We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Room”
Review of Eucla Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eucla Motor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eucla
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We made it to Eucla late in the afternoon on a busy holiday weekend and were very very lucky to get a room in the budget side without a reservation. It was a good sized room, with a very low, very soft bed and a bit of heat which was fine for me (I'm a Canadian) but may not have been enough for someone used to temperature that never go below 10 degree celsius.

The washrooms are shared with the RV park in the budget motel, and consist of a number of stalls and showers in a separate building just behind the rooms. The walls were thin, and I could hear both sets of neighbours talking, and then snoring, though out the night. I ended up putting ear plugs in and slept excellently after that.

There was a camp kitchen and public barbecue area available if you wanted to cook your own meal, and a pretty neat sand buried old telegraph station a short 4 km drive away to explore.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and waited over an hour for our food to arrive, but when it did it was well cooked and hot.

I consider this a fantastic stay considering our lack of reservation, and my low expectations of accommodations in isolated areas on the highway.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing showers and washrooms, the budget rooms are a GREAT value. Just ignore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissNai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 394 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Food was excellent. Staff were amazingly attentive. This place is in the middle of nowhere but serviced all our needs. Asked for 2 single bed room as a double bed doesn't cut it for my 6'4" partner. The room is old yes but the single beds were perfect and had the best nights sleep.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kavanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

You stay there because there's nowhere else to go. The rooms are tired, dated and grotty. The beds are old and lumpy. And there was a funky smell when we first entered, which turned out to be mouldy carpet from the nasty leak in the shower, which goes through the tiles and the wall and soaks the carpet next to the bed. But after a long day on the road it's a hot shower and somewhere to sleep for a few hours, until the lumpy bed forces you up early and back on the road. At $125 a night it is over priced, but there's not much choice, so you suck it up, avert your eyes from the yuk and move on the next day. Lower your expectations and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

After the reviews we'd read, we weren't expecting much. Travelling as a "family", my wife and I with my parents, we'd booked a room for 4 people. Much to our surprise though, the room was great. Plenty of space, 5 beds all up and LOTS of room inside. We used the caravan park kitchen to cook dinner as restaurant facilities were very limited but we were prepared for that! All up, better than what we were expecting

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krapi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The campground part of this establishment had the most amazing views - and unfortunately that also meant being exposed to the rather severe elements the night I was there. However everything stayed where it was meant to despite the wind and water. The amenities block was good, though having to use a code in the middle of the night is annoying! Fabulous meal available at the restaurant and super friendly staff right through. Nit much option at Eucla, but this place does its job well enough

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We had read lots of bad reviews about this place. Pulled in and booked the second last available room. Friendly staff at reception and then went to find our room, all within minutes. Ok, so it's very 70s and has that associated musty smell, but it's spacious and clean. I checked the bed thoroughly - spotless. Basic amenities and quiet. NO one could complain about the meals or the service at the restaurant - both were excellent. As soon as we ordered, we were served. Amazingly extensive menu with good value for money prices. Lovely, friendly, attentive staff.
Warm, spacious, comfortable room & bed & clean bathroom. Drainage from the shower was slow, but that's about it! Breakfast was the same quality, and again with the same speed of service.
The telegraph station ruins are well worth the 2 minute drive.
Really not sure why people have canned this place, it's in the middle of nowhere, it's not the Ritz, but it's perfectly fine for a stopover. More than fine in fact.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lyse-Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was only a 23 degree day but room was sweltering when we arrived at 2.30pm as the light weight curtaining made it impossible to miss the sun.
Room was clean and spacious but needs updating/upgrading.
As only entertainment is catching up with world on TV - rabbits ears do not quite suffice and intermittent reception makes it increasingly annoying
Bar and Restaurant were great - and value for money meals in cafe made up for the expensive fuel.

Room Tip: Get the lower rooms as sun has not melted them throught the day - those closest to the road get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneEyedBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eucla Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eucla Motor Hotel

Address: Eyre Hwy, Eucla, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Eucla
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eucla
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Eucla Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing