We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better room would have helped a lot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel-Garni Brugger
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
289 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A better room would have helped a lot”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel appears to be made up of two separate units, one in front along the main road and one is back that is closer to the main town. Our room was in front, facing the main road. Because this is on an island, we thought that as the night wore on the traffic noise would go down, but it never did. I have no idea where all the cars and motorcycles were going. Without A/C, and during a very hot spell, we were stuck between noise and heat. Others have written about their great rooms, so it appears there is a big difference among options.

Certainly the best advantage was that the price was very good.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first as there seem to be many choices available. Beware of those facing the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    72
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
81
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindau
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great location within walking distance from the harbor and major attractions. The staff is extremely nice and very helpful. The decor is simple but the room is very clean, and the beds are very comfortable. It is not air conditioned so I could anticipate that later in the summer could get very hot and stuffy.
All in all a real find especially if you travel on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank PaulM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Garni Brugger in Lindau and it was a great experience. The room is spacious enough for 4 adults, comfortable beds and all other emenities needed .
We have never ran into such friendly, kind and warm people as the owners, Evelyn and Ervin Brugger, and we have travled a lot. They went out of their way to meet any request we had, especially vegetables at breakfast which you rarely see at breakfast in Europe.
The hotel is very close to the pedestrian zone and the lake, and of course the parking lot ( only a short walk) which is very important.
The Bruggers know a lot about tourist attractions around lake konstanz and other tourist sites in the close surrowndings and they provide their guests with plenty of tips and instructions that ease planing and travelling.
If I ever come back to lake konstanz and Lindau, I would definatley stay at Hotel Garni Brugger.
Yoefa Brownstein, Israel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosefa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Well our kids were just born in the winter and we had to find a place to spend Easter with them. Lindau is a wonderful place but finding accomodation that fitted budget and the needs of 4 adults and two newborn infants can be tricky.

But, not will this quaint till pension haus run by the Brugger family. Yes it is not near the station and not with the breaktaking views of the lake and mountains, but we got a large family room with all amenities that made our stay quite comfortable.

It is actually a large house furnished in a homely manner with the lady Mrs Brugger mostly running the show. She is worked round the clock starting by arranging breakfast in the morning. She took special care because of our kids and even gifted a book which I happened to like from one of the common shelves.

Location wise, if you take a turn after coming out and you reach the lake where you can take a leisurely stroll at your pleasure or take the ferry on the Lake Konstanz.

Overall it might not be the most luxurious hotels, but is warm, cosy and friendly for the situation we were in.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Yes is not one of the beautiful hotels in front of the lake but the price is fantastic and location is not bad at all, clean and basic, great breakfast and if people make places this is a great one as the staff were terrific, friendly, helpfull, attentive and professional.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I booked two rooms and both were next to a main road which was busy with traffic all night long - not what you'd expect from the description of the hotel or indeed the island. Not the best location. I parked my car in their rather scary carpark where you park in a lift & then move car up or down - not for the faint-hearted or large vehicles! Rooms were bare & a bit pokey. On the good side, staff were lovely & friendly, breakfast sparse but adequate, and cheap rates (so can't complain too much). Lindau is a pretty town with a good Xmas market early December in the harbour which was beautiful in the snow.

Room Tip: NOT at the front on the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids-9&6 yrs) stayed in the "family suite". It was perfect! One very large room with one queen and two double beds. The breakfasts were fantastic. The family/owners were very helpful and went out of their way. The location was great. Walking distance to all of Lindau. The cost was very resonable. An outstanding value! A family, or anyone, could not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichStat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#26 of 36 in Lindau
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#5 of 36 in Lindau
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique - Hotel Adara
Boutique - Hotel Adara
#3 of 36 in Lindau
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
0.4 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#14 of 36 in Lindau
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Garni Brugger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Garni Brugger

Property: Hotel-Garni Brugger
Address: Bei der Heidenmauer 11, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Garni Brugger 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In order to give you an idea of the impression we wish to create, we guarantee that you will be personally greeted by the family Brugger. During your whole stay your time with us will be a memorable experience. Our hotel is part of the historical heart of the old town in Lindau. It has been lovingly restored and offers you a beautiful home during your stay with us. We have a pleasant breakfast room, bright conservatory and a Wellness area. ( Closed to the month June, July and August ) In addition to our relaxing, comfortable, cosy rooms; there is a possibility of a stroll around town, cycling and walking trips or a visit to the fairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel-Garni Brugger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garni Brugger
Garni Brugger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing