We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, just okay”
Review of Wooli River Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wooli River Lodges
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in a Garden Lodge. Having purchased an online deal it was good value for what we paid (otherwise I would have thought too expensive for the quality of the cabin and minimal facilities). The cabins are very basic but comfortable and there's everything you need if you're well organised (ie. you have a good supply of foods that can be easily cooked in either a frypan or microwave because apart from the communal BBQ, that's it in terms of cooking facilities). Take your own knives, the one we had wouldn't cut butter! And no chopping board (again, it is basic). I was disappointed that the fridge hadn't been switched on before we arrived and it took forever to cool, in fact the next day! Apart from a few glitches, including not getting what was promised when we purchased the online deal, my children had fun canoeing, swimming in the pool and playing with other guests' children. You'll have a much better stay if you take lots of food and drinks. The restaurants/cafes are terrible and surprisingly for a seaside village there was no seafood in sight (the only seafood shop had nothing other than oysters) and not a decent fish & chip shop anywhere. Wooli is a cute little town and good if you're looking for a quiet break away. Don't forget the Aeroguard, the midges are relentless!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AGL2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Wooli River Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

A great spot right on the river perfect for the kids and a spot of fishing, bird watching or canoeing using the free canoes provided. Space for the kids to play games on the lawn as well. We had one of the larger cabins and it was clean and beds comfortable. The kids weren't impressed by the tiny TV but you don't go to Wooli to watch TV. Friends had one of the small cabins and found it a bit small with 2 kids. BUT the lack of any stove/oven in the cabin was a big disappointment. The one tiny little caravan stove and oven in the communal cooking area to share between 9 cabins was laughable.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe cabin. The smaller ones have a bathroom/toilet where the walls don't reach th...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMT7400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The lodges are no fuss, but well serviced, very homely. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, the location on the river is perfect. Lots of stunning birdlife, canoeing and fishing is good, the canoes are free and the calm waters make it perfect for adventures with kids. The area is amazing with fantastic surf beaches and still water swimming spots, the locals are friendly and welcoming, overall an awesome place to take the kids and wind down. BBQ facilities are great there and the gardens and flat grassy areas around the lodges are very well presented and again, perfect for young children. A very worthy destination, highly recommended for sure! Pack some insect repellent though, there is the odd sandfly/midgee around sunset time.

Room Tip: They're all very good and central, the lodge with the disabled access ramp has a bigger verandah...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

When we arrived at the wooli river lodges we were suprised by how close they were to the river, considering we had a small boat this suited us perfectly as we could leave the boat in the water during our stay. We also caught mud crabs right out front of the lodges. The lodges themselves are very clean, spacious and have everything you need, a home away from home. We saw lots of wildlife during our stay and the birdlife was impressive, creating a very peaceful and relaxing environment. We spent time fishing near the mouth of Wooli River and had the weather been warmer, we would have gone swimming too. Both the river and the beach look like safe places to swim, i think we will make Wooli our family holiday destination for years to come.And dont forget to try the local oysters, my partner said they were the best he had ever eaten!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kais-crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a very enjoyable place to go and chill out.Whether it's throwing a line into the wonderful wooli river or fishing the ocean. Then there's the lovely beach walks or just relaxing having a superb coffee or a delicious meal. Our stay at the Lodge was lovely with all the comforts of home for such an affordable price with helpful and friendly management. The cabin was very clean with a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had a few days spare on a recent trip so decided to spend a few days at Wooli. The River Lodges suited us as despite being peak period we were able to book for just a few days. We booked Cabin 8 as it was larger than most (Cabin 9 is the largest). The cabin was comfortable with two bedrooms, both with ensuites. What we did not realise is that there is no stove/oven in the cabin - this is provided in a central cooking area. This was not a problem as there weren't many people staying there so no competition for the facilities (which were very good). I would also note that the cabin we were in was not air-conditioned. If you don;t like the warm weather this would be somewhat uncomfortable in mid-summer. The canoes and paddle boat provided hours of fun for the kids - I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Cabin's 7, 8 and 9 are larger but more expensive
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackSpratandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have stayed at Wooli River Lodges as a family of 5 now on four separate occasions and find it a wonderful place to take the family on holiday or for a weekend at the coast. Margy and Russ are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have only stayed in the deluxe river cabin, which has ample room for us and 3 children. Bathroom and ensuite are separate, and the kitchen/lounge and front verandah area are spacious and inviting. On each occasion we have enjoyed cooking in the central BBQ area and meeting other holiday makers, and our girls especially love the beautiful inground pool. We would highly recommend the Wooli River Lodges to other families.

Room Tip: We had Deluxe River Cabin - heaps of room for our family of 5!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wooli hotels
0.2 mi away
Solitary Islands Marine Park Resort
1.2 mi away
Wooli Serviced Apartments
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Wooli Holiday Units
#3 of 5 in Wooli
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooli River Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooli River Lodges

Address: 365 North St, Wooli, New South Wales 2462, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wooli
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Wooli
Price Range: $52 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wooli River Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wooli River Lodges provides a tranquil break for couples, families and groups. With 9 self-contained lodges and 1 house set on 2 acres of landscaped gardens, right on the Wooli Wooli River, a relaxing time is assured. All lodges sleep at least 5, and have a view of the river, pool and grassy area near the BBQ area. Being surrounded by national park and marine park, the environment is pristine and a large number and variety of birds and native animals frequent our gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wooli River Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing