We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the reviews - excellent service!”
Review of Hotel Am Wartturm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Am Wartturm
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lived up to the reviews - excellent service!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. We had a warm greeting when we arrived with all sorts of information on things to do, recommendation on a nice Biergarten to try while touring the old town, and a suggestion for where to have dinner (Zur Alten Munz is great!). The hotel was very clean and service was very efficient - everything was well handled and thought out. Nice outdoor garden area. We couldn't have been happier with this place. Can see why they get so many excellent reviews!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nealsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    43
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
63
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything what you expect from a decent German hotel at a very good value for money hotel rate. It was also nice to have breakfast outside but naturally that was during summer. Very service minded people too. We forgot a sweater in our room. No problem, we will mail that to you!! Booking went smooth too. If you are in the neighbourghood you do not need to hesitate.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HaveBeen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is neat and clean on first street view. This continues inside, the staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are bright, well decorated and presented. Beds are very comfortable, the arrangement of the shower screens was a work of art!!, and the breakfast buffet all fresh with a typical German spread of cold meats etc.

They have an arrangement with a local taxi firm which provide a €6 fee for a trip to or from the town centre. Their recommendations for restaurants led us to the Domhof, which was also excellent [see separate review].

Overall we cannot recommend the Hotel am Wartturm too strongly. The town of Speyer is well worth a visit in itself, and the Tecknik Museum was right up my street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel was the highlight of our entire trip to Germany. Christian, his family and the staff are wonderful people. They were very helpful and Christian gave us some great ideas for places to go and we really appreciated his advice. It's an easy drive to Neustadt and the Wine Road area. Speyer is a beautiful and interesting city. The Technik Museum is spectacular. There are many sights in and around the city, restaurants are excellent. The hotel breakfast is outstanding and elaborate. The room was spotless and newly updated; the exterior and grounds are beautifully maintained. Free parking and WiFi are a real plus.

Room Tip: The area is very quiet so any room is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for one night on a journey across germany. It is a little bit from City centre but public transport close. it has own parking and some shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The reception is in the basement of building along with bar and reataurant and some vending machines for drinks and snacks at any time. Staff welcoming and friendly. Bar and breakfast area very cosy style, clean and modern. There is also an outside beer garden if weather is good.Room was very large clean and well equipped although no air conditioning but opening windows and very little outside noise. Bathroom was excellent having been very stylishly refurbished. As said by others lovely breakfast and very nice atmosphere. Definitely not a Chain style hotel but they really work hard to provide everything needed for your stay. We would definitely go out of our way to stay again and Speyer and it's Cathedral are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for just one night and were totally impressed. From the friendly greeting at reception, to the help we got unloading our (many) panniers from the bikes up into our room, and to the smiles from each individual staff member. It was so nice. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms had new and very good facilities. The breakfast was first rate served in a very attractive café / bistro room. There was a nearby Italian restaurant which served good food and huge portions - one meal was enough for two in fact.

Overall we had a perfect stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffjsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our experience at this Hotel, for the many times in 8 months we stayed there, couldn't be better at all levels. Very nice and cozy rooms, very well furnished apartments (yeah, they have apartments for families and longer stays), close to all the facilities and the best... an excellent team that treats you like if you’d be part of the family. They will do everything for you... even if it is not part of the package and rate. So far, the best place to stay in Germany in the most welcoming city of Germany - Speyer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IldaSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Speyer hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Speyer
Ibis Styles Speyer
#1 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Domhof
Hotel Domhof
#2 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residenz am Koenigsplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Loewengarten
Hotel Loewengarten
#4 of 16 in Speyer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel 1735
Hotel 1735
#8 of 16 in Speyer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sperling
Hotel Sperling
#10 of 16 in Speyer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Wartturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Wartturm

Property: Hotel Am Wartturm
Address: Landwehrstr. 28, 67346 Speyer, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Speyer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Speyer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Wartturm 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In only 200m distance to the ancient tower Wartturm the hotel offers the entrance to the beautiful Speyer, the city of the Cathedral and the Emperors. The ideal location and easy accessibility to the historic city centre, personal service with special attention to detail and a unique price/feel good-ratio made the hotel a favourite hotel for leisure and business travellers. Enjoy your stay surrounded by a loving hospitality. New: The hotel offers seven new Serviced Apartments for long-term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Am Wartturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Wartturm Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing