We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two days as part of a tour group. The hotel is very nice. Large room and bathroom. Beds were clean and comfortable. The Xmas market is right next door. The location of the hotel is great. Right across the street from the lake with lovely views. It's a short walk into the main town area. The breakfast buffet was good, nothing special. the staff was very helpful and friendly and spoke English very well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquaducktres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 373 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had bad customer service from check-in to check-out. I just spent one month in Italy, Switzerland and Germany and can honestly say this was the worst customer service we had and is the worst review I will write. At check-in we put in rooms and then told our double rooms were for just one person and we would have to pay more. After some negotiations, we were changed to lesser rooms, but at a higher price. We were told breakfast was NOT included in the price. We walked all over town the first morning looking for breakfast and ended up eating pastries in town because breakfast was so expensive at the hotel. The second morning we paid for pastries and coffee at the hotel (again after asking if breakfast was included). At check-out we were charged 30 euros per day for breakfast! When we complained the receptionist was very rude and arguable. Finally the charge was taken off. However, the charge was put back on our credit card after we left and we had to contact Visa to dispute the charges. The rooms were nice but not worth the bad taste left in our mouths from the poor customer service. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Norenecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Beautiful hotel and a great location...however...
We had problems from the minute we arrived. We traveled through Europe for a month and stayed in 11 different hotels without any problems. We are also seasoned travelers and very easy going. We booked 2 double rooms on Booking.com. When we got to the hotel they informed us that the double room we booked was for 1 person, not 2 as I had thought and would have to charge us extra for the extra person. They blamed Booking.com and said they always have problems with them. We have NEVER had a problem with Booking.com, that is why we book through them. They gave us a better rate than they had first quoted because we were going to walk out. We asked if breakfast was included and the girl at the front desk said "Not at that price". When we booked it said it included breakfast. The following morning my brother in law asked again if breakfast was included and once again he was told it was not. So every morning the 4 of us went out into town to have breakfast elsewhere. When we checked out we were informed that we were being charged $30.00 euros per room per day for breakfast. When we told them that we were told breakfast was NOT included for that price, she basically said that was not ture. Finally she agreed to take the charge off our bill. When we got back to the states they had indeed ADDED the charges to our bill $117.67 USD. We then received a letter f rom the hotel telliing us that the front desk person did tell us breakfast was included, which is FALSE. I would NOT trust this hotel nor recommend it to anyone who is staying in Lindau.
This is also NOT a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carolemotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We made arrangements to stay here to decompress from our flight.........and could not have made a better choice....who needs a porter, when the hotel is right across from the trainstation...but even then we needed a bit of help and all we had ot do is ask and there was someone from the staff to assist us with luggage. We booked a lake view room and were not disappointed.........yes, it is not a luxury hotel in the contemporary sense, but we felt as if we stepped back in time........and Lindau and the hotel gave us the relaxation we were looking for after a long flight and subsequent train.......the cafe was the perfect place for people watching, and once all the tourist buses left town we enjoyed quiet walks in town and along the lake. Our balcony overlooked the harbor and the scenery could not have been better........Next time we go here we will stay longer....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have seen mixed reviews, but we had a great stay in a lake view room which was reasonably spacious and yes, maybe not a 5 star in the 'name' brands style, but it's location and the actual lovely town of Lindau covered for any other perceived shortcomings. We had Lindau and the hotel recommended by a German friend when we mentioned we were looking for a scenic, relaxing half way point on our way to the Austrian Alps. Lindau is just such a place and the hotel does have all the small intimate lake front tea/coffee shops in close proximity which appealed to us. The service was first class during our stay, and just a quick note on the lack of a porter - we have just done a 3 month European, 10 country holiday, staying mainly at 4 star & a couple of 5 star hotels and only had a porter at the Grande Bretagne Hotel in Athens - none anywhere else sadly. Possibly a world wide hotels cost cutting policy !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevWolllongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lindau is a beautiful, historic town with views overlooking the unique harbour, lake and mountains. Bayerischer Hof occupies the prime position in an picture postcard location.
We were warmly welcomed and given a stunning large room/suite on the top floor with a large balcony and the most enchanting view we have ever experienced.
The hotel itself felt very much a throwback to a bygone era but with modern conveniences and standards. Our only gripe was free internet access limited to 1 hour although this was extended when we objected. As other reviewers have said, this is possibly not a 5* hotel but it does not charge 5* prices either. We, too, found no doorman and no parking assistance but for us, travelling light but in a group, there was a certain freedom afforded by the lack of pressure.
We stayed one night only. We wish it had been more and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjoike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Delusions of grandeur -- that's what this place has. Not to say that it's a bad hotel -- it really isn't -- but don't be deceived. It is not a 5-star hotel by even the greatest stretch of one's imagination. It is nice, to be sure, but that's about all that can be said for it.

We had a junior suite on the second floor overlooking the harbor, and its loooong balcony (more of tiled, covered terrace, actually) was quite pleasant, as was the great view. It was a very large two-room affair, though the separation of the rooms was via a nice curtain rather than a wall with some French doors. Bathroom fixtures were just ok -- a little freshening up here would be appreciated.

It is just across the street from the train station, which is a plus in an odd way -- if you're in need of a cold drink late at night, there's a little shop there that stays open late. There's also a nice coffee and pastry shop right on the street, so you can pick up a cup of good coffee and stroll along the waterfront in the morning. Alas, the pastries don't live up to their beauty.

Parking was in a little alley behind the hotel, where there's both an underground garage and a very tight parking deck.

Lindau itself is just ok, too. Far nicer is Meersburg, just a few kilometers away to the west. It has the added advantage of having a beautiful old castle one can tour in its entirety, right in town. I'd highly recommend it. Plus the town of Meersburg has far more old quaint charm -- Lindau's primary pedestrian walkway is high on commercial shops and short on charm by comparison.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite with a lakeside view -- you'll be very glad you did. It does make your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WheelsOnFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
376 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lindauer Hof
Hotel Lindauer Hof
#19 of 36 in Lindau
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Star Hotel Lindau
0.3 mi away
Adara Boutique  Hotel
Adara Boutique Hotel
#4 of 36 in Lindau
144 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Address: Bahnhofplatz 2, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range: $198 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 5-star Hotel Bayerischer Hof on the Isle of Lindau. Since 1854 travelers from all over the world have come to enjoy this unmatched view of Lake Constance to the Swiss and Austrian Alps. With 97 elegantly and individually furnished rooms and suites, Bayerischer Hof offers all conveniences of a modern first-class-hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing