We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious Without Reason”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Delusions of grandeur -- that's what this place has. Not to say that it's a bad hotel -- it really isn't -- but don't be deceived. It is not a 5-star hotel by even the greatest stretch of one's imagination. It is nice, to be sure, but that's about all that can be said for it.

We had a junior suite on the second floor overlooking the harbor, and its loooong balcony (more of tiled, covered terrace, actually) was quite pleasant, as was the great view. It was a very large two-room affair, though the separation of the rooms was via a nice curtain rather than a wall with some French doors. Bathroom fixtures were just ok -- a little freshening up here would be appreciated.

It is just across the street from the train station, which is a plus in an odd way -- if you're in need of a cold drink late at night, there's a little shop there that stays open late. There's also a nice coffee and pastry shop right on the street, so you can pick up a cup of good coffee and stroll along the waterfront in the morning. Alas, the pastries don't live up to their beauty.

Parking was in a little alley behind the hotel, where there's both an underground garage and a very tight parking deck.

Lindau itself is just ok, too. Far nicer is Meersburg, just a few kilometers away to the west. It has the added advantage of having a beautiful old castle one can tour in its entirety, right in town. I'd highly recommend it. Plus the town of Meersburg has far more old quaint charm -- Lindau's primary pedestrian walkway is high on commercial shops and short on charm by comparison.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite with a lakeside view -- you'll be very glad you did. It does make your stay...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WheelsOnFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bayerischer Hof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 356 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is the first bad review I have ever written. Worst 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in. Arrived to the hotel to no doorman no bag collection. No one to help with car. Got given 2 rooms at back of hotel facing hotel depot/ Cleaning and truck trolleys noise late into night and again early morning. Was forced to keep windows open as rooms were so hot. Breakfast was way below acceptable. We spent 2 weeks travelling around Germany and Switzerland all in 5 star hotels and this stood out for all the wrong reasons. Hotel felt very dated and staff not at all concerned about their guests. Overall a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice hotel in the beautiful Lindau.
Location is fantastic with a great view of the harbour and the city.
Stayed there for just one night and it was a pity it was raining a lot.
Walking distance to the shops in the downtown area.
Would definitely like to return someday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilliRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were there during business trip. Location is exceptional - just across the main gate on the lake and on the promenade. Food is also very good - we had there breakfast and lunch and have to say that was very tasty and creative. Staff was very helpful, proactive and always available. Hotel provide internet access: free of charge for 1h or paid for longer time. Rooms are very clean and rather big. Air conditioning provided in the rooms. The only issue which my friends had in the rooms from the side of promenade was noise during the night when they kept open window.

Room Tip: from the side of pool is less noise
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jw23_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had 2 couples and my wife and I staying at the Bayerischer Hof for 2 nights which we booked our room 6 months in advance. When we arrived our friends had their rooms and we were told that we had been booked into their other hotel next door. They blamed their website saying we must have selected the wrong hotel. My wife had sent several emails to the Bayerischer Hof and was never told that we were not registered there. Our friends booked through a travel agent based on the information we provided them that we used to book our room. They told us there were no rooms available so we had to stay at the other hotel. We could not have breakfast with our friends since we were in a different hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your confirmation is the hotel you seem to have booked.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vsdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Booked this expensive hotel on July 9 and arrived after dark. The night clerk was very helpful, assuring me I could have a late checkout. The hammering on the door to leave started and was repeated every 20 minutes starting at 11 AM, despite my protests and a do not distrub sign being posted. The day desk clerks were rude and unhelpful. Internet service is expensive and spotty. The hotel has an 8 Euro surface lot and a 12 Euro garage, but you cannot use the surface lot after dark even if it is 3/4 empty.

No air conditioning, not really an issue with a hotel of this category but at this price level? Limited bath amenties. Restaurant closed 10 minutes early one night, sending me into the street.

Good beds, excellent view, nice furnishings, 100 feet walking to both the train station and the ferry landing but still quiet enough.

Excellent breakfast.

They really need a day staff worthy of the facilities they have.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenlyon2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Located right across the street from the train station and the lake harbor the location couldn't be anymore convenient. Quite comfortable and spacious rooms. Restaurant served our tour group a wonderful 3-course meal - very delicious. A pricey place, but fine accommodations for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bad Schachen
Hotel Bad Schachen
#9 of 36 in Lindau
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant VILLINO
0.1 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#32 of 36 in Lindau
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Address: Bahnhofplatz 2, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range: $207 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our 5-star Hotel Bayerischer Hof on the Isle of Lindau. Since 1854 travelers from all over the world have come to enjoy this unmatched view of Lake Constance to the Swiss and Austrian Alps. With 97 elegantly and individually furnished rooms and suites, Bayerischer Hof offers all conveniences of a modern first-class-hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing