We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orsett Hall
Nearby Hotels
The Bell Inn Hotel(Horndon-on-the-Hill)
$105
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stifford Hall Hotel(North Stifford)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Thurrock Lakeside(Grays Thurrock)(Great Value!)
$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Thurrock M25(West Thurrock)(Great Value!)
$72
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$42
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$57
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis London Thurrock(Grays Thurrock)
$49
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granby Hotel(Northfleet)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveler rating
347
202
112
52
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
202
112
52
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacakesgarden roomspecial occasionwedding venuefrom start to finishmy mumbirthday treatfood was lovelyrun smoothlysunday lunchbeautiful groundsstaff were attentivedance floorwaiting staffbeefwedding reception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 756 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Thinking about a break at Orsett Hall?
If so, i offer you a few cautionary words;

DO NOT accept a booking for the fragrently named 'Rosemary lodge' unless you wish to pay £170.00 a night for a converted garage at the end of a dark, unlit drive, set quite far apart from the hotel (which they fail to inform you of when you make the booking.)

When we stayed in December 2012 'the lodge' (whose name i imagine is taken from the dying brown rosemary plant at the front of the lodge) was dusty everywhere, the shower was disgusting - mould on the edges and the drain and to top if all off we discovered it did not work!!
Although 4 of us had checked in we did not have the correct amount of towels, cups, milk etc.

Added to insult was the lack of a telephone - meaning every complaint had to have someone walk all the way over to the hotel in the cold and dark.

We also found reception staff uncaring, and they seemed to have no clue how to communicate with each other..

Although we were moved in to the hotel the next day it was not a nice start to our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsettHall, Marketing Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Many thanks for your comments which have been duly noted and fed back to our General Manager - feedback is very important to us. I do hope your visit improved when you moved back to the Hotel and that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This meal was for a special family celebration for fourteen, ages ranging from 2 to 97. The restaraunt decor is very pleasant, service acceptable but the menus leave a lot to be desired. Food was nouveau cuisine, roughly meaning very small portions at exorbitant prices. It was difficult to find something to suit everyone. The celebration cake that I ordered from the in house bakery was very basic, not at all what I had ordered and paid for. One thing I can recommend is the wine. After several bottles the memory of the miniscule meal faded and we left merry but hungry and will definitely not return.
The Wilson Party.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leolady17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsettHall, Marketing Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your food on your recent visit. We look at our menus all the time and have taken your comments on board as feedback is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at the hotel on valentines weekend. We started with afternoon tea at a set price of £16.50. The restaurant is decorated beautifully and we sat and looked out at the gardens. For dinner I didn't know what to expect as I have never been there before. The meals are gourmet, you have to remember to order sides with your main meal. I ordered the beef which was lovely but very rare, a side of vegetables, which turned out to be cauliflower cheese. Luckily my husband also ordered a small bowl of fancy chips which we shared. The dessert was very rich but also lovely. The hotel is very beautiful inside and out. The restutant staff were helpful. The room was very clean and fresh apart from a couple of stains on the carpet. The only down side was that we were kept awake til 12 by a party from the function room underneath us and the air conditioning was loud enough to keep me awake although my husband slept through it. When we reported this to the reception staff, they said they were sorry and that was all. A lot of money to be paid only to be kept awake most of the night. I would take my children for afternoon tea as a treat but would struggle to find something for them to eat on the menu.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsettHall, Marketing Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the loud air conditioning which has now been sorted. We are presently looking at Afternoon Teas and adapting them to cater for all guests and will look at what could be offered for children. We do hope that you return to Orsett Hall again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. It is very well decorated and extremely clean. The grounds are lovely and I am not at all surprised it is a popular wedding venue. I had a very comfortable stay here on business and would come back in an instant if I am in the area again either with work or on a personal trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsettHall, Marketing Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Orsett Hall is first and foremost a fantastic wedding venue, everything is geared up for weddings, from the rooms, to the grounds, the food and the staff. The wedding co-coordinators were great from start to finish, we had dealings with all 3 Sophie, Michelle and Alison and they all ensured everything ran smoothly, our day was perfect because of it. Leo, who is the general manager, was also a great help on the day, organising extra food when the evening buffet was running low (think we had some hungry guests!) and sorting out some issues we had with the reception drinks.

Food;
Although initially we were a little bit disappointed with our tasting menu the food we chose on the day was fantastic. So many of our guests commented on how good it was, the service was very quick and everyone had hot food on the plates in a timely manner.

Venue Room:
We chose the Pavilion due to the size as we had a reasonably large guest list. We decided to have the piano in the middle of the room during our wedding breakfast. which was Sophie's suggestion, and it really made it feel magical. The staff set up all of our table decorations and we asked that all the lights be turned down so just the fairy lights were on in the evening. It was beautiful. It didn't notice on the day but the room could do with a bit of a spruce up, when we visited prior to the wedding the floor was very scuffed and there were stains on the ceiling tiles above the dance floor. Some of the paint was also peeling from the pillars. Again, you probably wouldn't have noticed it on the day unless you were really looking but a venue like this should maintain it's rooms to a slightly higher standard.

Toastmaster;
Dennis was very entertaining and did an excellent job as our toastmaster, he moved our guests along firmly but politely and gave us a lovely speech at the end of our reception

Hotel;
We had one of the bridal suites (The Whelan) it looks a bit garish on the website but it’s gorgeous, the decor is fab and its massive! We had around 20 of the rooms booked up for family on the night and all of them said that their rooms were nice and comfortable.

The only parts that were a bit chaotic on the hotel side of things were Checking Out and Breakfast. As you can imagine at a wedding it is very likely that many of the guests will have the same surname, this caused a bit of grief when checking out trying to make sure that people were paying for the right rooms and deposits had been paid. Breakfast in the morning was also a bit disappointing, it is I would think to be expected that after a large wedding and with quite a few of the guests staying at the venue breakfast attendance will be 2 things, as close to the end as possible between (9.30am and 10am) and with most people arriving at the same time. The staff at breakfast really struggled to deal with the volume of people, getting the food out on time and getting the orders right. The staff seemed a bit flustered and a few were quite rude to people waiting for their meals. It would only take a bit more organisation to get this running more smoothly.

Overall this is a lovely wedding venue, they will cater to all of your needs and generally make the whole experience an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrsettHall, Marketing Manager at Orsett Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Many thanks for your review and your comments have been noted as feedback is very important to us. I will ensure that the Wedding Team and Leo are aware of your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews