We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give yourself lots of time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rheinfels Castle

Rheinfels Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.69*
and up
KD Rhine Pass from Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Give yourself lots of time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a great morning up on the castle hill with glorious views. The castle is hard to get around (there are many nooks and crannies) and the guide they give you is not that great. But if you're open to just wandering and exploring it can be a lot of fun. It was good exercise walking up! :) If you stay at the hotel there, the only warning is that you won't be popping down to the village for a coffee. It is a walk!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cccanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    125
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth the trek up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Burg Rheinfels is a bit of a hike from town (you can store your luggage for free at the Tourist Office in town if you're just stopping over), but it's the coolest ruined (or overall) castle I've been in! We got there early and it was really foggy, so we were alone for awhile. This castle is HUGE, and we got lost a couple times! There's a lot to explore, though there aren't any information signs outside (there are some in the museum).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank batty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth the hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was interesting seeing an example of a ruined castle. The views from up at the castle were fabulous. The museum is worth looking at

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SML-WJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great views of the Rhein from the castle. I would suggest taking the "train" up to the castle but walking back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fascinating Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We toured Rheinfels Castle our first night on the Rhine. Rheinfels has not been rebuilt, so you actually get the real deal here! Visiting the castle gives you an opportunity to step back in time and imagine what the Rhine was like during its heyday.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Runtheworldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rheinfels Castle also viewed

Braubach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Wierschem, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Rheinfels Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing