We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad choice, not going back”
Review of Hotel Badus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Badus
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Andermatt
hellevoetsluis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“bad choice, not going back”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

only positive thing was the wifi.
room was really oldschool.
beds not good, bathroom not good.
everything very loud, breakfast terrible.
it smells antique.
and it was way to expensive,

Room Tip: don't get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffrey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed here with a large group while visiting Lucerne. The distance from the city is a little far but the drive is absolutely beautiful! The hotel is a nice quaint Swiss environment. The rooms are of typical European size. The staff is extremely nice and accommodating. My favorite part of this hotel was their breakfast, especially their coffee, it was some of the best I have ever had! I don't know if it was just the atmosphere or the fresh swiss milk that I put in it but it was delish! The little town of Andermatt is so picturesque and it is so fitting that this hotel is right there! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanberrykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Badus with a large tour group. At first we were disappointed that were were an hour away from Lucerne - but as we began to explore the little town of Andermatt we were happy with the location.

The hotel has been somewhat updated, newer linens and some modern furniture, my room had a nice balcony with a view of the town. It's basic accomodation, not far from the tram to the ski hill - but the service in the restaurant was good, as was the food. The only real complaint I have is the hot water - I was told it's not turned on until 6:30am, as an early riser that was a problem.

Not a bad choice for a short stay in the Lucerne area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT-BRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
290 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

A nice hotel located close the Andermatt train stations. All public areas I found them nicely decorated and clean (lobby, bar, restaurant) We got a spacious room with the sink in the room and the toilet and shower in the bathroom (*) The bed was a joined twin, tv, sofa and a nice front view, well in reality not so nice because there was a large construction site (have heard that there will be build a five star hotel) but didn't disturb us any noise, apparently is sound-proof. The breakfast was a typical Swiss breakfast: bread, cheese, ham, cereals. A little detail that I appreciated: when checking out, a guy from the kitchen came running to give a wind-fan toy for my daughter, it highlighted her day! Overall experience: very good.

(*) Later, I mean after the trip, when commenting the experience to friends, we were told that some old Swiss hotels build in the 50's till the 70's used to (not all) place the sink in the room instead inside the bathroom like most of the hotels today. I found it really good since I could brush my teeth in peace without been obliged to smell my partner's smells when he uses the wc!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We arrived later than expected and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was comfortable and clean, as was the toilet area. There was a balcony, which was very nice to wander out onto. The train station was a short stroll down the strasse. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the staff was very attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would like to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tathlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

Stayed for three days while exploring the local area by bike. Excellent, friendly service throughout, good food and the rooms are of a high standard. Made to feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Going back next year.

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the peach snapps
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofasleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
The Chedi Andermatt
The Chedi Andermatt
#1 of 11 in Andermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
The River House Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Schlussel
Alpenhotel Schlussel
#5 of 11 in Andermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crown
Hotel Crown
#3 of 11 in Andermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#7 of 11 in Andermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
#4 of 11 in Andermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Badus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Badus

Property: Hotel Badus
Address: Gotthardstrasse 25, Andermatt 6490, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Andermatt
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Andermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Badus 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Badus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing