We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Star = Five Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Star Surf & Yoga Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Star = Five Stars”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I would measure a trip on the following areas and Red Star deliver on all 5 of these hence the 5 stars:
Location, Service, Value for Money, Visit Again, Recommend-to-a-Friend

Great local knowledge, invaluable recommendations on both the do's and don'ts in and around the island. Staff are super friendly and above all fun! Cheers guys, Pura Vida!

Za znakomstvo!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
17
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

my first solo trip and i found the whole experience very easy from start to finish. when i finally decided to go surfing in lanzarote I contacted a few of the local surf camps and found Red Star the most easiest to deal with, Olga was great on email contact and her relaxed and chilled manner made me feel at ease and put to rest any worries i had about coming alone.
when I arrived everyone was very friendly and welcoming. I had my own room at the surf house which was clean and tidy and it was only a few minutes walk to the surf shop. The surfing lessons were great and all the instructors were so patient and passionate about surfing. I opted for the yoga sessions in the afternoon which were also amazing and really easy to follow. Half way through my stay I got sand in my eye, Andrey was amazing and took me straight to the local hospital to get it taken out.
I had a great time and would recommend staying with Red Star.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

One of the best experiences ever. Howard Marks, Mr. Nice himself seems to be the shop manager, Crocodile Dundee's Brother is THE instructor and Surfari-Leader! Meeting people from all over the world, making friends, enjoying together in the middle of the ocean on lava land which might seem nothing but still shows you all of the essential. Mind blowing. Great service, great staff, 100% competence. So only two ways: Love and live it and spread love and life or stay away.

Room Tip: make a choice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank urso b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Located in Famara, it is not that touristy, which imho is a good thing. Surf house was great. Just the usual hostel, all the necessary basics are there, lots of sand in the apartment (duh), but gets cleaned by the awesome cleaning girl on a daily basis. Met a lot of russian people, Americans, Norwegians, and other insane members of society. Had a great time surfing, relaxing & chilling out with people in general. Beach is about 10 minutes walking, should be doable with a hardboard (and otherwise you can just leave your board at the surfshop which is closer by the beach). I'd recommend renting a car for some variety in your surfing spots (Harrieta was the best surfing experience), as well as to see some sights, although Lanzarote is mostly desert and the landscape may look more like Mars. But hey, who cares; you've got sunshine and sea all around. Hostel was also dead cheap. Really friendly people. Bars are dead cheap, maybe dated interiors or one of them (sunset) smelling like a men's urinal, but again, they serve their purpose well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nickster1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I turned up without a prior booking and managed to get a private room in the self catered apartment, sharing with some russian's, which made for a really fun week. Room was as basic as you can get, just had a foam mattress on the floor with a sheet and a towel, but because of that was dead cheap. As I was there to surf, that's all I really needed.

Famara itself was stunning, so quiet, amazing weather, really great place to slow down and return to centre for a week. The waves were sweet most days too, but unfortunately no wind for the whole week which meant Kite Surfing was out. Location of the apartment, was really convinient, just round the corner from the surf shops etc, and only a bit farther to the nearest beach, The burger/tapas restaurant across the road was phenomenal and ridiculously cheap too. The 'Super Famara' was about 3Euro i think, and that could fill a serious hole. Really friendly staff too. As I was on the first floor, I could sleep with the shutters wide open with the breeze coming through, which was awesome. However, I did get woken up every morning by this welsh guy who ran another surf school across the road. Each morning he insisted on having shouty conversations from the comfort of his balcony with his people/staff down on the street. Why shout back and forth? Just go down there man..

The Red Star surf shop was run by some really cool people, everyone was real friendly and laid back. I got my pick of boards each day - as much wax as I could eat. Even tho i really wanted to, I didn't manage to do yoga as there weren't enough other people wanting to do it. They also were happy to take me on surf safari around to other spots on the island whenever the waves on the main beach weren't upto much. The main man (can't remember name) was a real helpful and friendly guy despite being constantly high, Welsh Mike was entertaining as hell to listen to, every day the world was ending for him, that dude had troubles.. Ilyena was a sweet girl and ridiculously hot with it. I never tired of watching her wax my board each morning...

All in all it was an awesome week. Would definitely reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank SoapDistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Ok, Famara is a very quite, off the beaten track village with an amazing beach and mountain view. Perfect daily conditions for beginners. What makes the Red Star core soul is the team and the instructors, they really care about you and if you open up a bit then you'll spend one of the most enriching experiences of your life. The quality of the teaching is great, each instructor having his own style which makes it very interresting hearing different opnions to improve your surfing.
Furthermore you can sleep in one of the two surf houses, with a fun/surfer style decoration. You would have a common leaving room and kitchen to share. Cleaning is done daily.

Room Tip: In the summer time, I would advise to sleep on the terrace in the top floor: great view, nice breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bigben007_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed for 5 days, good place and good people. The camp is cheap and so is living in famara. The Island is great and there are many things to see and places where to surf. It has been a good experience but i recommend to rent a car, which is also very cheap, to see the Island.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Famara
9.4 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
16.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Diamar
Hotel Diamar
#3 of 9 in Arrecife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
5.1 mi away
Casitas Tabayesco (Cozy Casas Canarias)
6.7 mi away
Kalufa Surf House
Kalufa Surf House
#1 of 3 in Tinajo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Star Surf & Yoga Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Star Surf & Yoga Camp

Property: Red Star Surf & Yoga Camp
Address: Avenida Marinero 9, 35558 Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Caleta de Famara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Caleta de Famara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Star Surf & Yoga Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Star Surf Hostel Famara is located in the village Caleta de Famara - north shore Lanzarote, Canary Islands - far away from the mass tourism, just in the middle of the Natural Reserve “Parque Natural del Archipelago Chinijo” which is protected by UNESCO. The endless Famara Beach, which is truly a surfers' paradise, is only a few minutes walk from any part of the village. You have the choice of a lot of surf spots a few minutes walking distance from our Surf Camp. The Surf Houses are perfectly designed in order to match surfer's and kitesurfer's needs. Fully equipped kitchen, cosy and spacious living room with free WiFi, TV, DVD, surfing movies, games, surfing magazines, and a beautiful roof terrace with an amazing sea view, also perfect for yoga practice. The houses offer shared, single and double rooms.We also offer Surfing & Kitesurfing lessons with qualified instructors, Surf-Safaris, Spanish language courses with native speakers, surf boards, skateboards and bicycle rentals. Relaxing afternoon yoga classes will compliment the physically demanding water sports and help you to finish your day in peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Red Star Surf & Yoga Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Star Surf & Yoga Camp Spain/Caleta De Famara, Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing