We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gasthof Stift
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We arrived in Lindau after riding about 300 miles from Baden-Baden and were looking for a central hotel, so we called into the tourist office who quickly located Hotel Gasthof Stift with two en-suite double rooms B&B at €79 (about £65). We were there within 5 monutes and one of the staff showed us where to park the bikes at the back of the hotel so they were safe.

Its was very centrally located in a lovely square and only about 2 minutes walk from the main street and 5 minutes from the harbour area.

The rooms were a good size and lovely and clean. Once we'd freshened up we did some sightseeing around Lindau and then went to a restaurant recommended by the hotel owner, which turned out to be very nice indeed and only about 2 minutes form the hotel. When we got back later that night, we found there was a bar open on the lower floor so we could have a late night drink.

Breakfasat was continental / buffet style and was very nice and plenty available. Our host then spent some time going through our maps and showing us some of the great roads into Austria.

Highly recommended for any bikers who want a nice hotel, centrally located, reasonably priced and with ffiendly hosts.

Room Tip: ask the owner - very helpful
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall-IOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gasthof Stift
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 97 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed with a friend for one night in the offseason. The location is in the heart of the old town on the island. Our room was a nice, roomy traditional looking room. There were complimentary cans of the local apple spritzer. We were the only guests that night.

The breakfast spread was good as they pulled out all the stops for us. Since it was rainy I hung around the breakfast table until around noon. They let us continue to eat and drink. When the rain ended and we wanted to wander the town, I asked them for a late checkout. They said we could stay as late as we wanted. All and all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Positive points: This hotel is very nicely situated in the heart of Lindau Island. It offers a nice breakfast, with the possibility to sit outside in its terrace. My room was very small, but it was probably one of the smallest in the hotel - an individual room. Double rooms, as one of my colleagues' room, were more spacy.

Negative points: The decoration and infrastructure are quite old, and the carpet on the floor quite uncomfortable in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I and from India and I had stayed in Gasthoft Stift Hotel for the Lindau Nobel Meet. It was a good experience and the reception person (Mark) was indeed helpful. Rooms are also comfortable with basic amenities. However, some of the reception staff do not speak English and my family had a tough time connecting with me when they called from India.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akash1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a lovely hotel, wonderfully sited in the center of Lindau, and very affordable. My room was charming and efficient, and the staff was great. I was reluctant to leave. The only drawback is the lack of parking, which in this crowded little town is challenging.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfsteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The rooms are cleans and you have enough space. All the rooms have a view on a cobbled place where you have a small market on saturday.

The style of the Gasthof is very charming and typical.

You have a german pub in the basement of the Gasthof where you can drink good beers and dance. No problem to sleep, the basement is well soundproofed.

The rates are not too expensive, so I recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niels_olsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights, with our mother in law. The island itself is stunning (the cliches are true) and the Hotel Stift had a spot in a historic building overlooking a square in which there is a twice weekly market.

We were in a large room overlooking the square, with double bed and sofa, which we loved. It was clean and comfortable, with none of the stained floors and exposed neon tubes mentioned in other reviews.

The problems with staffing persist, and the lady owner seems to run the place single handedly, putting in daily 24hr shifts. This does leave reception unmanned, but if you wander around for a minute or two everyone's accomodating and polite when you find them.

The breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of foods all of which very tasty. There were some tables overlooking the square, as well as a beergarden under some trees out the back which is a lovely spot on a hot day. We ate one meal here, which was competently prepared and slightly more imaginative than some of the Bavarian Gasthofs in which we stayed over the preceeding week.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardiffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel vis a vis
Hotel vis a vis
#13 of 36 in Lindau
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seerose Lindau
Hotel Seerose Lindau
#32 of 36 in Lindau
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anker
Hotel Anker
#23 of 36 in Lindau
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Garni Brugger
Hotel-Garni Brugger
#6 of 36 in Lindau
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medusa Hotel
Medusa Hotel
#22 of 36 in Lindau
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Insel-Hotel Lindau
Insel-Hotel Lindau
#27 of 36 in Lindau
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Stift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Stift

Address: Stiftsplatz 1, 88131, Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Lindau
Price Range: $109 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gasthof Stift 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is our specialtyThis hotel has its own personality and sets high standards for itself. It is protected as a historical monument, and at the same time equipped to modern standards so that it corresponds perfectly to the demands of new guests and regular visitors.We reached this balance between modernism and an important history with pleasure and a light heart.The hotel’s situation in the center of the island is ideal and an easy starting point for a boat or bicycle trip, or even a romantic shopping trip in the old town center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Stift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing