We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bungalow en Famara

Jardín
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jardín
Dormitorio Salón
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Jardín
Dormitorio
Salón
Salón
Comedor
Baño
Baño
Terraza
Jardín
Terraza
Terraza
Terraza
Fachada
Fachada
Fachada
Jardín
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stuart M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location but.........”
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I am going to find it rather difficult to write a positive review but, with that in mind, I shall begin by saying that this property is very well located, spacious enough for two or three people, and has a sunny aspect. The description of the property hardly reflects this so it is worth saying that there are two outdoor areas; one at the side which is totally secluded and sheltered from the wind whereas the patio area at the front catches the afternoon sunshine but is a little more exposed.

However, if I can use one word to describe the overall condition of this property then it would be "tired".

Whilst it has no effect as such the entire external property could do with a coat of paint to smarten it up a bit as the external paintwork simply added to the tired look. There is a front gate, that was also broken, that could also do with coat of paint just to add to the overall appearance and first impressions.

Given that the booking cost included a cleaning fee there was very little evidence of the outside areas having been cleaned prior to arrival with some rubbish, dust/dirt and plenty of leaves laying around. The windows could have been cleaned but were not, and one of the locks on the front door, which had a double lock, was broken.

The kitchen utensils looked as if they had been purchased at a car boot sale, no wine glasses were provided, no sharp knives, one of the rings on the gas hob didn't work, and one of the gas rings was faulty. The electrical standards throughout were dubious, although there was a fuse-board equipped with RCDs which was just as well given that the electrical power tripped many times daily as there was a fault somewhere. The kitchen light wasn't working on arrival, although it did once or twice during our stay. Some of the electrical sockets were loose and not attached securely to the wall.

There was some outdoor furniture at least half of which was broken and fairly hazardous. All of the garden furniture was tired, aged, brittle and discoloured.

There was not enough bedding provided, which was a problem given that it was chilly in the evenings [c13 Deg] although the owner did provide more when asked to do so. We were provided with only a few towels [between two] for our ten day stay which wouldn't have been a problem had the washing machine worked, but it was broken.

Although not a problem for me, but may well be for some people, it is worth mentioning that there is no WiFi at this property.

No bath mats, or non-slip mats, were provided in the bathroom which on a tiled floor made for a slippery surface at times. The hot water was very hot but there was only just enough for two showers, and not long showers either.

It is also worth mentioning that apart from dish washing fluid and sponge there were absolutely no cleaning products provided at all.

Finally, I suspect that the owners will be a little disappointed to read this review but so be it. With a little time, effort and money invested in the property it really could so much better. I couldn't possibly recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
First to be sorry the one that has not enjoyed his vacations for being analyzing my house, well, my house is an independent property with private garden, barbecue, independent and you pay 63 € per day if he had wished better property it would have to pay better house, in the zone there are other houses from 100 to 300 € per day, are not true that the furniture of terrace was broken, you used a hammock that was withdrawn from the zone of the garden that was to be withdrawn, I feel that in the days that you were in the house inusualy it rained so much and there were problems with the electricity, remember you that I had the deference of not charging for the second bed , I believe that 8 towels for two personas 10 days are more that sufficient, and especially to remember that my property is in an environmental protected zone and I can move not even a stone without permission, of there that sometimes until they give me authorization to paint the walls of the garden meet a bit ugly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
103Marily...
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Luckily we hired a car as the house was quite a walk from Famara, the nearest town. However, the house and garden were lovely. We had everything we needed. The outside terraces were super with loungers and a BBQ. There is a super, sandy beach nearby, loved by surfers. We explored every part of Lanzarote - an amazing island! Eating out in the evening was a real treat! The food is brilliant and in Teguise there are great restaurants and friendly staff. We hope to go back soon!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
Gracias, Marilyn y Charles, encantadores huespedes, me cuidaron la casa como si fuera suya, besos Lanzarote les añora.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gb5678201...
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the yapping owners dog next door ruined the stay it was continuos from around 7.30 every morning”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

the dog next door in a garden next door never stopped barking the kitchen was very basic when the cooker was turned on only once cockroaches ran out from the back all in all it was a pretty poorly prepared place tried to contact the owner by phone on arrival no response there

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2016
In answer to this opinion, it is not true that they tried to contact me during their stay in my house. They blackmailed me, threatening me saying that if Idid not give them part of the money back, they would make a bad comment in tripadvisor, that they knew how to do it because it was not the first time they did it.
Teresa (the owner).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L...
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
Siento esta opinion pero en el anuncio se lee claramente que no hay internet en la casa, y no me consta que hubiesen intentado hablar conmigo, por favor como rectificar la opinion del cliente si es erronea?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph-Ger...
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
Gracias por su valoración huéspedes correctos, que vinieron a disfrutar de mi isla
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewed November 29, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diego nay...
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Gracias Diego por tus palabras, a nosotros nos encantó tenerlos en casa y porque no presumir de nuestra isla, je, je. Ojalá nos crucemos nuevamente.
Suerte, un abrazo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing