We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, very enjoyable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moselstern Hotel Brixiade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moselstern Hotel Brixiade
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely location, very enjoyable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were met at the station in Cochem and driven to the hotel which was a very good start to our stay. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and comp toiletries in the bathroom.
Lovely location overlooking the river, you could walk to the pretty town in about 5-10mins over the bridge or take a water 'taxi' from just outside the hotel to cross the river which was very fast! (Euro 1.50) Cochem is the prettiest of towns we saw in Germany with plenty of places to eat and drink, lots of shops and pretty narrow streets to explore with well preserved buildings to look at..

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a small balcony with river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
14
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

A good hotel but it could have been better. First when we used the shower it flooded the bathroom floor no matter how careful we were. Secondly the towels could do with an update. Thirdly if catering for British tourists it would be helpful for all information to be printed in English as well as German. Fourthly the lady manager's attitude was generally unfriendly and this seemed to rub off on the other staff who looked miserable with one or two exceptions. I have highlighted the downside but there is an upside too which is why I have rated the Hotel as average or perhaps a little higher.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river is a definite plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hotel is in a lovely location., The rooms are clean and large but 'very tired' . The bathroom is tiny considering the size on the bedroom. Did not sleep very well, all the heating was switched of but the room was still boiling, not sure where the heat came from. The food was OK

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTG150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. My wife and I never tire of the beautiful view from the bedroom window any time of the day. Previous trips we used this hotel as a stop off point as part of our journey. This time we brought two friends and booked the hotel for 4 nights.
On booking online we noticed that the hotel still charges per person and not per room and prices for a room with a balcony and air conditioning were quite high but we decided it was worth it.
On arrival our first impressions were from a "frosty" receptionist who seemed to most incovenienced by our arrival, although she "processed" us in an efficient and offhand manner. The weather during our stay was pleasant and quite hot so I specified Air conditioned rooms when I booked online. There was an Air con unit in both our rooms but they did not work. On Contacting our "frosty" receptionist she stated that we did not specify air con, (which is 10 euro's extra per day !!!). Fortunatly we brought our printout of our booking which stated we had indeed specfied air con and she reluctantly handed over two remote controls (with no instructions or guidance) The hotel even fitted switches on the balcony door to disable the unit if the door was opened. Obviously in a roasting room which also smelt a little musty,and we had the door open and we had to ask Frau "frosty" yet again why it was not operating!!
The other staff were mostly pleasant to us and were very efficent. Guests seemed to be of a more senior type making us in our mid forty's to early 50's feel very young.
Underground garage (at extra cost ) is a boon and I stll maintain that this is the best Place to stay in Cochem if you prefer a quiet break (at a price).
Finally, We did not sample the food, except for breakfast, as the buffet style offerings seemed uninviting. Food does not seem to rank very highly in the hotels priorities. There are many places to eat close by.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlairgowrieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Good, clean value for money hotel in quiet position overlooking the Mosel. The food, although buffet style was good with plenty of choice. Guest information in room was printed in several languages but NOT English until you got to the end when they want to sell manicures etc! As English tours seem to be using this hotel it would be helpful to correct this so that rules etc. could be understood. We found the staff pleasant and helpful but the bar seemed to close at 10.30pm for English visitors (who were despatched to bed by the waiter for enjoying themselves!) but when used by German guests, it was open until after midnight! . The swimming pool at the sister hotel was available and much appreciated as it was superb. I would use the Brixiade again but would hope to see they had made slight changes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mealsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochem hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karl Muller
Hotel Karl Muller
#3 of 42 in Cochem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cochemer Jung
Hotel Cochemer Jung
#11 of 42 in Cochem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Kessler-Meyer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Noss
Hotel Noss
#17 of 42 in Cochem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zehnthof
Hotel Zehnthof
#2 of 42 in Cochem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.0 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moselstern Hotel Brixiade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moselstern Hotel Brixiade

Property: Moselstern Hotel Brixiade
Address: Uferstr. 13, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Cochem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moselstern Hotel Brixiade 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Moselstern Hotel Brixiade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing