We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
60
55
18
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
55
18
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hotel lake steamers third person lounging furniture internal stairs enviable position buffet breakfast lake view included in the room price lake constance central location wonderful room spoke english railway station old town balcony harbour
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 164 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile

We had a very nice one night stay here in a family suite. Parking is extra and is up the road in a underground car-park. This is actually good since our car had all our holiday stuff in it and bikes on the back.

The hotel is in a very good location on the front.

Breakfast was good. A buffet with waiter served coffee and hot chocolate for the kids.

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank LittleRobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

We spent two nights at the nice Lindauer Hof; our corner room 204 was comfortable with good beds, a sofa and though it did not have a view of the lake we were content as the neighbouring houses were at a distance. I'm normally picky about views...
First we had some difficulty finding the property, we did not quite believe that we were allowed to drive through the narrow lanes leading up to the hotel. Parking did not prove a problem, we could rent a space in the nearby garage where we were lead by a friendly staff member.
Breakfast was very nice and due to perfect weather we could enjoy both the food and the view outside on the terrace.
We had chosen this hotel for its location on the promenade and it's proximity to the train station from where we took the train to Bregenz and the Seebühne - we had come for the opera festival. The train takes 10 minutes and the fare was included in our opera tickets.

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Goldenbutterflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015

Firstly, if you are arriving by car do not follow sat nav, ours sent us the wrong way through narrow streets and it is much easier if you have proper directions.
We booked through booking.com and our room was small on the side of the hotel with a view of the harbour and pedestrian walkway, we did not have a balcony (few rooms have). The room was pleasant but was too hot even though the hotel provided a fan, there is no air conditioning.
I took the duvet out of the cover and used the cover as a top sheet, the pillows were also rather thin and flat.
We arrived on a Saturday after a long drive from Luxenbourg, we were looking forward to a relaxing weekend and had booked dinner on the hotel balcony restaurant.
We were aghast to find on arrival that Lindau had a music festival with a stage and band playing the boom boom type of music very loudly right in the harbour across from the hotel. This was in the afternoon and evening with more music being played round the corner at another venue. We were relieved when they took a break in the evening and we could actually talk but then it started up again. The hotel thought the music was on all weekend so we went on a boat trip round the lake on the Sunday to escape, only to find there was no music on the Sunday.
Lindau is a lovely place to stroll around unfortunately when we were there most of the shops were closed so I need to go again on a weekday! Perhaps next time we will go by train as there is a station a short walk from the hotels that are along the lake side.
We were very impressed by the hotel restaurant food and wines both were good value and excellent with friendly attentive service. Breakfast too was good, a buffet with plenty of choice and good service for coffee etc. This could be taken inside or out on the ground floor.
The hotel shares a car park with another hotel and is a short walk away.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can afford it, the rooms were small
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2015

I have stayed in this hotel a few times over the past 10 years and this is a nice hotel but a bit expensive. They can probably get away with charging relatively high prices due to the great location on the lake from at the lovely harbour in Lindau. In reality they are charging five star prices for a four start hotel. The management and staff are reasonably helpful but could make more of an effort to be friendly to guests. The rooms are of a very good standard and the terrace in front and the restaurant on the first floor are very pleasant. I have always enjoyed staying there and Lindau itself is a fantastic place, one of my favourite places in Eurpoe to visit.

Room Tip: Lake front rooms are more expensive and can get very warm even with the air conditioning which does help but isn't quite up to the job
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2015

The location is great adjacent to the harbour and close to the station. Check the view from the webcam on wetter.com. We booked five 4* hotels this trip. Lindauerhof was the most expensive, and overall the lowest quality. To me it's 3* tweaked to tick the boxes needed to qualify for 4*. Like the tables and chairs squeezed into odd corners probably meet the requirement for a lounge area, but nobody would really want to sit in these locations. We were told we could not sit in the restaurant when not eating.

On the positive side, we had a lovely big room with air con (the room info discourages you from using it), and one of the most practical shower rooms we have encountered. But it was subject to cooking smells (from a different hotel I think) and on warm nights the plastic under sheets were uncomfortable. I don't know if this is their standard practice, or whether they assume all wheelchair users are incontinent.

The hotel has two restaurants (hence no lounge area), one upmarket, the other mid range. However we found better quality and value elsewhere in Lindau

Breakfast was of a reasonable quality, but things seemed to run out early. Sometimes they would be supplied if you asked, sometimes it was just all gone. My first experience of a hotel running out of orange juice at breakfast!

Some of the staff were very helpful, whilst others clearly didn't seem to care. One waiter was adorable. Another seemed hostile. One receptionist agreed to make enquiries about a hire car - I'm still waiting. Another spent twenty minutes on the phone making train arrangements for us - thank you.

The bottom line is that with a location like this you don't have to try too hard and a lot of the time they don't.

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank nottoogrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews