We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Only Place to Stay in Lindau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Only Place to Stay in Lindau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Okay, maybe there are other good places to stay, but I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel: Fantastic location, great room, comfortable beds, terrific staff, excellent breakfasts, overall wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Beg for a harbor/lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    85
    44
    17
    8
See reviews for
55
137
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
888 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,449 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We drove for several hours thru San Bernardino Valley to reach this hotel In Lindau. We just left Prague, where we had an amazing stay in hotel Aria and our trip thru Europe was winding down.I was very excited when we pulled up to the hotel . It looks very nice, and the location on the beautiful lake Constance is perfect.There is also parking available. (Very important to us on this trip). They have a beautiful entrance but there was no one there to help with the luggage or tell us where to park the car(self parking). All minor stuff, but first impressions are important.The hotel inside was beautiful, old world charm with crystal chandeliers, but light and airy at the same time. We were only staying one night, leaving the hotel next day after breakfast for the last leg of our trip to Milano. That is why we did not book a room with the lake view. It did not seem worth it, because we knew we would basically just sleep over and spent all our time exploring the very charming town of Lindau. Our room was a total surprise and not in a good way! As we entered,there was an odor out of the bathroom which was right at the entrance to the room. It looked like a motel room from the seventies and it was even more shocking, because everything else about the hotel was so beautiful. However it seemed clean with nice white bedding and the"non view" did not matter. We left for dinner, since they had no room in the dining room with the lake view for us, but there are plenty of places to have dinner on the lake in a walking distance. When we returned from dinner, the strong odor was still in the room, even with the window left open. At this point, I decided to request a room change, because it smelled very much like mold and I have asthma. It was handled promptly and the room we were given was beautiful, (remodeled),with a fresh smelling bathroom. I could not believe the difference and later found out, that the price difference was only about 20 euro. Our original rate was about 200euro. I spoke to the hotel manager in the morning,who graciously acknowledged the situation and did not charge us for the"upgrade ". I would have gladly paid the slightly higher rate, had I known ahead of time! That room should not have been given to any guest !
The buffet breakfast was included in our rate and was one of the better ones we had on our trip. Beautifully layed out large selection in a beautiful sunny and spacious dining room.
I have very mixed feelings about this place and feel, that we were given this room, because we were just passing thru and would not complain and even though it was handled, it still leaves an unpleasant memory.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a remodeled room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

NEAR perfect (!) As one my expect from a hotel in this price- and class category most matters were perfectly in order. Friendly (though a bit robotic) staff at the reception. Our room was well serviced and adequately equipped, be it that the bathroom was rather small and lacked for example a bidet or a proper shower cabin. (We stayed at the 3rd floor harbor side). The restaurant offers good food but is overpriced for what they serve. However, that should be no problem because there are plenty decent restaurants in the vicinity. (The restaurants along side at Hotel Reutemann and Seegarten are belonging to Bayerische Hof). The breakfast-buffet is excellent and the waiters go out of their way to accommodate the guests and this with a big smile! NOT SO PERFECT was the experience with WLAN. It was a near torture to go and stay online. The management seems to be semi paranoid about security and has figured out an agonizing log-in procedure. In addition every time one moves from one location to the other (for example from the room to the lobby or from the restaurant to the reception) the system disconnects and one has to repeat the log-in torment (!) Really irritating is the fact that the management (Herr doctor himself ;-), is in an automatic denial mode and assumes the "guest" is by definition an ignorant and or has inadequate or outdated equipment ! Neither of our three Apple-devices worked the WLAN properly! In addition, we overheard several other guests complaining about the same phoneme. The Bayerische Hof might like to consider to synchronize all relevant access-points (and amplifiers) for continues WLAN connection. If it has to be, better charge a fee and make the system work as it should be. As it's now I would absolutely not recommend this hotel (nor hotel Reutemann and Seegarten) as a place for conferencing.

Room Tip: Front, i.e. harbor side or poolside. During the high season it's better to have a room at the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joponr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend at end of June 2013. Booked through web link and got a very good deal. Was not disappointed in the hotel, everything was enjoyable. The staff at the reception were most accommodating friendly and switched to speak English when I attempted my phrase book German. The furnishings and decoration top class, spotless room with large beautiful bedroom and bathroom. We, a couple, booked a standard double and were well pleased. Well appointed, comfortable bed, relaxing sofa chairs and free bottled water on arrival. Slept well with no noise outside. Airconditioning in the bedroom,, which was welcome as Lindau can get very hot in summer. Breakfast . . everything you would require, fruit, cereals, yogurt, cooked eggs, breads, cheeses, meats, teas, coffees. Great choice. Hotel beside the Lake and cruise boats and across from the train and bus station. Would recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor and was very quiet, it overlooked the train station square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in Lindau for one night only and decided to stretch the budget to stay on the island and enjoy the stay. This hotel was amazing. The location was great, right on the promenade and over the road from the train station. The hotel also has parking, which we booked in advance. The reception were lovely.
The room was palacial. The bed was really comfortable and we had great sleep. The hotel has a really nice outdoor pool. The included breakfast was amazing. It wasn't cheap at 210 Euro for the night, but it was worth it. If you go to Lindau for one night like we did, there's no point being off the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimiChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Right on the harbour overlooking the lighthouse and lion, I could not imagine a better position for your stay. Could not find anything at all to fault about this hotel. The breakfast was so fresh, in fact anything that you could want. Despite the 63rd Lindau Nobel Laureate being on in the hotel while we were there it did not inhibit on our stay at the hotel at all. Without a second thought would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felixeile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Right next to the railway station and on the waterfront. Location could not be better.
Great staff and food. The selection of local wines and fish was especially memorable.
The hotel obviously works hand to ensure all the small detail are attended to. It looks like the owners are personally involved and they own 2 adjacent properties, both of which look equally well cared for. There is much evidence of continued investment and it looks like another new extension will be constructed in the quiet period this autumn.
Looking forward to returning some day.

Room Tip: Great front rooms overlooking the lake but be prepared for some noise from the hotel's bar below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.3 mi away
Boutique - Hotel Adara
Boutique - Hotel Adara
#2 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#3 of 36 in Lindau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bad Schachen
Hotel Bad Schachen
#9 of 36 in Lindau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindauer Hof
Lindauer Hof
#26 of 36 in Lindau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
0.0 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#18 of 36 in Lindau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Property: Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Address: Bahnhofplatz 2 (Seepromenade), 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 5-star Hotel Bayerischer Hof on the Isle of Lindau. Since 1854 travelers from all over the world have come to enjoy this unmatched view of Lake Constance to the Swiss and Austrian Alps. With 97 elegantly and individually furnished rooms and suites, Bayerischer Hof offers all conveniences of a modern first-class-hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing