We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
105
81
27
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
81
27
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe rivercurryst goarno liftscrambled eggsreception deskfirst floornear the train stationstone's throwbeautiful viewa river view roomcar ferrywest bankquiet at nightsuperb locationlocated hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 219 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2018

Our family of three stayed here for 4 nights recently; we highly recommend it for anyone wishing for some 'slow life' amidst beautiful natural surroundings.
Pros:
1. Perfect location next to the Rhine; also good for links upstream, downstream or ferries to St Goarshausen.
2. Good value - room rates are very reasonable.
3. Breakfasts are varied and large; we did not particularly like the spiced scrambled egg, but there was enough other options that we did like.
4. The owners (specifically Mr Sikander-Singh Sangha) is very helpful and accommodating; we arrived just after 09h00 after an overnight flight, hoping to leave our luggage at reception until the normal check in time - however our room was ready and we were allowed to check in immediately.
5. Good and reliable free wi-fi.
Cons: None really!

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Hotel Rheinfels was everything we hoped it would be. It’s in a perfect location to tour the important sites along the valley. We found St. Goar to be pleasant, easy to walk, and quiet at night.

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, the room was surprisingly large, and the breakfast was sufficient although the same each of our 4 mornings there. As with many European hotels, there was no A/C, but the room did have a fan which was nice.

There is no parking although parking al by the river is free from 6 pm to 9 am and there are a few free all-day parking spots near the train station, just a 5 minute walk away.

Its location along the river was important to
us. We requested and received a room overlooking the Rhein. The river ferries board right in front of the hotel and the river crossing ferry is just 100 yards east.

Hotel Rheinfels does not have a restaurant but there are several nice option an easy walk from the hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank WkndrTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

My fiance and I stayed here one night during a trip through Europe. We were very pleased with the location but were sad when we realized most of the shops and restaurants were closed due to it being Easter weekend. We still enjoyed our night overlooking the beautiful river!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

St. Goar, the location of Hotel Rheinfels, is situated on the west bank of the Rhein - a perfect location to explore the pretty towns and fabulous castles both north to Koblenz and south to Mainz. The car ferry stops almost right across the street from the hotel which makes it easy to cross the river to St. Goarshausen. Our room had a balcony on which we dined a few times and it also had a beautiful view of the river and Burg Katz (castle Cat). The owner, Sikander Singh Sangha, speaks perfect English and was very helpful. The breakfast room is quite large and we never had to wait for a table. The breakfastwas good but could have had more hot items. If you appreciate good quality bread, you will love the breakfast here.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alan979797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Our room was on the first floor (2nd floor for Americans). There is no elevator in the building but the stairs were no problem for us. The room was clean and we had booked one of the rooms with a balcony that overlooked the river. The furniture was a tad dated and the bathroom a little small, especially the shower. The walls are a little thin also. However, the balcony with its little table and two chairs made up for any of that. Each night we enjoyed our bottle of wine and relaxing while enjoying the view. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was "okay." I would recommend changing the egg recipe. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the front of the building overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dyana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews