We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Spend the day with an Ellie - completely ethical!

An amazing experience - you'll be in your elephant! No riding, chains or bullhoeks used here - the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Alex R
via mobile
An experience not to be missed !

My husband and I , with our 12 year old daughter spent the day here. When we arrived we were made... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
435charlie
,
Warwick, United Kingdom
Read all 343 reviews
  
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
301
28
4
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
28
4
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking lesson cooking class sri lankan family local school amazing experience the river cup of tea family home elephant dung mr ananda sri lankan food other places local family beautiful elephants lovely family coconut milk curry
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 343 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2017

Myself and two of my friends were travelling through Sri Lanka and got recommended by a friend to come stay at the Elephant Freedom Project. Already on arrival into the town we had a call from the owner to see if we were okay and directions on how to get there and if we need any help. We stayed for 5 nights and the became apart of the family. The family here are absolutely beautiful, so welcoming and we build such a strong relationship with them!!! We had amazing buffets three times a day and got absolutely spoilt, they even went out and got string hoppers because we said we wanted to try them. The program is so well set out and organised aswell to have a range of different activities to keep you engaged and excited with lovely tour guides. We were going to head back at the end of our trip to come see them before we went home but unfortunately due to distance and time we could not :( Would highly recommend this it will be an experience you will remember forever. Sending all my love to our second family.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Phoebej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

We have had a really nice (half) day at elephant freedom project. They have two elephants who have been used for riding, but now have a fabulous life without riding. We first washed the elephant in the rivier where he was cooling down and he was without chains. We went on walking with the elephant to some wooded areas where he could walk freely to have lunch. We really enjoyed the day and the people are very friendly. We like the initiative that they don’t ride the elephant. Thanks for the nice day!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Vincent v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

Everything was close to perfect. The warm family, the delicious food, the friendly mahoot, the amazing cook, the coordinators who are always going out of their way to cater to you and of course the playful Elephant, Nilame. I spent a week with the Elephant Freedom Project and I got to experience something different every day. This is the kind of elephant project that people should be involved in not the places that encourage riding and have chains over the elephants. It was such a joy seeing Nilame the elephant be at peace and being free. It was a privilege to be that close to him and be able to immerse myself in Sri Lankan culture as well.I will never forget the family, Mr Ananda, Ms Mali, daughter Shashini, the coordinator Kasun, the cook Lila and the mahoot who were always there to make this experience even more valuable and enjoyable than it already was. Thank you so much Elephant Freedom Project!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Jeeviii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

I think it's great that they take care of the elephant and treat him well. Also the food was superb and the host were really lovely! Thank you very much!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank KumarA677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017

Elephant Freedom Project appealed to us as it seemed to be the only organisation whereby the elephants are free to roam and are not ridden by visitors.

We were lucky enough to be the only people to arrive that day and we firstly took the elephant for a walk through the jungle. He seemed calm, content and at ease with his trainer. We followed this with a trip to the Elephant Dung Paper Factory and then came back to join the elephant in the river where we bathed him. Amazing to be so close to an elephant who seemed so content!

Would thoroughly recommend. The family & guides are so welcoming and excellent sources of information. Don't miss this!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Z2922ZJnataliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews