We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great staff”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Andermatt
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I decided to escape to Andermatt for a quick ski trip. I rang the hotel and was immediate greeted by the hotel owner who was extremely friendly. Very casual and trusting environment, didn't even have to register when we arrived at the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

The room was comfortable and quaint, we were given a corner room on the third floor with our own balcony overlooking the town. The room facilities are adequate, not flashy, but suitable for short stays. The hotel restaurant serve great meals, the staff recommendation was spot on.

Because we were only there for a short ski trip, we asked the hotel owner if we could check out after 11am, this way, we could ski half day and return to the hotel to shower and freshen up before leaving Andermatt. Despite the fact that the hotel was fully booked, the owner was extremely accommodating, she indicated that we may have to pay a little extra for the cleaning staff to stay back after 11am, to which we agree. In the end, we cleared out of the room around 12:30pm, and we were not charged for the extra time at all.

This is definitely a great family run Swiss style hotel, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

10 of us stayed for a longish weekend skiing. Andermatt is one of the best off piste destinations in Europe with few crowds. Only real issue was the poor email communication with the hotel. We asked them to see if they could organise transfer from the airport. This seemed to be difficult so we organised it ourselves via another company. On arrival we were harrassed by the hotel saying their taxi was waiting for us at the airport! Other guests in our party had similar degree of difficulty in assuring that their reservation for the hotel had been accepted. Otherwise no complaints, though the old lady, who I presume is the owner, could have smiled a bit more readily.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Rode up to Andermatt on BMW GS Bikes, we were looking for a hotel as we had not booked in advance and the little old lady who own's the Sur Sonne came out to us and offered us a great rate (€40 for the night) and a garage to put our bikes and gear in.
Rooms were clean and cosy, and the Hotel was just full of old world swiss charm. The restraunt/bar was just the coziest place in the world and the staff were really welcoming !!
We took off the next day to ride over the Alpine passes planning to go back to our original digs in Mergozzo Italy, but we loved Andermatt so much and the hotel we went straight back after our days driving.
Great Hotel, Stunning Town in the most awesome location ! Access to all the mountain passes starts in Andermatt !!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stormforce99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We arrived on a cold, miserable day after having stopped and taken in the full force of wind, cold and rain at the "Devil's Bridge" and the Russian Memorial in the Schoellenen Gorge. How welcoming the old wooden buildings, and especially the "Sonne" in the center of Andermatt felt after that! We warmed up with the "Sonne's" Swiss coffee specialty drink called "Hueren' Aff", (roughly translated into "stupid monkey"), which has a coffee and mountain schnaps base - I don't know which is in fact the base - a good dollop of sugar and topped with whipped cream. Delicious!

The hotel has an elevator, which makes transport to the upper floors easy. The rooms are of adequate size and cozy. Bathroom plumbing (ours had shower only) are modern. Our room had a view over the small plaza on the southside to the beautiful museum which, for history fans, served as one of the headquarters of Russian Field Marshal Suvorov on September 25th, 1799 during his epic military campaign through the Swiss Alps.

The restaurant "Sonne" can be equally recommended. The decor is traditional Alpine Swiss, a lot of wood panelling and very 'homey'. Food and service go along with it. We opted for their cheese fondue with a good Swiss wine recommended by the friendly waiter, an excellent choice. Breakfast is buffet-style with choices to satisfy a wide variety of tastes.

When we left the next day towards the St. Gotthard Pass, the weather had cleared up and showed the line of new snow just above the town. I would think it should be good for skiing in winter here. Next time we come through Andermatt, we shall stay at the Hotel Sonne again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamquam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We spent one night here on our way through switzerland, and thought it was just lovely. There wasn't anywhere I would rather have stayed in the village - Hotel Sonne was packed with switzerland charm. Andermatt itself was one of my favourite chocolate box towns in Switzerland, although I suspect it might be ruined slightly in the future by the large hotel complex being built by the rail station. Has a slight 70's kitsch feeling of a wooden chalet, but clean and nicely presented, so was much more charming than out of date. Highly recommend the restaurant, which is where we would have chosen to eat even if we weren't staying there - if I went back again I would select the half board option. Lovely friendly reception staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJ_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed here over New Year 2009/10. It's a delightful hotel very close to the centre of beautiful Andermatt. It looks, inside and out, like a typical Swiss chalet. The rooms are reasonably sized and have a very comfortable bed. Breakfast is good buffet style food and the dinners were excellent. The staff deserve extra praise, especially Louis the assistant manager who was so helpful and great fun! It's very close to the main skilift and the excellent bars. We will return...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

A nice 3* hotel on the main street in Andermatt. The restaurant is very good. The room had a nice sized bath with shower/tub with a separate toilet. We had plenty of hot water with good water pressure. We also enjoyed the sauna after skiing.
There is a good sized ski/boot room next to the entrance. The owners don't smile much, but the staff is accomodating and friendly. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank rjslatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chedi Andermatt
The Chedi Andermatt
#1 of 11 in Andermatt
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Crown
Hotel Crown
#3 of 11 in Andermatt
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
#4 of 11 in Andermatt
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The River House Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#11 of 11 in Andermatt
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Schlussel
Alpenhotel Schlussel
#5 of 11 in Andermatt
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Gotthardstrasse 76, Andermatt 6490, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Andermatt
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Andermatt
Price Range: $179 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing