We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brandy to die for!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stefans Wine Paradise

Stefans Wine Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stefan's Wine and Christmas Paradise Stefan opened his shop, in St. Goar in the middle of the World heritage `Mittelrhein`, over 20 years ago. He is offering delecius Wines and Brandys made from his family. The first and still the most famous Brandy Stefan's family is producing is the peach Brandy. Made out of red peaches which are growing in the vineyards. Whenever you are entering the shop you will be offered a taste of it.: Be careful this Brandy make costumers return from all over the world. Today the variety of Stefan's Brandys got much bigger. The Menu offers something for every taste: from the famous peach Brandy to Blackberry Brandy, from different chocolate Brandys to winter apple brandy even a whisky or a cognac. And not to forget the Queen of the German wines 'Eiswein'. You will find this seldom wine as well in Stefan's shop. Eiswein must be produced from grapes that have been frozen while still on the vine. The sugar and other dissolved solids do not freeze, but the water does, allowing a more concentrated grape. With Eiswein, the freezing happens before the fermentation, not afterwards. Only healthy grapes keep in good shape until the opportunity arises for an Eiswein harvest, which in extreme cases can occur after the New Year, on a northern hemisphere calendar. This gives Eiswein its characteristic refreshing sweetness balanced by high acidity. Eiswein production is risky (the frost may not come at all before the grapes rot or are otherwise lost) and requires the availability of a large enough labor force to pick the whole crop within a few hours, at a moment's notice, on the first morning that is cold enough. This results in relatively small amounts of Eiswein being made world-wide, making Eiswein generally quite expensive. You have some time in St. Goar come in and enjoy a free wine and Brandy tasting. Or enjoy your time browsing through the Christmas shop. You are visiting St. Goar with a group, no problem give a call and we set up a tasting with some snacks for you. Or what do you think of a free tasting at your home? And don't worry when your bottles get empty you can always order online and we ship it directly to your home. And of course we will reimburse your shipping as well when you order online.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brandy to die for!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have been to Stefan's shop many times and have also been ordering wine from him for many many years. The shop is wonderful and Stefan is a pure joy! He does speak English and his wife is from Miami so he has been to the sates many times. He will become your friend!! Aside from tasting many wines and brandies (which you can purchase), he has a lot of Christmas decorations for sale and Lorelei souveniers. They can mail your souveniers and purchases and they package things well. They are very friendly in the shop and can answer questions about St Goar and the area. His brandies are to die for!!! I highly recommend this shop and have seen many times their helpful attitude and welcome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank virginia29455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    7
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beach Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tourist oriented shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited Stefans' as part of a Rhine River cruise and wine tasting tour. I had visions of tasting wine at some of the many wineries along the river, but that was not to be. The tour operator had an agreement with Stefan's whereby the busload of tourists were delivered to this tourist shop. I was aghast at how extremely high prices were for most of the wines....300e for a small bottle of Ice Wine? The shop also stocked other typical souvenir clocks, shirts, and trinkets. We had a few sips of various wines but nothing that could support the absurd asking prices.Stefan himself was a slick operator, delivering a well rehearsed presentation promoting wine and trinket sales. I wish our wine tasting could have ben done at a local vineyard instead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Surfdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Accidental Find...Now add this to your Itinerary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Well we had just up at the Reisling Wine Festival and decided to stroll through the area to meet more locals to talk with and learn more the 'way of life' when we stumbled into Stephans Wine Paradise. And a Paradise it is! This is another must do when in St. Goar. We enjoyed even more after the Wine Festival. Oh yes; we were quite happy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brrliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great wine and brandy from Germany!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon St. Goal and Stefan's Wine Paradise over a decade ago and have enjoyed Stefan's wines, brandy' sand friendship ever since! There's no explanation here that compares to the experience of walking into the shop and tasting a sip of peach brandy for the first time!

Stefan's energy is rivaled only by his passion for enjoying the family's wines and assorted brandy's. Not to miss are the ice wines, chocolate chili brandy, and my personal favorite, winter brandy with a warm taste of cinnamon. Heavenly. Stefan also sells Christmas items, cuckoo clocks and will ship his wine and brandy anywhere in the world. This is a must-see on your trip to the Rhine river area. If you come once, you'll return for the friendship and laughter that can only be found here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliff_Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a FUN shop and a fun guy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited in early September! Our visit to the store ended in probably our most fruitful shopping experience during our european vacation - we are waiting on our Christmas pyramids to arrive and brought home wine and liquor from the shop. Stefan was fun to work with, everything we tasted was delicious, and it was an experience we will always remember. What fond memories we have!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stefans Wine Paradise also viewed

Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Stefans Wine Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing