We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing and Humbling experience! ”

Elephant Freedom Project
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kegalle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visit us and experience a special elephant encounter which is suitable for young and old, families, couples and single travelers. This is your chance to get a memorable impression of a day in the life of a Sri Lankan captive elephant who is not being used for working nor riding. The small family run Elephant Freedom Project offers refuge, freedom from work and hardship to the elephant Nilame. At the project he is free from working in the riding industry and the wood logging. The Elephant Freedom Project aims to give Nilame a good and safe home, which is made possible thanks to your visit!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

Everything was close to perfect. The warm family, the delicious food, the friendly mahoot, the amazing cook, the coordinators who are always going out of their way to cater to you and of course the playful Elephant, Nilame. I spent a week with the Elephant Freedom Project and I got to experience something different every day. This is the kind of elephant project that people should be involved in not the places that encourage riding and have chains over the elephants. It was such a joy seeing Nilame the elephant be at peace and being free. It was a privilege to be that close to him and be able to immerse myself in Sri Lankan culture as well.I will never forget the family, Mr Ananda, Ms Mali, daughter Shashini, the coordinator Kasun, the cook Lila and the mahoot who were always there to make this experience even more valuable and enjoyable than it already was. Thank you so much Elephant Freedom Project!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Jeeviii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cooking lesson"
in 26 reviews
"cooking class"
in 19 reviews
"local school"
in 17 reviews
"sri lankan family"
in 14 reviews
"host family"
in 13 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 26 reviews
"the river"
in 104 reviews
"elephant dung"
in 22 reviews
"cup of tea"
in 8 reviews
"sri lankan food"
in 8 reviews
"mr ananda"
in 7 reviews
"other places"
in 15 reviews
"melon"
in 5 reviews
"local family"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful elephants"
in 10 reviews
"curries"
in 7 reviews
"lovely family"
in 5 reviews
Filter

121 - 125 of 360 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2017

I think it's great that they take care of the elephant and treat him well. Also the food was superb and the host were really lovely! Thank you very much!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank KumarA677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017

Elephant Freedom Project appealed to us as it seemed to be the only organisation whereby the elephants are free to roam and are not ridden by visitors.

We were lucky enough to be the only people to arrive that day and we firstly took the elephant for a walk through the jungle. He seemed calm, content and at ease with his trainer. We followed this with a trip to the Elephant Dung Paper Factory and then came back to join the elephant in the river where we bathed him. Amazing to be so close to an elephant who seemed so content!

Would thoroughly recommend. The family & guides are so welcoming and excellent sources of information. Don't miss this!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Z2922ZJnataliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017

The Elephant Freedom Project is a small family run affair which aims to provide a home for elephants that have been used in riding places, logging industry etc.
They currently have two elephants that you can interact with. This is a place where elephants are not chained or maltreated or made to perform for you. No elephant riding here.
It is an amazing privilege instead to spent time with an elephant previously badly treated commercially now unrestrained so it is an ethically great tourist spot. Anyone who wishes to see an elephant without concern for their welfare or feel you are there just to line the pockets of mahouts /owners, please go here.
My husband and I were the only two on our afternoon trip and our elephant was Nilame, a beautiful male elephant.
We were led down to the river where the elephant was bathing freely under the care of his mahout. No chains tethering him in the water as many places do.
We waded out and scrubbed him clean.... I can not describe what an amazing experience this was. We then walked with him through the jungle as he grazed, learning so much about elephants from our great guide Kasun. Kasun spoke excellent English and captured many great photos for us so we could interact with Nilame and not worry about capturing the moment.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Jane8364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

Really worth visiting! We are traveling with 2 kids (2 and 4 year old) during the walk with the elephant carried in a backsack not because of danger but because the youngest was a little bit scared but both loved it as we did! They are still talking about “our” friend the elephant

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank renske s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Freedom Project also viewed

 
Pinnawala, Sabaragamuwa Province
Peradeniya, Kandy District
 

Been to Elephant Freedom Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing