We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Lovely Spot”
Review of Villa Tummelchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Tummelchen
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel pension is situated at the top of a hill, overlooking the town and is almost opposite the entrance to the Reichsburg Castle. The castle is an absolute must! The hotel rooms are clean, spacious and nicely furnished. Our room had a superb view of the pretty town below and the Mosel river. The cosy breakfast room has a view of the castle which is almost a stone throw away. The breakfast is excellent with a fine selection of bread, cheese and cold meats. I will never forget the aroma of freshly brewed coffee whilst gazing upon the castle almost next door to us. Although it is a steep walk down hill into the beautiful medieval town, it only takes about 2-3 minutes and you have reached the town square. The evening walk along the river is absolutely beautiful. The hotel also has secure parking further up the hill. Not so easy to find but once your car is parked, there are steps down to the hotel entrance. Overall, a truly lovely spot with romantic views of the Mosel river and valley. Just wish I could live there forever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mosel river or the castle.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waveracercraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Villa Tummelchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2008

After reading the previous reviews we were a bit worried about finding this hotel! But the hotel website provided an excellant map to find our way to it using their special "biker" route. The route up to the hotel through the tiny main streets of Cochem is quite short and the biker route, coming in from above, a lot longer. But all is revealed when you finally reach the hotel as the angle of the road coming up is quite steep and seemingly quite a few bikes have been dropped trying to gain access to the steep drive of the hotel. but coming in from above is a lot easier, even if at times you feel you are driving along pedestrian only routes!
There are two garages for bikes and before we had taken our jackets of the staff had already provided our beers! Very welcome indeed.
The rooms were spotless and large, the views excellant. The breakfast on the terrace of the hotel was wonderful and my hubby thoroughly enjoyed his two fried eggs!
It is an expensive hotel to stay in but to be honest it is well worth it. The hotel is only a short walk from the main streets yet feels as though it is well away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JenniesCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Not an easy city to navigate by day, I can only imagine what it might be like trying to locate this hotel after dark. But your reward is a pleasant stay with an exquisite view of the Mosel River.

My husband and I requested and received a river-view room (Pinnerkreuz) with a very small but adequate bathroom for 96 euro per night. Breakfast was great, as well as the discounted happy hour Bitburgers out on their patio. Staff happily answered all our random questions, from where to rent bikes (go to Radsport Schrauth, up Endertstrasse by the Sesselbahn - see photo) to where we could have a fabulous last-night-there dinner.

Would recommend this to friends, and would seriously consider staying here again next time. Indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary-Loves-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in Oct. 05. We arrived at night and the hotel was quite hard to find. It's off the main river road, up a tiny pedestrian filled street with a big curve. Driving a full size van up to the hotel was quite a challenge. Later we learned that parking is available past the hotel. In the future I would approach from that direction and simply cart my luggage down rather than try to drive up to the hotel again. Anyway, the hotel was out of quad rooms the first night so we made do with a triple. We moved to a quad room (large apartment) the next night. The view from the apt. was amazing (castle view) as was the view from the breakfast room. Breakfast was very good with eggs, breads, cereal, etc. Because the hotel is not on the 'main drag' it it is quite a peaceful and quiet location. We were never disturbed by any noise. Bathrooms are small but sufficient. I would stay here again if I return to Cochem.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david9498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

My wife works on the internet and we booked to stay at this pricey hotel on the implicit understanding that wireless LAN would be available. AFTER checking in we were told there was a problem and it was out of order.

Despite attempts to fix it we could not get access and had to stay in alternative accommoation. We did not use the room and informed the staff immediately that we would be leaving. I was locked into the premises because we did not want to pay because the service was not what was agreed. I was eventually released after I threated to call the police on my mobile and offered to pay a third of the agreed room rental of 100 Euros.

The place has a cold atmosphere and given the huge range of free accommodation (even in the peak season) I would recommend not booking anything in advance unless you need to.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 2journalists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

Stayed here early January 2007. The house is located in a lovely position near the old town and on the way up to the Burg. From the bedroom and dining room there were breathtaking views to the castle and also over the Moselle river. The room was spotless with nice decor. Breakfast was the usual continental fare - coffee, rolls (though no croissants), cheese, salami etc.
A few negatives though - the owner was away when we stayed and while the person looking after the business was pleasant, I felt that there was something missing. We had a sense of being the only people in the house so there was no atmosphere or buzz. In the bathroom the towels had seen better days and there were no glasses for toothbrushing. There was also an amusing notice on top of the cistern - ok in German but poorly translated into English. Cochem is beautiful with plenty of walks around the hills overlooking the Moselle valley; probably touristy in season but pleasantly empty in January - on a long day's walk we didn't meet another walker in the hills. Most people seemed friendly, though the Frau in the Zom Stueffje restaurant had a forbidding appearance and certainly wouldn't do anything to entice this customer back.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Spent eight nights; the hosts are very accomodating, friendly, knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are immaculately clean, romantically decorated, and the beds extremely comfortable! A great buffet breakfast, with breads and croissants made fresh daily by the owner in his own bakery. There's an outdoor terrace for enjoying the view of the Mosel Valley while enjoying a glass of locally produced Mosel wines. This is our second visit to Villa Tummelchen Pension Garni***, and we will visit again! Cochem is centrally located for great hiking, biking, motoring exploration of the German wine country.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexTempe_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochem hotels
2.2 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Kessler-Meyer
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traumblick
Hotel Traumblick
#12 of 42 in Cochem
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Cochem
Parkhotel Cochem
#4 of 42 in Cochem
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karl Muller
Hotel Karl Muller
#5 of 42 in Cochem
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tummelchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tummelchen

Address: Schlossstr. 22, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range: $119 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Tummelchen 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Tummelchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing