and Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz - combined with gourmet gastronomy with eight restaurants, one Michelin star and 58 Gault Millau points, plus wellbeing with its own thermal waters, golf course, business facilities, public thermal bath and casino. The selection of wellbeing and relaxation offerings is supplemented by the internationally renowned Medical Health Centre. Its services range from weight loss to check-ups, beauty treatments and preventive medicine. In 2013, the resort was again selected as the best wellness hotel in Switzerland by the SonntagsZeitung newspaper - and the Conde Nast Traveller Spa Guide named it the "Best Medi Spa". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Grand Hotel Hof Ragaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing