We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making do”
Review of Eucla Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eucla Motor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eucla
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Making do”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We had read the reviews before stopping here but it was the only suitable place to stop to break up our trip so we were prepared. The place is a dump and it was quite expensive, but it gets an extra star because it was somewhere to rest my head and to be fair I slept well and the cleanliness was not awful
The food was decent but not the cordon bleu others are raving about.
I can't recommend this place, however there is not much choice if you are tackling the Nullarbor.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashreign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    138
    121
    39
    46
See reviews for
82
184
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Outback, NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, Eucla has something of a "captive audience" with regard to accommodation on the Nullabor. I crossed the Nullabor six times in three years and stayed at the Eucla Amber five of those trips, the one exception being when the Amber was booked out so we went to the nearby SA Border Village. Both the rooms and the food are better at the Amber. We found the food to be really excellent, made better for us as we dined with a local who was allowed to bring his own wine (part-owner of a small winery in SA). The outside BBQ area is very pleasant. While the Amber is quite expensive for what you get, one imagines it is not cheap to run a motel in such an isolated area.

It would appear that staff can be difficult to find in such an isolated outpost, as service could be slow at times with staff members performing multiple functions. Many are backpackers staying on for a few weeks to a few months. Nothing wrong with that, and most we came across were very friendly and helpful.

When it all boils down, Eucla is very remote and the fact that a comfortable motel with great food is available at all is a bonus- just don't expect city prices and big town motel service.

One aspect of the attached service station which came as a surprise was that they do not accept fuel cards for the brand of fuel they sell (Caltex). This was no big deal for me as I had a fuel card for the brand at the SA Border Village (BP), but heading west it's important to fill up at the border before venturing through the quarantine inspection. Eucla is another 8km or so west of the border.

The telegraph station and beach are some distance from the township, but well worth a visit if time permits. Be warned though, if driving, the sand is very soft and it's easy to become bogged. If you let your tyres down for sand driving it's of course important to fill them to highway pressures at the service station before they close for the night, or you'll have that chore to do next morning.

It's also important to note that Eucla operates on a semi-official time zone known as Central Western Time. It is split roughly between WA and SA time, so is 45 minutes ahead of Perth time. This zone stretches to Cocklebiddy, further west on the Nullabor, and stops at the SA Border Village. Remember too when heading east in summer- if you don't get away early in the morning, you will be losing 2.5 hrs from WA time to SA time as WA no longer has Daylight Saving Time, and before you know it, it's lunchtime when you've only just finished breakfast. There are fairly limited stops for food heading east until one reaches Ceduna. Nullabor Roadhouse has good food, at prices not dissimilar to Eucla, while the small township of Penong has several options for food, the roadhouse being the one we always stopped at.

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastern side have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been travelling from the Kimberley and have stayed at our fair share of caravan parks and this would have to be the worst one yet. We would have gone elsewhere had there been another caravan park -decaying crow in bushes, rubbish all over site, dirty bathrooms, little coverage from strong winds.…you get the picture.
We were not informed that there was no water available at the site and only discovered this upon arrival – we have no problem with conserving water but would have refilled beforehand if we had known.
The only saving grace was the incredible view and lightning show the night we stayed.
Customer service was fine, but the sheer amount of rubbish really put us off.
Only stay if you cannot drive any further.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

There are limited options for overnight stays when you're driving across the Nullarbor, this is one of the better choices. Our rooms were basic, but the fridge worked, the shower had hot water and the beds were comfortable. A bit pricey for what you get compared with city motels, but their costs are much higher in Eucla. The surprise was the food in the restaurant - four of us chose different meals and all of them were good. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank setenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The rooms are very basic but cover all of your needs. However, the little bar (with a pool table and darts) and beer garden are quite pleasant. But what really blew us away was the food. My brother had the snapper and I had the crumbed fish for dinner and both were fantastic. The next morning we had breakfast before we hit the road and the coffee was probably the best I had between Sydney and Albany! I would definitely stay here again. Please note the 4 stars really reflect the food rather than the rooms!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My elderly parents stayed at the Amber on 23 October. $125 for a dirty room with a broken tv.

Apparently the woman on Reception could not have been any ruder when my mother went to ask if someone could look at the tv in their room which wasn't working. 'I don't want to know about it' were her exact words.

Other posters have written the same sorts of comments.

Even one of the locals my parents spoke to stated that these people wouldn't survive in business in the outside world. The only reason they are getting by is through people's necessity for somewhere to stay, not by choice.

Room Tip: Stop at another establishment in another town!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank julie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here twice once on driving across the Nullabor from Perth to S. Australia and again on the way back, as we say not the Ritz but large clean room with comfortable bed and lots of hot water for a shower, we would stay again? Yes Good restaurant akthough we are still waiting for our garlic bread!

Could do with cleaning the light fittings though.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room and had a great veiw of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madorabaybums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eucla Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eucla Motor Hotel

Property: Eucla Motor Hotel
Address: Eyre Hwy, Eucla, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Eucla
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eucla
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Eucla Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing