We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do you start???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gasthof Stift
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The island town of Lindau is beautiful and the Hotel is right in the centre with good access to the town and all it has to offer. The hotel is several minutes walk from the railway station over cobbled streets, making pulling a suitcase difficult so taking a taxi is the easiest option.
The hotel is very basic. The 'twin' room we had was very small with two separate fixed wooded beds on different walls at 90 degrees to each other. The bathroom was more like a cupboard, albeit adequate for two nights (just). Our friends who had a double room (which was actually two single beds pushed together) were also disappointed with the quality of their room. We found the reception unstaffed most of the time and had to go into the kitchen area to try to find someone to speak to.
Anyone considering booking a room here should be aware that there is no lift and so you have to carry all your luggage up the stairs, which isn't easy, especially for elderly guests on the top floor.
To sum this hotel up in one word, I would say - disappointing.
DL

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you book in, it is clear they vary greatly in size and layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Old hotel in the heart of the Old Town a few minues walk from the quayside.
Rooms are adequate, furnishings a lttle dated, however this suits this particular type of hotel.
Reception staff a little aloof but that may be the German way.
Breakfast was good with a very attentive young waiter who made sure that we had everything we asked for without delay.
Evening meal was nothing to write home about, but portion size was good
Would I stay here again??? Yes

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin504164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

An idyllic location súrrounded by cobbled stones.... churches (and bells!).... lots of places to eat and shops nearby.
Room (single) was basic, but clean. Could not complain about quality of bed or breakfast.
Bathroom very basic, again clean.

Room Tip: Be prepared for church bells , although this is normal for Germany !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Germany63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We arrived in Lindau after riding about 300 miles from Baden-Baden and were looking for a central hotel, so we called into the tourist office who quickly located Hotel Gasthof Stift with two en-suite double rooms B&B at €79 (about £65). We were there within 5 monutes and one of the staff showed us where to park the bikes at the back of the hotel so they were safe.

Its was very centrally located in a lovely square and only about 2 minutes walk from the main street and 5 minutes from the harbour area.

The rooms were a good size and lovely and clean. Once we'd freshened up we did some sightseeing around Lindau and then went to a restaurant recommended by the hotel owner, which turned out to be very nice indeed and only about 2 minutes form the hotel. When we got back later that night, we found there was a bar open on the lower floor so we could have a late night drink.

Breakfasat was continental / buffet style and was very nice and plenty available. Our host then spent some time going through our maps and showing us some of the great roads into Austria.

Highly recommended for any bikers who want a nice hotel, centrally located, reasonably priced and with ffiendly hosts.

Room Tip: ask the owner - very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall-IOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed with a friend for one night in the offseason. The location is in the heart of the old town on the island. Our room was a nice, roomy traditional looking room. There were complimentary cans of the local apple spritzer. We were the only guests that night.

The breakfast spread was good as they pulled out all the stops for us. Since it was rainy I hung around the breakfast table until around noon. They let us continue to eat and drink. When the rain ended and we wanted to wander the town, I asked them for a late checkout. They said we could stay as late as we wanted. All and all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Positive points: This hotel is very nicely situated in the heart of Lindau Island. It offers a nice breakfast, with the possibility to sit outside in its terrace. My room was very small, but it was probably one of the smallest in the hotel - an individual room. Double rooms, as one of my colleagues' room, were more spacy.

Negative points: The decoration and infrastructure are quite old, and the carpet on the floor quite uncomfortable in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I and from India and I had stayed in Gasthoft Stift Hotel for the Lindau Nobel Meet. It was a good experience and the reception person (Mark) was indeed helpful. Rooms are also comfortable with basic amenities. However, some of the reception staff do not speak English and my family had a tough time connecting with me when they called from India.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akash1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.6 mi away
Maxhotel Lindau
Maxhotel Lindau
#20 of 36 in Lindau
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Viktoria
Hotel Garni Viktoria
#25 of 36 in Lindau
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Star Hotel Lindau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lindauer Hof
Hotel Lindauer Hof
#19 of 36 in Lindau
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Insel-Hotel Lindau
Insel-Hotel Lindau
#27 of 36 in Lindau
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Stift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Stift

Address: Stiftsplatz 1, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range: $116 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gasthof Stift 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is our specialtyThis hotel has its own personality and sets high standards for itself. It is protected as a historical monument, and at the same time equipped to modern standards so that it corresponds perfectly to the demands of new guests and regular visitors.We reached this balance between modernism and an important history with pleasure and a light heart.The hotel’s situation in the center of the island is ideal and an easy starting point for a boat or bicycle trip, or even a romantic shopping trip in the old town center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Stift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing