We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST INNKEEPER EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THE BEST INNKEEPER EVER!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have just finished a 12 day stay at the Rheinhotel. It was WONDERFUL. The first 9 days I was there by myself in a single (that was really a small double) overlooking the Rhine. My girlfriend joined me the last three nights and we opted for Room 2--with the LARGE balcony overlooking the Rhine. Both rooms were wonderful in their own way.

But the best thing about this hotel is Gil Velech, the most caring of Innkeepers! When one checks in...Gil takes the time to go over the map of St. Goar--recommending excursions and restaurants,

Day after day I saw Gil spend time with each guest...checking to make sure their stay was going well!

I have traveled all seven continents...staying in numerous hotels. It IS the Innkeeper who makes or breaks a stay for me. If there was an Innkeeper award...Gil would win hands down!

The property is small, cozy, CLEAN, and everything one could hope for to see the Rhine at its best. AND has a great breakfast with PERFECT soft boiled eggs. ( a feat!)

Loved it!

Room Tip: 2 and 6 have balconies. Get the Rhine view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    28
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
101
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is just a short walk down from the railway station and overlooks the River Rhine.
We were given a largish room with a small balcony overlooking the Rhine. The room was very clean with 2 comfy chairs, a writing desk, wardrobe and a TV unit with drawers underneath. There was also a bench which would hold 2 suitcases side by side.
The bathroom was very clean with a shower cubicle but no bath.
The day we arrived it had been raining and when we tried the central heating to help us dry out we found out that it was switched off.
The room was lacking a guest information pack and did not have emergency evacuation notices displayed. The hotel does not have a lift.
You may need a screwdriver to adjust the shower height as the adjuster is missing.
There were no signs of the restaurant being open so we ate in town.
Breakfast was a very basic buffet with boiled eggs available.
Despite its location I do not think that this hotel will be used by us again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River Rhine with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pie-eater-1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent one night in Sankt Goar. The Hotel is perfectly situated in front of the Rhein river and across the Lorelei.
The place is clean. The rates are OK and the value is good. The host was helpful and courteous.
Great stay. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with the Rhein rive view and the balcony are more expensive, but definitively worth the additi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Deutschland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After reading the reviews about this hotel from tripadvisor and booking.com, we immediately booked this hotel for our short trip. We also proved what the other reviewer wrote about this hotel and the friendliness of the owner are so true.

We actually quite surprise of the kind welcoming explanation from the owner of the hotel (Mr. Gil Velich). He explained to us what we could do in St. Goar and the town nearby, the river cruises and also he recommended us the best and unexpensive restaurants around the town.

Our room was not so big, the owner offered us a bigger room, but we choosed the small one because of the view, make sure to request in your reservation to get a room with the Rhine River view. The bed was comfortable, with a flat screen tv and some english channel. There is no wifi connection in this hotel, but our trip was to enjoy the nature so it was no problem at all for us.

This hotel place in the middle of the town, just one or two minute walk we will reach the main station, restaurants and shops.

We tried two of the recommended restaurants (sadly the other restaurant has their day off and the pizza restaurant was fully booked) and we were really satisfied with the food and the hospitality of the "zur Loreley" Restaurant and they have a great wine too! (this area well known for their wine plantation as well).

A very nice hotel, we will definetly come back especially for the delicious breakfast ;)

Room Tip: Make sure that you request for the room with Rhine River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meirna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane,Queensland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Gil, the owner is extremely helpful and friendly. He helped us to hire bikes and plan our itinerary. He also made restaurant recommendations and bookings and his suggestions were very good. The hotel is perfectly positioned with great views across the Rhine to St Goarhausen. The rooms are comfortable and very clean and the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
707 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent another two wonderful days at Rhein Hotel this past weekend. Again, we chose room #2, our favorite with a large terrace overlooking the Rhein and Burg Katz above Sankt Goarhausen. The room itself is also large with a couch and small fridge. As always, the room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was as great as always. They serve some of the best small breads we’ve ever eaten! Gil, the owner, is the best hotelier we’ve met anywhere in the world. It is abundantly clear that he loves his job, people, and providing the best service possible to every customer. He has tips and advice for nearly any question/situation. Gil made us a dinner reservation at one of the local restaurants and made another suggestion for dinner the following night at a small mill/winery. We did go, after biking all day along the Rhein, and the food was excellent. It’s another place we’ll definitely return to.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a room with terrace overlooking the Rhein. You'll be sorry if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were greeted warmly the day we arrived and we sat down with the hotel manager and he told us all of the great things to do in the area, including time tables with boats and trains. It was very unexpected and we appreciated the information. He also gave us some information on places to eat.
We had a nice room with a small balcony (with a table and two chairs) facing the river and both nights we spent having a drink out there and it was very enjoyable. The breakfast was very nice and varied with meat, cheese & egg selections, as well as various breads, rolls, cereal, yogurt and fruit. The coffee and was very good too. The room was neat and clean and a decent size and the bathroom was small but very functional. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theocgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sankt Goar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rheinfels
Hotel Rheinfels
#2 of 14 in Sankt Goar
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
1.8 mi away
Weinhotel Landsknecht
Weinhotel Landsknecht
#5 of 14 in Sankt Goar
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
0.1 mi away
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
#4 of 14 in Sankt Goar
69 reviews
7.9 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#1 of 19 in Boppard
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rheinhotel St. Goar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rheinhotel St. Goar

Property: Rheinhotel St. Goar
Address: Heerstr. 71, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rheinhotel St. Goar 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Rheinhotel St. Goar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rheinhotel St. Goar Hotel Sankt Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar Germany/Sankt Goar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing