We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Lake Oldstyle”
Review of Hotel Bad Schachen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bad Schachen
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Yes a classic Hotel on the sea. If you want to be on the lake and swim,walk and relax this is the right place. Location location on Lake Constance.
Rooms all have a relatively a good view.
The park is well kept and with Dogs great to take them for a walk.
Cuisuine. Very good yet a little on the expensive side but sitting on the Terrace and looking out on the mountains is worth every euro cent.
Service. Very friendly and curtious even down to the Cleaning ladies for the rooms.
Wellness. The Sauna and Pool plus the ability to swim outdoors is very relaxing.
Highly recommended when the weather is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olaf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bad Schachen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 315 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very old fashioned Hotel in a beautiful surrounding . This our second visit. We came back as we wanted a place to rest from a a very hectic week. The sound of the water lapping, the walks in the adjacent woods and apple pear orchards was magical. Excellent indoor swimming pool and sauna and Spa. Swimming in the lake if 24 deg water temperature is your thing. Excellent buffet breakfast. Homely dispite the size. Rooms small but excellent beds . Direct exclusive boat service to the Bregens festival. Reception staff sometimes a bit cold. Recommended for those who look for a quite and relaxing break without unnecessary glitter.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Concordia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We've stayed here several times over the last decade. The hotel has a great location, at the Bodensee, which means you can have all your meals outside (weather permitting of course), whilst enjoying the view of the lake. There is an outside pool, which is also open to the general public so quite crowded. There is also an inside pool now, with an outside lawn, which is much more enjoyable. Service is good, staff all speak English. Wifi is free of charge. The rooms are nice, most with a view on the lake, but bathrooms are absolutely tiny and very old fashioned (one sink, no mixed tabs, no separate shower). The food is very good too. If you go to the Bregenzer Festspiele, they do a superb buffet at 6pm so that you can catch the boat straight from the hotel to the Festspiele at 8pm. For the Bregenzer Festspiele, this is our preferred hotel by far, although prices are skyhigh (almost €300 for a double room with lake view).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is all by itself so you have to drive if you want to leave. We has our kids with us and the place is not kid-friendly. We didn't use the pools, it was too cold for the outdoor one and the indoor pool was closed. Nevertheless, notices in the room told us not to let our kids jump in the pool. We went to the restaurant for dinner and were put by ourselves in a separate restaurant down the hall, maybe because we had kids? Anyway the service at that meal was the worst we had the whole vacation. I don't even want to go into it, it was just ridiculous. The large balcony off our room had a stunning view of the Bodensee. Was that enough to make up for the rest? Maybe.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoopyhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

If you dont like to be told what to do when you are on holiday, dont go here. I was told discrete... while I was talking to my sick mother in the telephone, that it not looked very nice that a bird was trying to eat at the rest of my cake... I told him that it was not my bird. This was after he had told me that he did not serve on the terrace.
Bad beds - dusins of flies in the room - very high temperature in the room
- But worst is the bad atmosfere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kenneth_Norway_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A truly elegant hotel set in a beautiful location with views of the snow capped Alps. Had an evening meal in the main restaurant, of the finest quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyWorldWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadSchachen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Bad Schachen, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your positiv rating. We would be happy to welcome again in the future. Have a good time.
Sincerely yours,
Hotel Bad Schachen
Jacqueline Reifschläger
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a large, luxurious 5* on Lake Konstanz by the picturesque town of Lindau. Wonderful views of the lake from most rooms, which are comfortable and well appointed. Excellent breakfast and there are several restaurants (slow service). Acres of gardens and a huge spa on site. A black mark for bar food after 10p.m. and reception staff not all well-informed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8291em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadSchachen, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Bad Schachen, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your positiv rating. We would be happy to welcome again in the future. Have a good time.
Sincerely yours,
Hotel Bad Schachen
Jacqueline Reifschläger
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindau hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#4 of 36 in Lindau
356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#32 of 36 in Lindau
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bad Schachen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bad Schachen

Address: Bad Schachen 1, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lindau
Price Range: $208 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bad Schachen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1752 and still owned and managed by the same family, the beautiful Hotel Bad Schachen was painstakingly rebuilt in 1906, faithfully embracing the Belle Epoque style. The hotel is idyllically situated in its own park, which leads directly to the shores of Lake Constance. Stunning views across the lake to the medieval island town of Lindau are afforded. An attractive outdoor pool on the lakefront and the new spa are the perfect places for recreation and wellbeeing. Indeed, the entire region's exceptional beauty and supreme tranquility make this a uniquely charming Bavarian summer retreat.125 guestrooms including 4 suites, in elegant and comfortable surroundings, mostly with balconies, thoughtful touches throughout, and every modern convenience. Most rooms face the lake, with glorious views across the water to the Swiss and Austrian Alps beyond.Spa and wellness center with beauty treatments, massage, fitness gym, saunas and steambath. 1920s-style outdoor pool, 2 clay tennis courts, a host of water sports on the lake (boat rentals, sailing and windsurfing), 2 beautiful nearby golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bad Schachen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Schachen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing