We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned for third visit, standards maintained.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in the area and decided to spend a couple of nights again at Stumbergers. The standard of this family run hotel has never faultered. The owner and staff work with a magical efficiency and you never hear of anyone complaining. Probably add it to our itinerary next year again!

Room Tip: Have a meal in the restaurant, you wont be disappointed. Room 3 has a lovely balcony and view but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlairgowrieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our first time in Cochem and we loved this little family run hotel facing the Moselle. The breakfast was excellent, great spread, good coffee. Friendly service. Would recommend and return. Short drive to city centre for meals and shopping.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

What was nice about this hotel is that it had a lovely German character. Nice friendly people where you felt wecomed. Free access to WiFi which worked really well. The room was comfortable but it and the bathroom were a little on the small side. Perhaps even a little basic. However, there was an amazingly large balcony with a great view over the Moselle and Cochem. The hotel is on the outskirts of Cochem and its a pleasant walk from the hotel along the river into the town. The hotel is almost on a roundabout and a road separates the hotel from the river. While our room was directly to the front, facing the roundabout and road we were not disturbed by the sound of traffic. Breakfast was good.

If I was going back to Cochem I would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our mid Sep European trip. After spending $300 euros per night in Amsterdam, coming here for $107 euros per night seemed like an amazing bargain. Granted the rooms are small and there is no phone, but actually has better wifi than the Marriott's in Amsterdam and Heidelberg. Wifi here is at no extra charge and for multiple devices. Also there is a decent flat screen TV with the BBC feed of CNN (helps Americans to hear English on TV once in a while)
They also throw in a half decent totally free breakfast.
booked this via booking.com and it was justifiably highly rated.
Also great location, views, parking......gets a 9.9 out of 10.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the river/castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easyrider_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a friendly family-run hotel around a mile beyond Cochem heading from Koblenz. It's on a small road island and only has the road between it and the Mosel River, and the balcony from our room offered a wonderful view of Cochem's castle as well as the river. There was no problem with noise. You can certainly walk in alongside the river from here, and it's all level.

The rooms themselves are unspectacular but clean and fine. The bathroom was quite small, but the shower was really powerful (love that).

A big part of the business is clearly the restaurant, which specialises in Mexican dishes as well as traditional ones. We sat outside in their patio area and enjoyed a very pleasant meal for three adults and a child that came to around 60 Euros with drinks, though they require you pay for it separately from the accommodation.

Breakfasts were OK and a bit more limited than some places (cheese, ham and bread mostly) but there was orange juice in jugs on the tables and it was a nice touch that they offered to cook eggs in the style you wanted (though that was the only hot food).

Wifi is included - just ask for the password.

We enjoyed our stay and it's a good option if you don't mind being a short way out of Cochem itself.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Overall: Big, clean, modern, comfortable rooms, a great breakfast, free wifi, and free parking make Stumbergers is a great choice in the Moselle Valley.

Location: Stumbergers is located right on the main road, about a mile south of Cochem. The road produces significant noise, but my room faced the back and was relatively quiet. Parking is free and on-site.

Room: The room was modern and comfortable, with free wifi and a flatscreen TV. My room had a small balcony... opening the balcony door and window allowed the room to stay cool in the evening. There was no air conditioning. Wifi was free and worked very well.

Services: There is a restaurant with nice outdoor seating and a view of the castle. Breakfast was good, with eggs made to order and great coffee.

Value: I found Stumbergers to be a good value for the money, especially if you have a car.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is relatively quiet. Facing the main road may be a bit noisy, especially in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cincinnatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is the first time we had driven abroad, we had booked with a coach company a year ago, and they decided to cancel our holiday. So they did us a favour, because we had to organise everything ourselves, We had a look through all the Hotels in Cochem, and decided we liked the look of Stumbergers. We decided to make a booking, and could not have chosen a better place to stay,everything was perfect, room, food, and the staff were all very friendly, especially Safek who was the owner of the Hotel. The night we arrived he greeted us after a long journey, and helped us up to our rooms with our luggage. It was spotlessly clean, a lovely balcony overlooking the Mosell, and with views of the castle. We hope to return there sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Mosell and the views of the Castle are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TibetanSpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochem hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Traumblick
Hotel Traumblick
#10 of 42 in Cochem
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
0.8 mi away
Hotel Karl Muller
Hotel Karl Muller
#5 of 42 in Cochem
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Cochem
Parkhotel Cochem
#4 of 42 in Cochem
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Kessler-Meyer
1.6 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers

Address: Sehler Anlagen 29, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Stumbergers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing