We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque setting”
Review of Altes Winzerhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altes Winzerhaus
Ranked #2 of 57 Cochem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Picturesque setting”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently stayed (Sept 12) at this very typical picturesque German hotel. Staff were very helpful, friendly and very attentive. Luckily both myself and my wife speak German however we did hear the staff speak in English to other guests. The owner was in attendance every day of our 5 day stay and offered all sorts of advice and help with what to see and do. Breakfast was very good and very fresh every morning. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Lift to all floors and also a very good car parking facility that you get a fob to operate the automatic barrier with. Parking is about 100 meters from the hotel. Cochem town centre is about a 15 minute walk or a 20 minute meander but it is a lovely walk. Our balcony had an awesome view of the castle and the river. Really cannot recommend this hotel enough. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side of the hotel have the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DundeeTashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Rooms were basic but clean, some rooms were up steep flights of stairs however, one side of the hotel had a lift. Staff friendly and breakfast was very varied, dogs could also stay with owners. Off road parking nearby for hotel residents. The location was very nice with views of the castle and the mosel river, although it was around a 15 minute walk into the centre of town.

Room Tip: Booked on booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Altes Winzerhaus for two nights in July. We were traveling with our two boys (11 and 8) and required a room that could fit us all, and that was how we initially found this establishment. It is on the main road through Cochem, looking directly onto the Mosel River. It is probably about a quarter to a half of a mile down the road from the town center, but this is an easy and beautiful walk. Overall, I was very pleased with Altes Winzerhaus. The owner was formal but pleasant. He did not speak English very well and unfortunately I don't speak German, so it took me a little while to understand that the parking lot is several blocks down the street. There is a gate that must be unlocked and lifted up (it is weighted, and lifts easily). A little unique but overall it added to the charm of the place. There is no elevator, and the stairway is a bit narrow. Our room was nicely appointed, very clean and very compfortable. Best of all, it came as advertised with two additional beds for our boys. Wireless access was free, with a strong signal, which was nice. The breakfast area was wonderful. It looked like it had been recently remodeled with a contemporary design, and it was clean and modern. The food was very good (typical breakfast buffet with meats and cheeses, bread, salmon), the coffee plentiful and the service was fine. The lobby had a nice supply of activity pamphlets, boat schedules, etc. The owner obviously takes pride in his hotel, and it shows in his careful attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoutycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Nice hotel withing walking distance from Cochem old town.
Wonderful view over river Mosel from balcony (in you are lucky with your booking) and from the terass.
Big rooms with very nice beds (like always in Germany). No AC.
Good brekfast.
From the balcony you can see the riverboats (and the cars on the main-road passing the hotel).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, fl
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were a bit concerned that this inn was in Sehl...next to Cochem. As it turned out, it was a great location. It was quiet, with a great restaurant only 3 minutes away, (Weinhaus Klasen). The town is less than a 15 minute walk away.
We had a large, lovely balcony overlooking the river and castle. The view was relaxing and delightful. The room was spacious with a little table and chairs in the corner. Nice large bathroom, very comfortable bed. I missed having a little coffee/tea pot so I could have a cup before breakfast or in the evening.
Breakfast was such a surprise. There were several cereals, fruits, many breads and rolls, cold cuts, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc. Coffee was any way you like it; even expresso or capucino. The breakfast room was large and full of German atmosphere.
When we inquired about a bike rental, the owner, Ralph, led us to his storeroom. When we asked the charge he shook his head "no".
I'm not much of a bike rider (my husband is); but I loved the leisurely ride along the pathways on the Moselle. We road through many interesting towns and ended up in Bellstein...a fairy tale place. (Castles abound along the route).
English is not as widely spoken here as in the large cities, but we got along with our very limited German vocabulary. This is wine country, We didn't have the time to visit the wineries which are so abundant.
Altes Winzerhaus is an excellent value and relaxing place to stay. It "feels"European; not like Holiday Inn or Hyatt. The owner could not do enough for us. He was extremely accomodating .
By the way, late May is an excellent time to visit this region. It gets crowded later in June when the river boats are running. No crowds, prices lower, quiet !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alohashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed in Altes Winzerhaus for 2 nights when we visited Cochem, our room had a beautiful castle view,clean and big enough. Breakfast was really good, people were friendly.We rented nice-new bicycles from the hotel. Hotel has short walking distance to the centre of Cochem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanuBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I traveled with some friends on Mosel area, so on this hotel it was reasonable to book a four persons holiday apartment, Ferienwohnung like it is called. We got a nice apartment with fully equipped kitchen, living room with big comfortable sofa and real stereo system and fancy bedroom + good two beds on the alcove of living room. And there were a wide selection of wines at kitchen just for us. Everything brand new and decorated with a taste.
The breakfast was fine, 5e/prs. The staff was great, not much English but we get along great with our poor German language.
I really recommend from two couples a four friends instead of taking two hotel rooms.
There is nice view to Mosel and to caste and Cochem itself from the terrace of the bar. The 10 minutes walk towards center is really beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikkoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochem hotels
1.7 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Panorama
0.2 mi away
Moselromantik Hotel Kessler-Meyer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Cochem
Parkhotel Cochem
#5 of 42 in Cochem
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Traumblick
Hotel Traumblick
#16 of 42 in Cochem
10 reviews
2.3 mi away
Altes Pfarrhaus
Altes Pfarrhaus
#2 of 4 in Ernst
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Winzerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Winzerhaus

Property: Altes Winzerhaus
Address: Sehler Anlagen 15, 56812, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Cochem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altes Winzerhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Altes Winzerhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing