We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location on Lindau Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Schreier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schreier
Ranked #7 of 21 Lindau B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location on Lindau Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel offers great value when compared with other waterfront hotels. The cafe at the front where breakfast is served looks out over the harbour. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful regarding advice about day trips and restaurants. We stayed during a very hot spell and the room was uncomfortable during the night. I later found that there is A/C available in other rooms.
Special thanks to Sabina for all the help and advice especially the recommendation for a restaurant called Wissingers, tucked away in a back street it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
16
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

We just spend 4 wonderful days/nights at the Hotel Schreier. We traveled by train and flew into/out of Zurich. The setting is lovely, a quaint village on an island in Lake Constance. This hotel is superb ... terrific breakfasts, rooms spotless and good sized, roomy bathrooms, very clean with great showers. The most important aspect, though, is a level of service unequalled in our European travels. Sabina and Natalie were the best hosts we have encountered in three decades of travel throughout Europe. They cater to every need you have and think of all the extras that make your stay special.

Other factors to consider about this hotel and Lindau:
hotel on waterfront, easy to find, in old town
hotel 4 minute walk from train station
nice restaurants nearby
excellent running/walking/biking paths
easy access to ferries and trains
stunning scenery everywhere
extremely nice local people

We highly recommend the Hotel Schreier. They check their emails daily and respond quickly to inquiries. Again, the hotel shows the time, effort, and dedication of Sabina and Natalie who will amaze you with the standards of excellence they have achieved.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justdoitCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Our lasting impression was much better than our first. The first thing I noticed was worn carpet on the stairs and a slightly funky odor. When we got up to our room, Cappuccino, the smell changed to that of air fresheners – also not a positive, as far as we’re concerned. In fairness, though, I should point out that I only noticed these smells right at first, so they weren’t horrible (but are the main reason why I’m not ranking it a 5).

The room itself is somewhat utilitarian looking, with a firm bed. (Europe seems not to have discovered pillow-top mattresses!) But the Cappuccino Room did have two big positives. One was its private terrace with a great view of the lion, especially pretty at night. The terrace was large enough for a table and chairs and a lounge chair.

The other big positive was the bathroom. It appeared to have been recently remodeled with some of the best faux stone tile I’ve ever seen, and halogen lighting that made everything sparkle. A built-in tile shelf provided a great place to put things above the sink area. A lot of thought went into designing that bathroom with travelers’ needs in mind. (FYI, it was shower only, no tub.)

The hotel doesn’t have a lobby or dedicated dining area. Breakfast was served at the attached café. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

Lindau itself was a breath of fresh air. It was our first night in Europe on this trip, and after the hectic activities that seem always to accompany getting away on vacation, it was so good to have this quiet, delightful town as a first stop. It was 9:00 p.m. before we got checked in and able to go to dinner, but the hotel’s location is perfect for walking to a number of tempting restaurants. We chose one with an unobstructed view of the lion and the lighthouse, and the full moon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScheckTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

What else could you deam of? A really cosy and confortable Boutique hotel, much better than all 5 star Hilton-like chains I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heletab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

This is an absolute gem of a hotel!

Husband and me were there 9/26 to 10/2/09. The staff can't do enough for you. Our room (Vanilla Room) was spacious and had a large terrace. We can't say enough good things about this hotel. The location is right on the Seestrasse Promenade and the view of the lake and harbor are spectacular. Complimentary breakfast buffet in their restaurant and on request will make your choice of eggs with your choice of sides such as ham. Included with the room was free high-speed internet. They have 3 parking slots, about a block away, which they will reserve for you. The bathroom was more than comfortable with a stall shower and towel warmer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydialiketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Thanks to previous reviewers, we stayed at this hotel, and it was even nicer and better-located than we expected. We got the pistachio room, which didn't have a view but was lovely and had a private sauna, which would have been great if we had been bicycling around the Bodensee as planned (it was pouring rain when we were to leave, so we rented a car). Of course, we liked our little tray of chocolates.
The buskers perform right across from the cafe, so in the evening we sat there and watched. The excursion boat leaves from there, too, so in the morning, when we heard the departure announcement, we just hopped on.
An added treat: There were several Nobel Prize laureates staying in the hotel, in town for the annual Nobel Week receptions! There was also a goofy "Flieger Fest'' on the harbor and a vintage-car show.
The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast buffet fantastic. We paid 134 Euros, including tax and parking -- a great deal, especially for a Saturday night on a big weekend.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seaburytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2009

The location of the hotel is excellent. The views to the lake and harbour are splendid. The rooms are decorated in a somewhat standard German business style, very functional and clean, yet the rooms also had balconies which was great for enjoying the view of the lake and to watch people go by. The beds and pillows were fine. The hotel did have wireless access in the rooms but no computer for puplic use. The front desk was never staffed, and you had to ring a bell to get attention. Someone was always close by. As it is a family-run hotel, everybody helps in all aspects of the hotel. Thus it did have a friendly charm about it. The hotel has a sauna, which we unfortunately did not use. Parking was not far away and by German standards not too expensive at 6 Euro per day. The location was also excellent in terms of walking around the old town. The old city hall is splendid. The breakfast was excellent, lots of variety and eggs were served fresh to ones liking. Doing a boat tour on the lake is also recommended. The hotel was relatively good value for money considering it was one of the cheaper options along the waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleLievie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#3 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#5 of 36 in Lindau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Garni Brugger
Hotel-Garni Brugger
#6 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#15 of 36 in Lindau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique - Hotel Adara
Boutique - Hotel Adara
#2 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schreier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schreier

Property: Hotel Schreier
Address: Faerbergasse 2, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schreier 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run hotel situated in the heart of the island town of Lindau, right on the famous lakeside promenade. Our unbeatable location and friendly service make Hotel Schreier ideal for a vacation or weekend getaway on beautiful Lake Constance. The lovingly furnished rooms offer plenty of peace and quiet views of the lake or the picturesque little park adjacent to the hotel. All rooms are non-smoking and offer a full range of modern amenities, i.e. an en suite bathroom (with shower/WC), minibar, hairdryer, telephone, radio and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Schreier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiscafe Schreier Am See Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing