We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice Castle uphill Cochem

This should be the second time we have visited the place. It is still beautiful as before and we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
YTCHENG
,
Hong Kong, China
First Castle Visit

Great experience !!! The ride there was so beautiful with all the fall colors !!! Tour was very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Diane L
Read all 1,633 reviews
  
Reviews (1,633)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
417
253
43
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
253
43
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour mosel river beautiful castle shuttle bus steep walk nice tour german speaking english speakers different languages gift shop takes about minutes hill overlooking town centre well worth the effort worth the climb nice walk per adult
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This should be the second time we have visited the place. It is still beautiful as before and we enjoyed the visit there. We could view Moselle River on top of the castle. We also have a detailed touring description of the castle by the castle guide there as well. Highly recommended.

Thank YTCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great experience !!! The ride there was so beautiful with all the fall colors !!! Tour was very enlightening, our guide had a awesome sense of humor. Gift shop is great. The restaurant was awesome, good coffee, burger and schnitzel. Desserts for my daughter and I warm apple pie with ice cream and whip cream!!!! Yummy!!! Would go back, so I could walk thru the city of Cochem.

Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved Cochem. The castle was great and we were happy we took the tour. Quite interesting and great views. We walked up the back side of the castle and it was a good work out. The restaurant was great for a drink before our tour began. Service was a bit slow but it all worked out to sip a beer and over look the valley. Our tour guide was great and was good the the kids on the tour. Definitely a must see if you are in Cochem!

1  Thank Tstravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The castle is Located in a very nice town named Cochem on the Moselle River in Germany. It is up in a hill and its view is really breathtaking. The tour is very interesting although they only have one tour in English, so if you take the tour in german, they give you a flyer so you can know more less what the guide is saying. The Castle is very well preserved

Thank Bertiki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really worth the walk from the river, or you can catch a bus to the top for a few euros. Informative guides who speak English, sad that it’s only a handful of rooms open. But still, we enjoyed it very much

Thank DrWatson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The castle was surprisingly real to.me, because of the artwork, furniture, table settings, lighting, and flowers designed to make you feel you have stepped back in Medieval times. The windows are open with expansive views of the courtyard, the town, and the Mosel river. They are scenic Kodak moments to capture. The tour guide is delightful with stories and facts filling your ears. But it is the aura of the castle that you will take away, with you when you depart the grounds.

1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

September 5, 2018 - While on a Rhine River cruise, the ship stopped at Cochem for a few hours. As part of a walking tour of the old town, we also had time to visit Cochem castle as a group on a guided tour. Wow! The castle is an amazing place with the original castle dating back to the year 1000. Unfortunately, during 1689, Cochem was completely occupied by the French. After the town had been completely occupied by French troupes, Cochem castle was set on fire, undermined and blown up on May 19th of 1689.

Fortunately for us, the Ravené family rebuild the castle in the Neo-Gothic architectural style used the castle as a family summer residence. The castle is now owned by the town of Cochem. Inside the castle, one will find stained glass, beautiful furnishings, suits of armor, and artwork. What a treat!

And, you step out onto the balcony to see incredible views of the Rhine River, the town of Cochem below, and the valley with lots of vineyards.

When you are in Cochem, you must visit Cochem Castle. You cannot miss seeing it because it dominates the hillside overlooking the town.

Thank JerryH9905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

I visited this castle several times. It is worth it. tours are about every 30 -60 minutes but not always English is available.

Thank I T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

This was an amazing experience. The tour bus took us up to the castle but then you do walk up hill to the entrance. Once you are there it's incredible - views FOREVER of the valleys, the river, the town, the vineyards. They have several tours that are in English which we were lucky enough to take part in. Our guide was wonderful, she was full of unique information on the history, the owners, the interior and little tidbits of unpublished information. She was a delightful. We toured many rooms with the guide pointing out all the unique features that we would not have otherwise known. Gorgeous stained glass, artwork, furnishings, armour etc. etc. etc. I WOULD GO BACK IN A HEARTBEAT!!!! A MUST!!!

Thank mrskemosabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Beautiful Castle (after years of renovations), currently still being worked on to bring her back to her original glory. Luckily we had a shuttle bus that took us up to the gates, as otherwise it is quite a hike for anyone coming up from the little town. It contains some great artifacts from the original era of the castle. The little town will bring you back to medieval times.

Thank pete m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews