We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
13
12
8
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
12
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful viewthe riverguestsgermanyrhine
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 40 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

We were in Germany a day early for our bus tour through the Alps, so on a whim we took a train from Frankfurt to Rudesheim where we caught a KD boat and toured through the romantic Rhein region to Sankt Goar. Upon arrival, we decided that we should stay the night so we walked into the Hotel Zum Goldenen Loewen and asked if they had any rooms. They showed us a wonderful king sized room with a beautiful view overlooking the river. We took it on sight and were delighted that it came with a nice continental breakfast.

That night my wife was not feeling well but the pharmacy was closed. The owner made some calls and spoke to one of the guests and before long they had given my wife some medication which brought her back to 100% within hours. We were touched to say the least.

The hotel and our room were spotless. Breakfast was fresh and good.... and the staff... there are no words to describe how grateful we are for the help they provided for my wife.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor front and it was very peaceful
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017

We had been dumped by our coach for a couple of hours on a cold February day. I found this to be one of the few open places and made myself comfortable. Excellent hot wine. Absolutely delicious. Reasonable seating inside. Cafe is next to the Rhine

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KatieinMatlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2016

We arrived late due to our flight into Frankfurt and everything was closed up. No doorbell, no night desk etc. I had emailed that we would be arriving about 11pm. However we arrived about 1 hour later. I've never experienced something like this
before.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2016

With our friends we had a very pleasant stay at the Zum Goldenen Löwen. Small, but pleasant room, with a beautiful view at the Rhine River.
The owners of the hotel made our stay very pleasant. Very good service and Andreas delivered each evening perfect meals, very tasty.
Also a compliment to the waitress Belinda, who was super and funny.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryannbrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2014

We had a very large room facing the Rhine which was pretty both day and night. We had a very good dinner in the restaurant and they provided a good breakfast in the morning. The boats going down the Rhine past all the castles etc leave a couple of times a day and cost about 15 euro each. Well worth it! This was a lovely surprise both in the town ( take a cheap ferry ride across the Rhone for an excellent view of St Goar) and the accommodation would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews