We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth Time at Hotel Keutman”

Hotel and Restaurant Keutmann
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sankt Goar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel and Restaurant Keutmann
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our fourth visit over 27 years was just as great as the previous times we've stayed at Hotel Keutmann, This time we were with another couple, and we had the two-bedroom family suite. The breakfast was fine, and we really enjoyed dinner -- both the service and the food -- one of the evenings of our stay. Ralf the proprietor couldn't have been more helpful. One really needs a car as the hotel is a short way from the town. Also, the view of the Rhine includes a large camping area in the foreground, and that has never been an issue previously; however, this time we were there on a Saturday night and had to listen to a bunch of drunk kids camping under our window and making lots of noise at 2 a.m. -- certainly not something the hotel could control, just something to be aware of. Wireless worked fine. We may be too old to return, but if we are ever in the area again we would be sure to stay at Hotel Keutmann.

Room Tip: Room with a small balcony on the river side of the hotel would be preferable. Info on the website s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHA1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were looking for a clean, reasonable hotel with some local atmosphere and the Keutmann filled our quest. It was very comfortable. The room was a bit small, but very clean and adequate. We had a 3rd story balcony that overlooked the Rhine River across from the famous Loreley cliff.
The railway goes through a tunnel by the hotel so the noise we expected from the railway was nonexistent.
We ate 2 meals at the hotel and both were good. Our evening meal was on the outdoor patio with a view of the Rhine River making a most pleasant evening with friends. Our hot breakfast was good especially the fresh bread. The cost of about 75 Euros was most reasonable.

Room Tip: East side had a nice balcony view of the Rhine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

they were pretty awful in trying to accommodate us - told us we were not allowed to leave in the morning when we wanted to (early as we were jet lagged from flying from Australia and arriving that morning), then when we wanted to "make a plan" they said they were too busy and we would have to wait an hour. when we said we wanted to leave they said we must pay the full price and locked our bikes up and called the police. Very rude and most unhelpfull.

Room Tip: pedal past and find people who are keen to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paultmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf S, Inhaber at Hotel and Restaurant Keutmann, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013
Google Translation

Gast reiste gegen 16:00 Uhr an. Check out wurde für 06:00 Uhr vereinbart und das Zimmer bezogen. Die Fahrräder (wie auch andere Gästefahrräder) wurden vom Gast in die über Nacht verschlossene Garage gestellt. Gegen Abend speiste das Paar in aller Ruhe in unserem Restaurant und lies die Rechnung auf das Zimmer schreiben. Nach einigen Zeit wollte der Gast den Check out auf 04:00 Uhr legen oder sofort Abreisen. Da wir keinen 24 Stunden Service haben und keiner für das Öffnen der Garage da war, boten wir eine vorzeitige Abreise an. Da das Zimmer benutzt war, also Betten und Bad benutzt und um mittlerweile 19:30 Uhr keine Zimmerfrau mehr im Haus war, verlangten wir die Übernachtung ohne Frühstück. Der Gast weigerte sich zu Zahlen, packte seine Sachen und versuchte sein Fahrrad aus der verschlossenen Garage zu holen. Völlig zornig und aufgebracht stürmte der Gast in die Küche, wurde Handgreiflich, stieß mich gegen den Ofen und versuchte den Schlüssel aus meinen Hosentasche zu holen. Um eine Eskalation zu vermeiden ging ich mit ihm zur Garage und öffnete sie. Gleichzeitig riefen wir die Polizei. Da der Gast nur einen Bruchteil der Zimmer- und Essensrechnung ( Geld flog in den Flur) wurde eine Anzeige bei der Polizei wegen tätlichen Angriffs und Zechprellung gestellt, diese jedoch wegen Geringfügigkeit (Gast ist Australier) zurückgezogen. Eine suche der Polizei nach ca. 15 Minuten war ohne Erfolg. Es ist eine Frechheit, dass ein Gast nach so einem Theater auch noch eine schlechte Beurteilung ins Internet stellt. Nach über Jahren guten Bewertungen kann man eine solche Bewertung doch nicht hinnehmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was a delightful hotel/pension with a lovely little restaurant attached. The three of us very much enjoyed our meals and Rhine wine :) The breakfasts were generous, and the room reasonable well priced. While the room was a bit small - it perfectly suited us with updated bathroom, TV, lovely view. Definitely a good choice!.. Ample parking and walking distance to the adjacent town and KD boat entrance.

Room Tip: English is spoken for non German speakers - they reply quickly to emails. Credit cards taken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the position and the fact that it is "cyclist-friendly": it is on the Rhine, directly opposite the Loreley. The room was large and clean with a small balcony overlooking the river towards the Loreley. Most of the rooms seem to have balconies on the river side. There is a lock-up garage for cycles (we arrived by bike). The railway goes through a tunnel at this point so the noise is less than in other nearby locations.

The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast – included in the price of 64 EUR for a double room – was generous.

The restaurant also has a terrace which at the end of September was still warm enough to sit out on in the evening. Tip: do not sit on the river side. It is better to sit on the road side, which means you have a lovely view of the river without having to look at the neighbouring caravan site which is situated between the hotel and the river. The caravan site somewhat spoils the view but otherwise is not a nuisance.The food suits those with big appetites after having been in the open-air all day.

For cyclists there is a fantastic bike repair and bike hire shop, Langhans in the Oberstrasse 44. We arrived in the late afternoon with a dud chain and various other minor problems but didn't have to wait at all. Mr Langhans, a cheery and competent soul, fixed everything immediately for a most reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this lovely, friendly, family hotel for a few years now and always look forward to our return visits - in fact, we have already booked to go back again in September this year for 6 nights! Each time, we book a room with balcony overlooking the Rhine because that`s what it`s all about to us - bottle of wine, binoculars and masses of interesting vessels to look at The evening meals are always very good as is the breakfast. Our room has always been comfortable and clean. Ralf, Yana, Astrid and Vinny are always smiling and go out of their way to help us in any way they can - roll on September!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyj882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our family of four had two side-by side double rooms for two nights during August, 2010. Our rate was 60 euro per room per night, and included a wonderful, extensive sit-down breakfast. We did not take the half-board option as it is more expensive that just ordering off the menu. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and we enjoyed a lovely view of the Rhine from our balcony. The hotel is adjacent to a large campground so the diningroom (especially the patio area) is very popular and tends to get very busy. Still, it is a really nice, large patio with great ambience and the food was delicious. Keep in mind that the Hotel Keutmann is located about 2km from St. Goar proper, so you will have about a 15 minute walk to town or, alternatively you can drive as parking is no problem. My only complaint about this hotel would be the noise...and this is typical of many hotels on the Rhine. Traffic is heavy along the main roadway running straight past the hotel; also trains and barges run at all hours of the day and night. If you have trouble getting to sleep due to noise, my advice would be to consider staying in the nearby Mosel valley and day-tripping to the Rhine as it is much more peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summafunmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sankt Goar hotels
2.6 mi away
Weinhotel Landsknecht
Weinhotel Landsknecht
#5 of 14 in Sankt Goar
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rheinfels
Hotel Rheinfels
#3 of 14 in Sankt Goar
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Loreleyblick
Hotel Loreleyblick
#7 of 14 in Sankt Goar
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winzerhaus Gartner
Winzerhaus Gartner
#10 of 14 in Sankt Goar
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Keutmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Keutmann

Address: An der Loreley 24, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Number of rooms: 256
Also Known As:
Keutmann Hotel Sankt Goar
Hotel And Restaurant Keutmann Germany/Sankt Goar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing