We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete surprise”
Review of Restaurante Sol

Restaurante Sol
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A complete surprise”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Located in the village adjacent to the famous Famara Beach, surfer´s territory, what you really expect based on the place, the enviroment and the looks, is something "slow", meaning surfer´s style, not a traditional restaurant.
In spite of that, we ordered (taking a risk, we thought) seafood and rice (big risk, in fact). And there comes the surprise: excellent quality, good service, good price.
What can you say? A recommendation, without doubt.
If there is not much wind (strange, remember wind and kite surfers..), you can sit in the outside looking and close to the water. It is the north side, in the south side there is also a terrace, more adequate for having a beer and may several "raciones", instead of a formal seating. We were in the inside, not much glamour but more convenient.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    228
    80
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Caleta de Famara”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wow, Wow, Wow. We have been visiting Lanzarote for the last 20 years & only this year did we come by this place.

We went for lunch in late Jan 2013. The sea food is totally amazing, it helps to speak Spanish. We were given the main menu (in English) which looked great but we liked the look of some of the things on the specials black board (all in Spanish, which we loved) on the road front side. We ended up ordering the Almejas (Clams) they were massive, best we have ever had, expensive at 16 euros but worth every penny.

From the street side this restaurant looks like a snack bar, but don't be fooled. When you walk in the restaurant is amazing but but best of all is going outside on the terrace. We loved having our table in the sand and the views of Isla Graciosa which on a clear day are amazing.

I also did not want to leave a review on this place as don't want it to change in any way and be filled with tourist. But if it was not for trip advisor I would not have found this place & I really want those of you that venture off the hidden track to experience it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with wonderful views”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been to Lanzarote for 12 years, and always visit this place. The food has improved each year, (it was always very good), but now it is sheer seafood genius. The presentation of the dishes is wonderful, and the number of people eating increases year on year.
If the weather allows the view over the sea to Isla Graciosa is spectacular.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hgarmany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best food of holiday”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had lunch at Restaurante Sol at the beginning of October. Also had an overwhelming desire to whistle the theme from "The Good, The Bad and The Ugly" walking through the sand covered and deserted street on the approach to this shoreline restaurant. Pure spaghetti western set. From the street side it looks like a snack bar; the terrace on the sea side, however, is filled with tables occupied by a mix of people some of whom are obviously prepared to spend both time and money on a good lunch. Don't let that put you off, though, because this turned out to be the best quality and best value meal we had during a week in Lanzarote. Grilled chicken at under 9 euro and grilled fish fillet (I think it was bonito) at 14.50 euro were beautifully cooked and presented. Other dishes we were able to see being served to other tables made us jealous that we were staying too far away to eat here more often. I will be back on Lanzarote and will make a point of visiting Restaurante Sol to try dinner. Can't wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadineedhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“The Best Views”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This little restaurant in the old town La Famara has the greatest views over the bay and beach. We love it here and have visited many times, including twice on a recent visit to Lanzarote.

The food is seafood based and the service is good and friendly. It gets a good mix of locals and tourists.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Sol also viewed

Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote
 
Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote
Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote
 
Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote
Caleta de Famara, Lanzarote
 

Been to Restaurante Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing