We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room 23”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Charme Romerhof
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arbon
Certificate of Excellence
la fourcla
1 review
“room 23”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was very nice.
Room is full of light, clean and spacious. Bathroom looked new (or very well maintained)
breakfast buffet is good, loved the organics vegetable juices.
Diner was high standard, apart from too much salt on meat. (nobodys perfect!)
Staff is welcoming and efficient
Owners are very friendly.
Highly recommandable accomodation.
Old town is quite scenic if your like pre 18th century architecture.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lake might be quietest ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
81
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The owners are my friends, but I wrote this review based on my experience, not the relationship. I really felt like home. My room was big, clean and cozy. The food were great. The staff were so accommodating, just like I visited a family of mine. Really enjoyed my stay, I wish I could stay longer. The lake just few minutes walk and the public swimming pool as well. Beautiful town. Will come back for sure and enjoy the hospitality of the Roemerhof Gasthaus.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vivi-mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and really enjoyed our time. The staff was lovely and accommodating and the room was clean and nicely put together. Our only regret was not staying at the hotel restaurant for dinner—it looked wonderful. Next time!

We'd definitely return and recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were due to a technical meeting in Goldach-Rorschach on May 30ieth and this time we preferred not to spend the night before in any of Zurich's typical airport hotels. We picked Roemerhof hotel in Arbon mainly because of its reputation regarding culinary levels. To reach Arbon from Zurich airport is quite easy by train, as you need only to go 2 levels below arrivals to aiport train station and ask for tickets to Arbon. You need to take first an intercity from Zurich airport to Romanshorn (through Winterthur, Frauenfeld) which takes around 1 hour. From Romanshorn you take a regional train (it is like a city tram) which takes you in less than 30 minutes to Arbon village. This village has numerous very old housing buildings even since 1300! Roemerhof hotel is one of them, totally rennovated inside will all needful comforts for tourists and humble technical business travellers. I have a lot of Arbon old buildings photos and Roemerhof hotel exteriors for your kind info. The west hotel wall "touches" an old fortification wall (maybe Roman, maybe more fresh) whereas very near the hotel there is a contemporary watch tower (Wachentor) which you may climb (if young or brave enough) to see the whole area and Bodensee, as Arbon is situated on its banks to the north.
It was cold and rainy but we walked for more than an hour looking at the old village buildings and troding at the lakeside. All Bodensee villages promote bike tours around the lake and we saw numerous simple or modified bikes with gallant people pedalling joyfully to their next target place.
Roemerhof rooms on the 2nd floor have all inclined ceiling and on attached photos you may see how nicely everything is set. The interior design architect has done a remarkable job!
We were prudent enough to book our dinner in Roemerhof's restaurant as a lot of outsiders do
come to this hotel's restaurant for lare lunch / dinner.
We chose a Nicoise salad with fresh salmon gracefully and lightly grilled together with a medium spiced raw meat stake (stake tartar). For our main course we had a glorious Chateaubriand (for 2) that was maybe the best till today. For our wine we chose a red Italian Barbera (lighter than expected).
We were completely satisfied and next morning our stomach was "light" enough, meaning that the dinner quality was at its best.
If travelling around Bodensee it pays back to stay in this hotel and try their dinner, regardless your choice.

Room Tip: second floor rooms and try the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KONSTANTINOS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbon
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bad Horn
Hotel Bad Horn
#1 of 1 in Horn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Seegarten
2.1 mi away
Landgasthof Seelust
Landgasthof Seelust
#1 of 1 in Egnach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Wartegg
Hotel Schloss Wartegg
#1 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rebstock
Best Western Hotel Rebstock
#2 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
15.7 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Charme Romerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Charme Romerhof

Property: Hotel de Charme Romerhof
Address: Freiheitsgasse 3, Arbon 9320, Switzerland (Formerly Römerhof)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Thurgau > Arbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Charme Romerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Restaurant – Hotel de charme Römerhof is a small charming hotel that consists of 11 hotel rooms, Gourmet restaurant, 2 separate historic halls, Cigar Lounge and is located directly in the center of the old town of Arbon only a few steps away from the Lake of Constance. The historic premises from the 16th century give to this place a special charme. In the elegant restaurant, the Kitchen chef combines the classical French cuisine with the cuisine of the world with local touches. Cordial hospitality and the private atmosphere makes this space special. On a mild summer night, you are more than welcome to relax outside on the terrace on the former city walls of Arbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel de Charme Romerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing