We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From fairy tales”

Restaurant anno 1640
Cuisines: French, German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“From fairy tales”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I ate in this restaurant on Saturday evening during end of April. The menu leaflet looks as a story of fairy tales. Wine list was brought in Ipad, not a paper version. I can accept that tastes of three courses which I tasted were average, not delicious. Also wine pairings were pretty average. The look was promising, but tastes of foods and wines were not.The breads and oils were good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weinstube, Inhaber at Restaurant anno 1640, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Riku,

thank you very much for being our guest and for your feedback. It is important to get to know our guests’ opinion in order to improve our performance constantly. Therefore we appreciate your comments very much.

As a hotel with main focus on culinary delights we place great value especially on our food. Our
restaurant Anno 1640 is the right place for everyone who likes to enjoy good, regional dishes in a
cozy atmosphere. Fresh products and creative preparation are musts in our restaurant. We are
sorry that we could not satisfy you yet and we would be very pleased to get another chance to
convince you of our food and the quality during a next visit.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch for us for any further wishes or concerns.

Kind regards
Stefan Krebs and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    45
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“7 May 2014 at Restaurant "1640" - It doesn't get any better than this!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I just finished a lovely lunch of fresh, white, asparagus and ham at restaurant "1640" here in Bernkastel-Kues. Sitting outside, at a corner table on the cobblestoned street, I sipped a pleasant glass of Mosel wine while enjoying the delicate asparagus spears and home made hollandaise sauce. People in the walking zone, many, arm in arm, slowed as they went past my table, admiring the simple, yet elegant fare. Life is better after such a quiet, relaxed, and flavorful experience. In the States, a meal like this would be difficult to find and surely much more expensive than what I paid for it here in this charming village perched along the Mosel River. "Patrizio", the maitre d, speaks perfect English and made the lunch even more enjoyable by arriving at the right time, every time with food and drink. Stop by when you in the mood for reasonably priced, honestly served food with ambiance and charm, It's here in Bernkastel at 1640. See you there...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weinstube, Owner at Restaurant anno 1640, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Richard,

thank you very much for being our guest and for sharing your very kind words. Such a splendid feedback is a real honor for us. It is hard to say if this makes us speechless or rather saying „WOW!“.

We are happy to learn about your excellent experience at our restaurant. It is our ultimate goal to offer our guests a good time. Therefore we place great value on quality and a welcoming atmosphere. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our helpful service and the fine food in our restaurant. We appreciate your review which is a wonderful motivation for our entire team.

We enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again! - at our restaurant and/or at our fairy tale hotel!

We send kindest regards from the Mosel River all over the ocean to you!

Stefan Krebs and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An incredible restaurant hidden in a hotel!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I have eaten here 3 times now. We stayed at the hotel two separate times, once for a mini-honeymoon and once a year later for our 1 year anniversary. We like the town, the hotel and the restaurant that much. See my review of the hotel for more info on that.
We always get the chef-recommended 3 course meal with wine pairings and have never been disappointed. The food is always unique and the ingredients are obviously carefully selected. The chef here knows exactly what he is doing, and from what I can understand, almost everything is made from scratch. The sides the chef prepared for us our last meal were almost better than the main course, Au Gratin potatoes so good I wanted to lick the plate.
We've always eaten breakfast there as well when we've stayed at the hotel and it was terrific as well, probably the best European breakfast we've had after living here for 1.5 years. The homemade yogurt and marmalade are especially delicious.
I can't say enough good things about this place, the atmosphere is terrific, very comfortable. The service is flawless and the price is reasonable. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weinstube, Owner at Restaurant anno 1640, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Russell,

thank you for the five star review! We are thrilled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your three meals and the breakfast including our service and the cozy and special atmosphere of our restaurant.

It is a wonderful for us to read that we were able to make you feel welcomed and to convince you as a warm and attentive host. This is our most important matter of concern and what our whole team is working for every day. THANK YOU!

We look forward to welcome you back very soon again. The probably best European breakfast is already waiting for you! ;-)

Kind regards
Stefan Krebs and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Great spot on a cold night!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is one of those restaurants that just beckons you in and embraces you on a cold night. We arrived with no reservation, but they were gracious enough to squeeze us into a table that wasn't reserved until later. It's a small establishment but that just meant that the servers were able to get everything out quickly. The menu is all local dishes and the wines are all local wines, so we were thrilled (don't expect anything child friendly for someone used to burgers and fries). Each course had at least one or two people in our party exclaiming in ecstasy over their dish!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect place for lunch in a beatiful scenery”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I went there with my wife for a Saturday's lunch and tried soups (Gulaschtopf and Kartoffelsuppe), as well as as local specialty - Hammkuchen. All dishes were excellent - great in taste and nice in look. Service was very good as well. The restaurant offers also a broad choice of local wines, but we had a chance to try only one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grzegorz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant anno 1640 also viewed

Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Restaurant anno 1640? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing