We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montag
Nearby Hotels
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weinhotel Landsknecht(Sankt Goar)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rheinfels(Sankt Goar)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Winzerhaus Gartner(Sankt Goar)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Loreleyblick(Sankt Goar)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel an der Fahre(Sankt Goar)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
9
28
33
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
28
33
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst goarbar downstairshotel barstay openthe riverpackbageuro
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 88 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Quaint hotel that had a B&B vibe to it. It's a relatively small building that's only a couple of steps away from the River Rhine.

We were given a relatively large room with a view of the street. Basic amenities but clean. Try to request for a room on the lower floors. The hotel does not have an elevator hence carrying a heavy luggage all the way up might pose as a problem to some.

Location-wise, just right beside the hotel are the following:
-the largest free standing outdoor cuckoo clock in the world
-showcase store of one of the oldest beerstein manufacturers
-one of the oldest Birkenstein stores
-a deli

Only within walking distance is a teddy bear museum and a wine-cellar (must visit).

Oh, btw, the shops/establishments opens as early as 7am and closes at 4pm. Only a few restaurants are open in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamurallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Had to stay here overnight on the way to munich as part of our package. The town sankt goar was gorgeous, and this hotel is at a good location, near the beer stein makers and the unique underground cellar with nice ice wine BUT the overnight stay at this hotel completely ruined our whole sankt goar experience.
First of all the hotel was old and poorly maintained, and like many travellers have mentioned, they do not have any elevators at all, so if you happen to be one of the unlucky ones like us who scored a room up on level 3, then enjoy the intense workout dragging your luggage up the steep staircase. So make sure you travel light or pack an overnight bag.
Our room was a twin share room, and as soon as we went in the air in the room was old and stale, so we had to open the windows immediately to air the room. The bedsheets were quite ill maintained as well, with stains all over them, and the bathroom was very small and you can barely move in the shower, not to mention my friend discovering a massive spider in the middle of her shower session.

BUT THE MOST HORRIFIC part was the infamous bed begs on the beds. AND TRUST ME THIS IS NO MYTH!!!! we had read heaps of review on tripadvisor in regards to the existence of bed bugs in this hotel, so both me and my friend actually came prepared with insect repellents to spray the bed and ourselves, and we both wore long sleeve jackets and pants prior to going to bed. We initially didn't see any bugs when we checked the beds, therefore we decided to take a risk and sleep on them.

AND TO OUR HORROR, the next morning when we woked up we found upto 10-20 nasty red bed bugs all over the bed, and we both sustained bites to our neck, hands and foot (all areas that were not covered by any clothing), and we itched for the next two days after the night's stay.

I would think twice about staying here, unless if you really have to!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank keko l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel is small, yet homely and comfortable. Like some other reviewers have said - very much like a B&B. We only stayed for one night as this was just a stop over for us on the way to Munich.

There is no lift - just stairs, so be prepared to lug suitcases up to your room.

Not all rooms have a private bathroom, but we were lucky enough to score one that did. It was pretty miniscule, but it was clean and everything worked the way it should!

The little town of St Goar is just that - little. But it is stunningly beautiful. Not a lot to do, especially if you're up for a big night! The beer stein store around the corner from the hotel is pretty expensive (compared to the prices we found the next day in Munich at Oktoberfest!).

The wine cellar up the road is worth a visit (can't recall the name but the hotel staff should be able to direct you). The Ice Wine is delicious (similar to a muscat) and it is much cheaper to buy from there than anywhere else - I bought a bottle for 25 euro and later found the same bottle selling for 80+ euro elsewhere in Germany! Bargain!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bathroom!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil_Miss_Mooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

If you are purely concerned with value and want to experience the quaint town of St. Goar, Hotel Montag will do. The room we stayed in was nothing special. Rather small and had to climb several stairs to get to it. The view of the quiet, cobbled street below was the best part of this room. The beds were pretty on par with the rest of the beds we slept on during our Euro tour - fairly hard and uncomfortable. This place is absolutely no frills...paper thin walls. They did have computers/internet you could pay to use -- I think it was 1 Euro for 30 minutes?

Their breakfast was pretty good -- fresh juice, coffee, toast and eggs. The bar in the hotel was nice enough and pretty spacious. Not many patrons but that's okay.

There was a gas station nearby with snacks, shops that dotted the street below including a bakery, a beer stein store, and the Birkenstock store. I believe this was the first ever Birkenstock store. The makers of the world's first teddy bear are here and the world's largest cuckoo clock as well. The hotel is right on the Rhine River. We went in the summer and it was just picturesque. Quiet running trail, lush green grass and garden out front, very fresh air! Overall just beautiful.

There's not a lot to "do" here but it is relaxing and a sight to see even if you're just passing by. There was a wine cellar up the street from Hotel Montag that I highly recommend. They give you tastings and will explain how they harvest the grapes from the valley, which was a very interesting system of pulleys due to the sloping of the valley. Delicious wine! Great hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFtraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was kind of worried about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but was pleasantly surprised after arriving. The town of St. Goar is beautiful and quite charming. You really get to embrace the culture and experience the authenticity.

This hotel reminded me of a bed and breakfast. It was cute and quiet and had a lot of character. Our room was spacious and we had great views of the city and surrounding area. The staff was very hospitable and helpful.

I loved this place and would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lis5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews