We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel am Markt
Ranked #5 of 5 Sankt Goar B&B and Inns
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is ideally located directly across the street from the boarding platform for the Rhine River cruise. We boarded the cruise in Rudesheim and got off in Sankt Goar to see the Rheinfels Castle and spend the night. We had two rooms - one being a corner room with a great view of the river and the other had fewer windows which limited its view. The rooms were bright, clean and nicely furnished. The staff in the restaurant on the ground level were VERY friendly and the food was good.

Definitely not a deal breaker but.....you must pay with cash and the smell from the restaurant makes its way upstairs, which bothered some in our group and not others.

Room Tip: Request a corner room for its size and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renata-Teresa, Inhaber at Hotel am Markt, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Michelle M,
vielen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt im Hotel am Markt in Sankt Goar.
Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie uns eine positive Bewertung gegeben haben.
Dass Ihnen nicht alles während Ihres Aufenthaltes gefallen hat, tut uns sehr Leid.
Wir würden uns freuen, Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch in Deutschland wieder Wilkommen heißen zu dürfen.
Mit den besten Grüßen,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We booked our hotel based on a recommendation from Rick Steves' travel guide and we were not dissapointed. Standards change when you're on the small towns on the Rhine. The rooms are smaller and more like staying at your Aunt's house rather than at a standard hotel. Just accept it and you'll have the time of your life. Our room was clean and had a fabulous view of the Rhine. The bathrooms left a bit to be desired, but again, you're on the Rhine...go with it! The people who run the hotel are amazing. We had such great service. We arrived before we could check in and they let us leave our luggage there - which we so appreciated! We also ate dinner there and it was delicious! We sat outside for most of the night drinking wine and taking in one of the best views of the Rhine. It's a night and a visit that I will not forget. Thank you, Hotel am Markt for a fabulous time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank catmc1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a corner room the second floor which provided us with panoramic views of the activity on the Rhine. A small glitch with the wate in the show was fixed immediately and we spent a comfortable night. Road noise and bugs were not a problem with the windows closed. We parked our car on the market square next to the hotel. We had an evening meal on the terrace in fron t of the hotel preceded by drinks. The service and the food were of a high quality and better the we expected from what is essentially a tourist hotel on the busy part,of the Rhine tourist route.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wilandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A clean, very affordable hotel with great views of the Rhine and a very good restaurant. The breakfast makes lunch superfluous. The Family Marx really know how to provide a wonderful experience and gave us good advice on train schedules, tickets and the abundance of hiking trails in the area.
In my case, Herr Marx went above and beyond this hospitality. During a cycling trip, I fell and opened a nasty gash on my forehead. Herr Marx transported me to and from the Hospital in Oberwiesal and did much of the translating for the Doctor and her assistant while the wound was cleaned, treated and stitched. I cannot say enough about his generosity toward me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in a double room with a panoramic view over the busy Rhine River and Burg Katz. The room was spacious, and the bathroom also quite roomy. Everything was clean... however - a word of warning to close your window along the front (we were right along the neon sign) in the night or you will be invaded by those little flys - we call them 'nossiums'. It would have been nice to have been pre-warned of this! After we figured that out, there were no more invasions! Other than that, we really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast - the hotel owners go out of their way to make sure you have fresh poured coffee or tea with breakfast. We asked for hot water the first night there because I like herbal tea at bedtime and we got a whole carafe of boiling water! Great little hotel with excellent service and location couldn't be more perfect! The town is fun to explore and even a few sights right at your doorstep!

Room Tip: Awesome Italian restaurant called, 'Ristorante Pizzeria' just down a little side street from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FunintheSun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This little hotel is is a wonderful location by the Rhine River. We had a great view of the river from our room. We found the town to be much quieter and cheaper than the previous stops we had had throughout Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The staff could not have been more helpful. They helped us get train tickets and tried to print our boarding passes for our flight home. They were very accommodating throughout our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

In an expensive and tourist-riddled part of Germany, this hotel in Saint Goar was a relief to find. After cruising around Boppard in the wet, we had found it full of over-priced hotels or cheaper ones already booked. So after a brief try for rooms in Bad Salzig, we ended up in Sankt Goar (the Tom-Tom only knows Sankt Goar and not St Goar).
Hotel Am Markt is in a perfect location in this delightful little town; right beside the church with the historic Stumm organ too.
We were able to park our car in the garage underneath for 4 euros a night, and the owner very patiently helped guide us past the stacked bikes and other bits and bats. Our room was two flights up (no lift) but the helpful owner helped with one of the bags. Our room was light, slightly more spacious than others and clean. It was noticeable that this hotel has been cutting corners. Soap dispenser empty and the liquid soap on the basin in a crème soap container had been watered down so much that it was impossible to use as soap. Towels were automatically not replaced which didn't bother us for our short 2 night stay but had we stayed longer I would have asked for a replacement. Small details such as carefully rationed breakfasts; Germans usually make breakfast a cornucopia of bread, cheese and meat delights but the breakfasts here were almost grudgingly rationed out - even to the glasses of orange juice put on each table, rather than as available from a jug on the buffet.
On balance, our overall trip to St Goar was a great pleasure, and the hotel am Markt a well-situated place to rest afterwards. Perhaps it was the very wet season or economic times but the hotel did seem very tired and in need of a bit of lift. Or a lift for the bags ?!? :-)

Room Tip: The front rooms have a view to the Rhein but the side rooms are perhaps a little quieter? And if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZChurchmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sankt Goar hotels
0.0 mi away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rheinfels
Hotel Rheinfels
#3 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
#4 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel an der Fahre
Hotel an der Fahre
#6 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
1.8 mi away
Weinhotel Landsknecht
Weinhotel Landsknecht
#5 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Markt

Property: Hotel am Markt
Address: Markt 1, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sankt Goar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Hotel Am Markt Germany/Sankt Goar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing